Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI not detecting v29 of Firefox is installed

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
movrshakr PSI not detecting v29 of Firefox is installed
Member 8th May, 2014 16:55
Ranking: 2
Posts: 9
User Since: 2nd Feb, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am running v2.0 of PSI because when I started using it over a year ago, the later versions caused exceptionally high processor usage. I have never noticed a problem with it before.

I just ran a scan, and PSI is showing that I have v27 of Firefox (in a backup directory)
C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox.bak\firefox.exe, version 27.0.1.5156
and v28 in
C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\updated\firefox.exe, version 28.0.0.5186.

But I actually am running the latest version which is v29, in
C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
which does not show as being detected at all.

Is this a known problem with PSI or ???

Maurice Joyce RE: PSI not detecting v29 of Firefox is installed
Handling Contributor 8th May, 2014 23:27
Score: 11736
Posts: 8,991
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
PSI will not show Firefox 29 as Up To Date until the vulnerabilities it has found are cleared.

You should navigate to:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox.bak\firefox.exe, version 27.0.1.5156 & then

C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\updated\firefox.exe, version 28.0.0.5186.

and either rename or delete those files.

Another full PSI scan will then reveal only V 29 as patched.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
movrshakr RE: PSI not detecting v29 of Firefox is installed
Member 9th May, 2014 00:40
Score: 2
Posts: 9
User Since: 2nd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 9th May, 2014 00:41
I think I know what is the situation here... I was looking at the top of the list at the "failed" items.

I think the current version was listed way down in the list in the "M's" where Mozilla Firefox would have been. I think it was there all along, and I just did not see it--noticing only the old ones at the top of the list, and thinking all of them would be listed together.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability