Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Error on updating to latest version of PSI

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
bemidji Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 30th Mar, 2009 16:45
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 30th Mar, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I recieved the following error msg today when I tried to run the PSIsetup file to update:

Installer integrity check has failed. Common causes include
incomplete download and damaged media. Contact the
installer's author to obtain a new copy.

More information at:
http://nsis.sf.net/NSIS_Error

Awaiting a response.

David

wr RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Contributor 30th Mar, 2009 20:30
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/159

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
horena RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 30th Mar, 2009 21:24
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 21st Mar 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 30th Mar, 2009 16:45, bemidji wrote:
I recieved the following error msg today when I tried to run the PSIsetup file to update:

Installer integrity check has failed. Common causes include
incomplete download and damaged media. Contact the
installer's author to obtain a new copy.

More information at:
http://nsis.sf.net/NSIS_Error

Awaiting a response.

David

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
horena RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 30th Mar, 2009 21:27
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 21st Mar 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 30th Mar, 2009 16:45, bemidji wrote:
I recieved the following error msg today when I tried to run the PSIsetup file to update:

Installer integrity check has failed. Common causes include
incomplete download and damaged media. Contact the
installer's author to obtain a new copy.

More information at:
http://nsis.sf.net/NSIS_Error

Awaiting a response.

David

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Hansen RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Secunia Official 31st Mar, 2009 09:54
Score: 188
Posts: 410
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Last edited on 31st Mar, 2009 09:55
Hi

We are aware of this issue, and we are trying to find a solution.

Meanwhile try to download the installer in Firefox
(http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/personal.html...)
Some of our users also had luck downloading the installer by clearing the Temp. Internet files.

(So far we have only seen this problem for Internet Explorer users)


--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal

jjs RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 1st Apr, 2009 00:41
Score: 3
Posts: 6
User Since: 14th Oct 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I did as you suggested and downloaded your update with FireFox and it worked just fine. I will be very glad when IE8 gets their bugs worked out. It is my favorite browser. Thank you for your help and I really like your program. It saves me a lot of time and effort trying to keep my system updated and working properly.


--
DELL Dimension E510 - X86-based PC
OS: MS Windows XP Pro - SP3
Time Zone: US Mountain Standard

There is nothing wrong with Change as long as it is in the right direction!
Winston Churchill.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
vlkblk RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 1st Apr, 2009 02:46
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 22nd Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I had the same problem and tried again today and got the same message. I took the advice of deleting all temporary internet files and it downloaded with no problem. You might try this and see how it goes.
vlkblk
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rtadgell1 RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 1st Apr, 2009 22:30
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 1st Apr, 2009 22:46
Since upgrading to IE8, I have been unable to download version 1.0.0.4. I get the same NSIS Error as others. The prior version, 1.0.0.3, was downloaded with IE7 AOK. Will cleanup temporary files & try again.

I had another problem with IE8 and Symantec NIS2008, where Phishing protection was disabled whenever I opened IE8! Symantec upgraded me to NIS2009, which corrected the problem.

Looks like IE8 may have other problems.

Bob
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
vlkblk RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 1st Apr, 2009 23:27
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 22nd Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 30th Mar, 2009 16:45, bemidji wrote:
I recieved the following error msg today when I tried to run the PSIsetup file to update:

Installer integrity check has failed. Common causes include
incomplete download and damaged media. Contact the
installer's author to obtain a new copy.

More information at:
http://nsis.sf.net/NSIS_Error

Awaiting a response.

David

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
vlkblk RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 1st Apr, 2009 23:27
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 22nd Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 30th Mar, 2009 16:45, bemidji wrote:
I recieved the following error msg today when I tried to run the PSIsetup file to update:

Installer integrity check has failed. Common causes include
incomplete download and damaged media. Contact the
installer's author to obtain a new copy.

More information at:
http://nsis.sf.net/NSIS_Error

Awaiting a response.

David

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
vlkblk RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 1st Apr, 2009 23:33
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 22nd Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I did the suggestio of deleting all temporary internet files and was then able to download the new version. I got the same message that you did and tried 4 or 5 times to download but couldn't. Hope this works for you.

vlkblk
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lwiener RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 2nd Apr, 2009 07:43
Score: 3
Posts: 18
User Since: 10th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Removing temp files/rebooting did not help in updating.

Excuse my ignorance but are you saying that in the absence of another solution I must download and install a new browser--FireFox--in order to get the update?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Contributor 2nd Apr, 2009 22:10
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Please read ALL the following thread & I'll think you'll agree the problem is w/Intermitten Explorer-not Secunia PSI. Choose your method of repair & good luck.
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/161...
Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lwiener RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 2nd Apr, 2009 22:36
Score: 3
Posts: 18
User Since: 10th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 2nd Apr, 2009 22:37
Perhaps the "problem" is with IE but while some tekkies and others may prefer Firefox or some other browser, the wide scope of usage of IE, whatever you think of it or Microsoft, means you can not easily brush off an incompatability with it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Contributor 2nd Apr, 2009 23:08
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
@Lwiener-I suggest you read ALL the thread I provided the link for-I don't have any connections to Secunia-but the reply by the Secinia Official should clearly indicate that Secunia isn't taking the matter lightly.

Regards,
wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lwiener RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 01:01
Score: 3
Posts: 18
User Since: 10th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
With all due respect it's obvious what the thread is since the messages appear in it and at least to me your comment semed to be a bit flippant but if I am wrong than I do apologize. I am not trying to pick a fight, so let me ask you a question. Does it make sense, or will it even work, to remove the current version and download and reinstall the new version??? I am giving Secunia a lot of leeway here since this is a no=-charge program!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
charlie204 RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 05:38
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 4th Oct 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: NYC area, US
The way I prefer to install updates is to first download to my pc, and only then to press RUN. I tried it with the latest Secunia update and it failed, as others have specified. I then removed the file, and tried again. Same result. Finally, I said to myself, ok, just install from the download directly. Having upgraded in the past, I knew that I would have to first remove the current version, and then install the new one. Using the direct, one-step method, rather than downloading first, and then installing worked like a charm. By the way, the file size in each failure was a partial file, according to what the file size was supposed to be.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Contributor 3rd Apr, 2009 06:17
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
@Lwiener I didn't mean to sound flippant-even some of the most M$ devotees kick it sometimes. There were 2 solutions to the problem-if one doesn't work try the other. If you find something totally different that works, please share it with us.

Regards,
wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lwiener RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 07:31
Score: 3
Posts: 18
User Since: 10th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Well, I tried this and it worked for me.

Downloaded new version from Web Site as if I were a new user. Then clicked on it to run after the download. It told me to close existing running version of program. Then said an older version already existed on my PC and offered to delete it. I said yes and then it offered to install new version. I did and after installation when I opened the newly downloaded program it had my scan history, profile and other material carried over from the older installation.

So perhaps the only problem is trying to do download/upgrade via the upgrade link, rather than uninstalling old program and installing new version.Settings do seem to carry over.

Perplexes me. Sorry WR about being cranky to you.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rtadgell1 RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 13:22
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Re: Lwiener's response today (4/3) at 0731

I took Lwiener's advice and downloaded the new (complete) version of 1.0.0.4, and it worked perfectly, as stated!

Perhaps, when the next update occurs, IE8 will handle it.

Thanks Lwiener.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DickLowthian RE: Error on updating to latest version of PSI
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 18:25
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 3rd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I had the same problem. Clearing the temp internet files did not solve the problem but temporarily disabling my virus scanner (Avast Antivirus) did.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability