navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
revmrf Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Member 14th May, 2009 23:08
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 8th Jan, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Upon installing version 3 of Norton 360, I am getting an insecure indication for Norton Antivirus 2005 on PSI. I do not have Norton Antivirus installed [as such.] I've not had an insecure indicator for Norton 360 version 2, and Norton Antivirus 2005 is not shown as installed anywhere in my system.

wr RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Contributor 14th May, 2009 23:43
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, please follow these guidelines using the
ADVANCED interface:
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
* Click on the + sign of the program to “expand’ it.
* Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file.
* Remember the installation path and close down the menu.
* Click Open Folder and locate the detected file.


Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.3.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
revmrf RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Member 15th May, 2009 00:15
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 8th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 14th May, 2009 23:43, wr wrote:
To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, please follow these guidelines using the
ADVANCED interface:
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
* Click on the + sign of the program to “expand’ it.
* Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file.
* Remember the installation path and close down the menu.
* Click Open Folder and locate the detected file.


Regards, wr


Thanks. However, my concern is that Secunia may be identifying a valid Norton product that is part of Norton 360 version 3. I had been using Norton 360 version 2 [update] with no such indication from Secunia. But having just upgraded yesterday, I begin receiving this indicator. I don't want to create a larger problem if I delete Norton Antivirus 2005. No one else having this issue?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Contributor 15th May, 2009 00:45
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
As far as I can determine Norton Antivirus 2005 & Norton 360 v.x are separate programs-one does not depend on the other to function properly. Therefore IMHO you could uninstall either without that affecting the other. As I said in my earlier post use the Advance mode to find the path.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.3.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
revmrf RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Member 15th May, 2009 00:56
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 8th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 15th May, 2009 00:45, wr wrote:
As far as I can determine Norton Antivirus 2005 & Norton 360 v.x are separate programs-one does not depend on the other to function properly. Therefore IMHO you could uninstall either without that affecting the other. As I said in my earlier post use the Advance mode to find the path.

Regards, wr


Hi,
Well, this has become more interesting! Upon closer examination, Secunia had discovered Antivirus 2005 in my recovery file! I'll the recovery file, then do a restart and see what happens!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Contributor 15th May, 2009 01:26
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
If it's in your recovery file use the Advance mode & create a ignore rule. The program isn't installed where it can be used unless it's re-installed to your operating system-therefore no danger exists-ignore-no more nagging.

wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.3.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Member 15th May, 2009 02:36
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 15th May, 2009 02:55
wr is probably right Norton installs like a Virus it is into absolutely every thing. There is only one way I know. Revo-uninstaller. Install go to tools-Junk Files cleaner-Options -Exclude and General being careful to only remove Symantec. It may take several tries and re-boots but you can do it . Make sure to check program files to be sure that it was removed. http://www.revouninstaller.com/

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Contributor 15th May, 2009 03:51
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Yea if you want to get rid of it this program will do it-I have used it myself. Puget1 is 100% correct.

wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.3.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
revmrf RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Member 15th May, 2009 04:44
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 8th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
My comment is: Why didn't Secunia pick it up long before now. I've used Norton 360 v1, v2 and now, v3. Where did it come from? Why wasn't it shown as insecure by Secunia a long time ago? It appears in my recovery file only after version 3? That doesn't make sense.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
revmrf RE: Norton 360 v.3 and Norton Antivirus 2005
Member 15th May, 2009 04:57
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 8th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 15th May, 2009 01:26, wr wrote:
If it's in your recovery file use the Advance mode & create a ignore rule. The program isn't installed where it can be used unless it's re-installed to your operating system-therefore no danger exists-ignore-no more nagging.

wr


Done that... it's ignored but still a mystery.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+