Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Upgrade to 9.1

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Reader 9.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Smitan Upgrade to 9.1
Member 12th Mar, 2009 07:38
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 26th Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Mar, 2009 07:56

Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Leendert Kip Upgrade to 9.1
Member 12th Mar, 2009 08:51
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Try this: start 'check for updates' in the Help menu of your current version and you should get a download for 9.1. I just successfully up-
graded my 9.0 Dutch to 9.1. Secunia shows no problems after rescan.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 30.0NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 30.0NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Smitan RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 12th Mar, 2009 09:01
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Bedankt. :)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
stolz.silvia RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 13th Mar, 2009 17:34
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 11th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 07:38, Smitan wrote:
Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Cyndirandy RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 14th Mar, 2009 21:03
Score: 3
Posts: 4
User Since: 30th Oct 2008
System Score: 95%
Location: US
Last edited on 14th Mar, 2009 21:05
Has anyone else had this problem?? The fix doesn't take or Secunia does not recognize that you have fixed it? I uninstalled and re-installed and my scanner still sees the problem. HELP// Thanks My score has always been 100% until this Adobe.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Contributor 15th Mar, 2009 03:12
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
If all you need Adobe for is to read PDF files dump it & use Foxit reader. I found this link posted by Maurice Joyce in another thread http://download.cnet.com/8301-2007_4-10108272-12.h... check it out. This program is a whole lot smaller in size & in my opinion just as good or better than Adobe reader.
Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Veteranus RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th Mar, 2009 12:39
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 16th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes, Have exactly the same problem. Installed twice ,rebooted and it still comes up with the same security threat! anybody have any ideas on this one
Vet.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wadp1 RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th Mar, 2009 14:07
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes, I am having the same problem in the past 12 hrs. I also notice that there have been 699 reads of this thread, so presumably many more are having this problem than are responding here. If you find a true fix, please post it here for the rest of us! Thanks!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Dietdiva RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th Mar, 2009 14:11
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 5th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes, I am having exactly the same problem. After downloading the patches, scanning then re-booting Secunia still shows I have security threats. If anybody out there has any suggestions please say so.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wadp1 RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th Mar, 2009 15:12
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Please see
http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap...

I clicked on the link to reinstall Reader, reinstalled, then had to reinstall Flash Player as well.
After that, Secunia reports 100% security!
Good luck!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Veteranus RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th Mar, 2009 17:12
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 16th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
wapd1. Thank you for your input Sir. Ive tried all the options,repair,uninstall,download 9.1 and rerun Secunia.Everytime I get a security threat,so for the time being ,I am uninstalling 9.1 until I find it solved.I can live without it!
Vet.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wadp1 RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th Mar, 2009 17:21
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
You're welcome--sorry it didn't work for you!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Contributor 16th Mar, 2009 18:34
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
You probably did update it's just that PSI is detecting remnants of the old program. To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, please follow these guidelines using the
advanced interface:
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
* Click on the entry of the program to “expand” it.
* Click on Technical details to see the installation path of the detected file.
* Remember the installation path and close down the menu.
* Click Open Folder and locate the detected file.
You can then manually delete these remnants-reboot-rescan & hopefully all is well. Good luck & regards.
wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
JIMGOEKE RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 17th Mar, 2009 15:36
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 3rd Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I followed your advise with success using the Advanced Mode for assistance.
It seems that I had Adobe Reader 9 in two locations and Secunia wanted me to choose one. I had forgotten an earlier Adobe update in a different folder on the same drive.

I deleted the one location that Adobe didn't put the most recent update and Secunia gave me 100%.

Thanks to the forum
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
g.heinrich@berlin.de RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 07:46
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 08:51, Leendert Kip wrote:
Try this: start 'check for updates' in the Help menu of your current version and you should get a download for 9.1. I just successfully up-
graded my 9.0 Dutch to 9.1. Secunia shows no problems after rescan.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
g.heinrich@berlin.de RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 07:47
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 07:38, Smitan wrote:
Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
marstacy RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 13th May, 2009 18:10
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 27th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Dallas, US
If I use Advanced mode will I be able to switch back to the easy and quick method later?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Recruiter RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 13th May, 2009 18:28
Score: 0
Posts: 43
User Since: 18th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I was having the same problem as everyone else, but I, hopefully, may have a solution to try.
I tried to run the patch-no luck. Even though the program read v9.1.1, Secunia still showed 9.x
I tried to run the update from the program itself, same results.
I deleted the file C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader9.0\AcroRd32.exe, then patched. Same results.
I uninstalled Acrobat Reader, then reinstalled Acrobat Reader, and it was still showing the same file as the culprit.

I then uninstalled Acrobat Reader, and then went to Windows Explorer. There I found the same file (C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader9.0) has been left behind, after the uninstall. I deleted the file, then reinstalled Acrobat Reader. The Reader installs v9.1.0, so then you install the Update to v9.1.1. Rescan, and its fixed.

Hopefully, this will be a solution people can work with.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Mcd73165 RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 13th May, 2009 20:29
Score: 7
Posts: 70
User Since: 13th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi, Recruiter. That was the trick (deleting the Adobe file from C:\program files\Adobe). The strange thing is that the file that Secunia is "pointing" to (AcroRd32) still has the version 9.1.0.163 although Secunia is now indicating that it is updated. Anyhow, at least it works now.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Recruiter RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 13th May, 2009 20:41
Score: 0
Posts: 43
User Since: 18th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 13th May, 2009 20:29, Mcd73165 wrote:
Hi, Recruiter. That was the trick (deleting the Adobe file from C:\program files\Adobe). The strange thing is that the file that Secunia is "pointing" to (AcroRd32) still has the version 9.1.0.163 although Secunia is now indicating that it is updated. Anyhow, at least it works now.

