Forum Thread: End of Life

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
anon_private End of Life
Member 13th Mar, 2014 07:51
Ranking: 1
Posts: 33
User Since: 21st Jul, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi,

I have several program that are now 'End of Life'. I am not interested in installing the latest versions for a number of the programs since they are now commercial.

I have Word 2, which I would like to retain.

The other program are

Macrovision Update Service ActiveX Control 3.x
Microsoft Autoroute 2006
Microsoft Digital Image 2006 11.x
Microsoft Encarta Encyclopedia 2006

Advice please

--
Pentium D 2.8GHz
1GB RAM
Vista Home Premium, SP2, 32bit

TonyB. RE: End of Life
Member 13th Mar, 2014 13:45
Score: -34
Posts: 38
User Since: 1st Nov 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
yup Macrovision Update Service ActiveX Control 3.x is very hard to remove it seams the company is now someone else can't remember the name so best to just turn that off in IE under active x controls and set it to ignore in secunia for the time being. As for the others if you want to keep those you may do the same just set it to ignore them in secunia. i think its you click on them and or right click and a menu pops up to ignore them.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
anon_private RE: End of Life
Member 13th Mar, 2014 13:57
Score: 1
Posts: 33
User Since: 21st Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 15th Mar, 2014 15:06
Hi,

I used to use IE and still have it on my machine, but I now use Firefox. I can't see the add-on in Plugins or Extensions (FF).

I may end up deleting these programs - if I can.

Best wishes.

Ps. How do I logout form this forum - can't see the button?

UPDATE.

Evidently, I should see a dll file in downloaded program files. I can' see it, all hidden files are revealed.

Do I need to keep Macrovision Update Service Active X Control to update some programs.

I am wondering if Macrovisiion Update can be updated?

--
Pentium D 2.8GHz
1GB RAM
Vista Home Premium, SP2, 32bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.