Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI not updating Adobe Flash

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Nikilet PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Member 18th Nov, 2013 02:53
Ranking: 7
Posts: 291
User Since: 15th Jul, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Now psi is telling me I have a program that has to be updated manually. However, the program in question is Adobe Flash Player 11.x (ActiveX). I thought this was an item that psi updated automatically. It has updated this item on my laptop running Windows, but not on this Vista Home Premium desktop.

Location is C\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash32_11_9_900 _117

I use Google Chrome; checked and see that it has been updated in Google to 11.9.900.152,

Post "RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash" has been selected as an answer.
invisible_lunatic Very closely related symptom
Member 18th Nov, 2013 06:48
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 18th Nov 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am running Secunia PSI 3.0. It is telling me that Adobe Flash Player 11.x

(ActiveX) needs to be updated. So I right click on the program icon, and

select show details. I get:

File location = C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\Flash32_11_9_90 0_117.ocx
Installed version = 11.9.900.117 (ActiveX)

When I use File Location (doubleclick to open) I see only 1 .ocx file:

Flash32_11_9_900_152.ocx 17-Nov-13 ActiveX control 15,927KB

The version numbers don't match (.117 .ne. .152) but .117 is the OLD version,

and .152 is the correct updated version. I have manually updated the Program, but

Secunia doesn't seem to detect that.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Handling Contributor 18th Nov, 2013 09:46
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 18th Nov, 2013 09:50
Have you tried a full PSI rescan?

If that does not clear it what path is PSI showing to the file that requires updating?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Last Reviewed 08:48 18/11/2013












--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Member 18th Nov, 2013 16:53
Score: 7
Posts: 291
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 18th Nov, 2013 16:55
Hi Maurice

I did include the location of the file, altho I see I forgot the ocx on the end.. On the box that opens when you select "Details" I can't select so that I can copy. But here is the location again. I see the other person who added to my post has the same problem and is showing the same location as me.

Location is C\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash32_11_9_900 _117.ocx

P.S. I am rescanning again right now but has already tried that. Also, I know how to take a screenshot, but how do I publish that on this forum?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Handling Contributor 18th Nov, 2013 18:22
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 18th Nov, 2013 18:24
Try this:

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.

U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.

Right click on the icon that represents the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.

Double click on C\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash32_11_9_ 900 _117.ocx or the file you can see.

That will open Windows Explorer & U will see that file. Right click on it & select delete. These are the only files you require for IE.

https://1ncuig.bn1.livefilestore.com/y2p6OgQ4VbMU_...

Run a full PSI scan & the problem should be resolved.


POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here if unsure how it is done.
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 8, 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme like these:
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/free-screen-capture-...

2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or here: http://www.picamatic.com/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum. Use CTRL+C to copy & CTRL+V to post.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Member 18th Nov, 2013 18:41
Score: 7
Posts: 291
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
All of the files in that folder (per the link you included) are this old 117 version.

Secondly, I tried to remove the particular file that is shown and it won't let me.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Handling Contributor 18th Nov, 2013 18:53
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I suspect you have something running that is using Flash which creates the situation you describe.


UPDATING THE STANDALONE ADOBE FLASH PLAYER

THIS METHOD SHOULD NOT BE USED IF USING WINDOWS 8/8.1 IE10 or IE11 - THE UPDATES ARE MANAGED BY MICROSOFT VIA WINDOWS UPDATE

1. Download & SAVE this to desktop.

IE & Other Browsers using ActiveX.

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Untick (uncheck) any additional offerings bundled with the download if they are not required

2. The installer will appear on the desk top. THE IMPORTANT BIT - Before agreeing to install Flash check these programmes are completely shut down (use the Task Manager if necessary (CTRL+SHIFT+ESC) to COMPLETELY EXIT these processes if running)):
a. All Browsers.
b. Windows Messenger.
c. Incredimail.
d. All Adobe Products.
e. PSI - Unless using version 2 or version 3
f. Microsoft Skype & Plus! For Skype
g. Microsoft Money

3. The new install will then remove all old files during the update process.

4. Complete a full PSI rescan & all should be in order.


Optional - Go to Start>Control Panel>click the Flash Player (32 Bit) icon>check the settings are to your requirements.

Last Reviewed 17:50 18/11/2013


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BearPup RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Member 18th Nov, 2013 20:16
Score: 2
Posts: 3
User Since: 18th Nov 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US

I have the same problem and the same results. Seems to me that the cause of the problem is PSI and this should be fixed with a patch asap. I have noticed that even with the 'offending' applications deleted from my computer, the problem persists, as it does when the right versions are installed.

Curiously, it doesn't affect my desktop computer which updates Flash without a problem. Both machines run multi-core processors, use IE & Firefox (Chrome has never been installed) and do not lack adequate memory, hard drive space, etc. . In fact my laptop is a mirror of my main- frame, "just in case".

Since I'm no longer using the offending application, I've simply marked that as a 'don't update location'. But what if I really needed that product or update? Then what?

I call on Secunia to develop a system wide fix for this asap.

Regards,
BearPup
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Member 18th Nov, 2013 20:19
Score: 7
Posts: 291
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 18th Nov, 2013 20:22
I don't know why I always have such a terrible time with this Shockwave business. I finally opened IE, uninstalled Adobe Flash and then reinstalled and then psi showed that it was updated.

Sorry I have to be such a pest about this but it seems like I think I've got it figured out what I have to do to resolve the issue and then the next time it appears to be just a little bit different. I don't know any longer if it's psi, or me, or Shockwave orf all 3!!!

Anyway, I'm ok again now and thank you.

P.S. I'm sure I didn't have anything at all open that used flash. I don't now and never have used any messenger programs. If they came loaded on my computer they've never even been launched. Just saying that I'm sure that has not been the problem. Except for the Adobe Shockwave and Flash, I don't use any of the products you listed that might be using flash and interfering.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI not updating Adobe Flash
Handling Contributor 18th Nov, 2013 21:39
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It is nothing to do with Secunia or PSI. PSI version 1 does not have auto updating but problems are still reported. PSI puts a silent wrapper around an Adobe product to auto update silently for those who allow auto updating of a PC.

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

The Adobe installer also includes an uninstaller which is not clever enough to close all programmes that require to be shut down prior to the correct updating.

I have named some popular programmes that could be in use but there are many more including games.

To fully uninstall the old Adobe version this criteria must be met as explained in my tried & tested solution.

http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/uninstall-f...



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability