Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: [js] BUG Adobe Acrobat 7.x, Version Number

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
johnski [js] BUG Adobe Acrobat 7.x, Version Number
Member 19th Apr, 2009 12:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 19th Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 19th Apr, 2009 12:44

PSI detected Adobe Acrobat 7.x, version 7.0.8.218 as in-secure.

Installed Adobe Acrobat 7.0.9 update.

After a restart of the PC, then re-scanned application and also tried a total scan, but PSI still reports version as 7.0.8, rather than 7.0.9.

Adobe Acrobat 7.0.9 may still be an in-secure application, but thats not the point here. Why does PSI not pick up the new version number?


wr RE: [js] BUG Adobe Acrobat 7.x, Version Number
Contributor 19th Apr, 2009 17:57
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
It doesn't pick up the new version because it's secure-open the Advance mode you may find a lot more insecure or end-of-life programs it has a larger database.

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
johnski RE: [js] BUG Adobe Acrobat 7.x, Version Number
Member 20th Apr, 2009 08:01
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 19th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Running Secunia Advanced Mode.

At this stage I'm not concerned that Adobe Acrobat 7.x is Insecure, End-of-Life or Patched, as this is a Status determined by Secunia based on the information available to them.

But why can Secunia not determine when an update has been applied to software?

Had 7.0.8 installed. Secunia detected this version.
Installed 7.0.9 update
Secunia rescan says "No changes were detected with this program since the last scan. The program still appears to be insecure"

Secunia still detects software version as 7.0.8, even though software says 7.0.9


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: [js] BUG Adobe Acrobat 7.x, Version Number
Contributor 20th Apr, 2009 22:29
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
"At this stage I'm not concerned that Adobe Acrobat 7.x is Insecure, End-of-Life or Patched, as this is a Status determined by Secunia based on the information available to them." At this point after reading your posts in other threads I think the best thing for me to do is unsubscribe to this thread as my technical skills are obviously not up to your standards & therefore not needed. I hope you find a solution to all your computer problems but getting into a shouting match ain't my cup o' tea.

have a nice life,
wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability