Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
And, this specific program:

This thread has been marked as locked.
SueHue Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 29th Mar, 2009 15:57
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Mar, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have downloaded, installed and rescanned the recommended update several times and it still shows insecure. I am not about to buy version 8 for what it costs.

Version 7.1.0.649
c:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0

I am tempted to do an "ignore program" in Secunia and just manually check via Adobe Acrobat for any updates. I love Secunia and continue to recommend it to people to keep their computers safe!

Susan

MaritimeRider RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 29th Mar, 2009 16:19
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Susan: Did you restart your computer before doing your final scan. Do that and then do your scan. Post back results.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
SueHue RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 29th Mar, 2009 19:51
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Have restarted and rescanned numerous times. Get the window that states that "no changes were detected with this program since the last scan. <b>This program still appears to be Insecure</b>"
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 29th Mar, 2009 19:57
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 29th Mar, 2009 19:58
Need to know what browser you are using. Have you tried to check if it is a third party install holding you out. This is a simple fix if it is just an Adobe update: from another form:

Any cosmetic changes, general upgrades or bug fixes to a programme are not reported by Secunia which is only concerned with insecure items.

If U want a general updater to compliment Secunia a link is here:

http://www.filehippo.com/

Just down load the free updater and go from there

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
SueHue RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 30th Mar, 2009 05:56
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 30th Mar, 2009 05:58
I use Mozilla mostly, Chrome for some things and IE for others. I have updated via the link in Secunia, and from the link in Acrobat. I have stood on my head, and crossed all fingers. I have prayed to the gods, and promised a sacrifice if it would just play nice.

The update worked, but Secunia still lists it as insecure. I don't think any of this is a third party updater.

I am resigned to having an insecure application - which I need for my work and cannot/will not uninstall. Thanks for the input anyway.

Susan
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MaritimeRider RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 30th Mar, 2009 06:24
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Last edited on 30th Mar, 2009 06:28
Better than ignore after update via Adobe if results don't change then do an ignore.At least you know its safe
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
SueHue RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 30th Mar, 2009 06:26
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Figured it out!! The download was a .msp and after I reassociated it with windows installer it actually, with some encouragement, worked. I feel so much better being secure!!!!

Thanks to you for the support. Susan

on 30th Mar, 2009 05:56, SueHue wrote:
I use Mozilla mostly, Chrome for some things and IE for others. I have updated via the link in Secunia, and from the link in Acrobat. I have stood on my head, and crossed all fingers. I have prayed to the gods, and promised a sacrifice if it would just play nice.

The update worked, but Secunia still lists it as insecure. I don't think any of this is a third party updater.

I am resigned to having an insecure application - which I need for my work and cannot/will not uninstall. Thanks for the input anyway.

Susan

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MaritimeRider RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 30th Mar, 2009 06:32
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Last edited on 30th Mar, 2009 06:33
Our posts crossed Sue. Nice feeling isn't it. No gremlins can get at your computer now.Just one thing-not familiar with msp??what is it??Only curious. Guess what! Finally figured it out.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
philht RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 30th Mar, 2009 18:40
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 31st May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am having the same problem with Acrobat Pro 8. Despite updating it several times, and the fact that "About Acrobat" shows that it is running version 8.1.4 (the lastest, patched version), PSI continues to show it as unpatched. The main file (acrobat.exe) shows the file version as 8.1.0.137, dated 5/11/2007. The update process only changed 3 DLL files.

The "solution" discovered by the other person posting does not seem to relate to my situation at all. I'd appreciate any insight you can provide.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Kurosh RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 30th Mar, 2009 19:54
Score: 3
Posts: 64
User Since: 30th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
on 30th Mar, 2009 18:40, philht wrote:
I am having the same problem with Acrobat Pro 8. Despite updating it several times, and the fact that "About Acrobat" shows that it is running version 8.1.4 (the lastest, patched version), PSI continues to show it as unpatched. The main file (acrobat.exe) shows the file version as 8.1.0.137, dated 5/11/2007. The update process only changed 3 DLL files.

The "solution" discovered by the other person posting does not seem to relate to my situation at all. I'd appreciate any insight you can provide.


I wrote to Secunia Support about this, and here is their response:

(unknown source)
Hi
Thank you for contacting Secunia Support

We are aware of the problem, and we will fix it shortly.

The problem is the updated file does not include the .exe file on which we normally use to detect the file version.


--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Deadstickdave RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 31st Mar, 2009 00:40
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 20th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the same problem of Secunia insisting that Mozilla Firefox 3.xx is insecure despite my updating to Mozilla Firefox 3.08. Tried all the suggestions in this thread without any success.

Dave Kovensky
rcdave_1@hotmail.com
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MaritimeRider RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 31st Mar, 2009 00:56
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Dave:Can't suggest anything further. Note reply above yours
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Deadstickdave RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 31st Mar, 2009 06:05
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 20th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi Maritime Rider,

Thanks for your response to my question. I just added Mozilla to the ignore list and will live with the problem

Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PastorDan RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Member 7th Apr, 2009 17:04
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 7th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am having the same problem.

Can you explain in more detail what you did?

Thanks,

Dan
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Despite recommended upgrade, still showing as insecure
Contributor 7th Apr, 2009 17:59
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
@ Deadstickdave & Pastor Dan
To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, please follow these guidelines using the
ADVANCED interface:
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
* Click on the + sign of the program to “expand’ it.
* Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file.
* Remember the installation path and close down the menu.
* Click Open Folder and locate the detected file.
If the location is not in an installation or backup location RIGHT click & select delete-if in either location using Advance mode create a ignore rule.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer