Forum Thread: Foxit Reader

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 Foxit Reader
Contributor 4th Jul, 2014 19:13
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,355
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Following a PSI scan, I updated my Foxit Reader v6.2.0.429 on my WIn7 laptop this morning - it was very quick and installed without any problems - it didn't require that I first uninstalled my old version.

When I tried to update that version on my XP desktop just now. It failed, saying that I must uninstal the old version before trying again.

I've just asked Foxit Support to confirm that if I do that, I won't lose everything that I have saved. (It seems to my simple brain that it would remove the lot - it doesn't know that I've got copies on my laptop - or am I wrong?

No other program that I have needs the old version uninstalled before updating, to the best of my knowledge.

Has anyone else had this on their XP PC?

It always happens at a weekend!!! Gggrrrrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhh.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

steffens RE: Foxit Reader
Member 8th Jul, 2014 23:28
Score: 49
Posts: 70
User Since: 25th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
As far back as I can recall, the standard Foxit Reader installer, i.e. the one you can download directly from their website, has always insisted on doing an uninstall before installing the new version. Dunno why, but that's what it does.

Just tried to do a Foxit Reader upgrade today, and that's exactly what it did... uninstalled the previous version before it installed the new version. At least it warned me first. Which was a good thing, since the installer for the latest version has a dialog box describing PhantomPDF that shows TWO completely UNLABELED radio buttons, one of which is checked!

Since I had no idea what I was about to let the installer do if I continued at that point, I terminated it with extreme prejudice. Of course, then I had to reinstall the previous version. Sigh...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.