Yes, I show the same thing. If you open the program though, it will show v9.1.1, and apparently, Secunia is now recognizing a patch file (I assume).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Mcd73165 RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 13th May, 2009 20:58
Score: 7
Posts: 70
User Since: 13th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
The program was showing version 9.1.1 after the initial update but the file that Secunia points to (AcroRd32) did show and still shows version 9.1.0.163 which is what's confusing. In any case Recruiter, we got Secunia to recognize the update! Good call on your behalf.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Expert Contributor 14th May, 2009 15:23
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have had the same problem of the scan not showing this upgrade and the folder/file link going to the AcroRD32 file shown as v9.1.0.163. I have no other "residual" files.
I opened the Reader "help" file and "about" - in the menu - showed as v9.1.1 ; so I used the "repair" facility in the "help" menu and now Secunia tells me I'm updated to v9.1.1.179 - of course the RD32 file is still v9.1.0.163.
Hope this "easy" fix works for you.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
120105638861 RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 14th May, 2009 22:37
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 27th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 07:38, Smitan wrote:
Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Contributor 14th May, 2009 23:55
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Please use Reply not Quote to ask a question-using Quote just loads subscribers to this threads Inbox w/junk mail.

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gyulaf RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th May, 2009 20:55
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 28th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 07:38, Smitan wrote:
Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gyulaf RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th May, 2009 20:56
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 28th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 07:38, Smitan wrote:
Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gyulaf RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 16th May, 2009 20:56
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 28th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 12th Mar, 2009 07:38, Smitan wrote:
Here http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap... writes ADOBE about a security upgrade, which is not detected by Secunia.

After running Secunia again, the update comes up, with same US-version as in another post.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 17th May, 2009 12:57
on 14th May, 2009 15:23, Anthony Wells wrote:
I have had the same problem of the scan not showing this upgrade and the folder/file link going to the AcroRD32 file shown as v9.1.0.163. I have no other "residual" files.
I opened the Reader "help" file and "about" - in the menu - showed as v9.1.1 ; so I used the "repair" facility in the "help" menu and now Secunia tells me I'm updated to v9.1.1.179 - of course the RD32 file is still v9.1.0.163.
Hope this "easy" fix works for you.


Thank you for this hint. It worked for me.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
amhoyle RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 19th May, 2009 00:56
Score: 1
Posts: 15
User Since: 7th Nov 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I'm confused here!

I have installed the update, restarted and then rescanned.

*Adobe reader states version 9.1.1 in it's About Box in Adobe Reader.

*Add/remove programs reports version 9.1.1.

*File version of AcroRd32.exe in C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader directory is 9.1.0.163.

*Secunia initially detects the above file as insecure on a new scan as version 9.1.0.163.

*If you use the Re-scan program button to check Adobe reader after a full scan, it then changes its mind and reports version 9.1.1.179.

Obviously something is not correct! I reckon either Adobe has failed to update the version string of the new AcroRd32.exe file or Secunia has a bad entry in it's definitions, as that update is definately applied.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Expert Contributor 19th May, 2009 15:27
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
In my post of 14/05/2009 (above), I did not mention that my using "re-scan" also failed to accept the update ; hence my trying the "repair" facility in the Reader help menu which did work & the scanner immediately updated , automatcally no less.
I have noticed that in in my C:\programfiles\Adobe\Reader9.0\Reader folder - where several AcroRD32 files are lurking with versions from 6.0.0.0 through 9.0.0.0 to the latest 9.1.0.163 - there is also a "pmd" file which says it is a security certificate and , in my case , it's time of creation seems to correspond to the time of my updating to 9.1.1.
I'm only guessing ( & most definitely with no techie knowledge ) that the Adobe patch does not update the AcroRD32 files & Secunia has to "read" the patch elsewhere - maybe via the "pmd" file. Who knows.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Recruiter RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 19th May, 2009 16:06
Score: 0
Posts: 43
User Since: 18th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Sorry Anthony Wells, but I think I have to disagree. I checked my Adobe folder, and my pmd file is dated 5/12/04. In my case, if you open the Reader folder, each of the File folders has a recent date on it, corresponding to the update. And, if you delve further, the plug_ins and plug_ins3d folders have recent files included there also. Like yourself, I'm not too much of a techie, but based on the dates of the folders, it seems this may be what Secunia is looking for in its scan.
My only confusion is trying to find the individual file or files, with the correct date on it, within these folders. I haven't spotted it yet. On the other hand, as long as my scans show I'm up to date, "let sleeping dogs lie".
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Expert Contributor 19th May, 2009 16:32
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Fair comment Recruiter , but you said a few days ago that you did a clean re-install of v9.1.0. , I didn't so I still have the "old" Adobe\Reader9.0 folder , I even have an "extremely old" Reader8.0 folder. Their files date to my time of their install or their time of creation.
I too have different(earlier dated) security certificates but the only file that I could find that dates to my time of update to v9.1.1. was the one I mentioned - not to say that I haven't missed the one that may matter. Who knows what the Adobe & Secunia guys plot for us ??
As it's a lovely , hot , sunny day here , the dogs can sleep for as long as they like.
Take care.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Cyndirandy RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 12th Aug, 2009 01:32
Score: 3
Posts: 4
User Since: 30th Oct 2008
System Score: 95%
Location: US
Thank you very much! It did the trick
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wimfem RE: Upgrade to 9.1
Member 12th Aug, 2009 06:56
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 9th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
On adobe website can you find al the required updates.
After downloading those, Secunia scan was 100% again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability