Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0 (resolved)

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Websafe PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0 (resolved)
Member 24th May, 2009 00:26
Ranking: 79
Posts: 105
User Since: 24th May, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 25th May, 2009 18:44

After upgrading OpenOffice from version 3.0.0 to version 3.1.0 (both versions in Dutch language) the Secunia PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice any more.

After a complete scan OpenOffice disappeared from the PSI on a desktop; Windows XP home SP3 and a laptop; Windows Vista Home Premium SP1.

Will OpenOffice be back on PSI?

Alan_Baxter RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Member 24th May, 2009 01:31
Score: 0
Posts: 61
User Since: 1st Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Good catch! It's missing for me in the US English version too.
WinXP Pro SP3
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
samcoe RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Member 24th May, 2009 17:11
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 17th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 24th May, 2009 17:11
OpenOffice.org 3.1.0 (Build:9399) US English also missing for me. Strange.

WinXP Pro SP2
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Member 24th May, 2009 21:01
Last edited on 24th May, 2009 21:03 samcoe, you're using Windows SP2 that has several security vunerablilities and Windows SP3 has been available for almost a year that has perfomance enhancements and several Critical Security Updates so in IE go to Tools then Windows Update then download and install all updates.

Go to Control Center then Security Center then set it to Automatic Updates (Recommended) or at least Notify me about updates but do not download nor install them
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Hansen RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Secunia Official 25th May, 2009 09:48
Score: 188
Posts: 410
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

The detection rule for OpenOffice have been updated.

The PSI should now also pick up version 3.1.x


--
Kind regards,
Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
Websafe RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Member 25th May, 2009 18:47
Score: 79
Posts: 105
User Since: 24th May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hello, M.Hansen

After a manual scan OpenOffice 3.1.0 is listed (as patched) on the PSI again.
Thanks for the fast response.

Websafe.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leura09 RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Member 24th Oct, 2009 15:13
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 22nd Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have run Secunia for the first time. it showed OpenOffice.org 2.x as a threat. I removed open Office quite some time ago, and it does not feature on my programs list. I then downloaded the latest version op Open Office, and then uninstalled it.

When I re-ran Secunia, I still had OpenOffice.org 2.x coming up as a threat. How can this be removed?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI doesn't recognize OpenOffice 3.1.0
Expert Contributor 24th Oct, 2009 15:21
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello leura09 ,

Here are some tips for using "advanced" mode :-

To help resolve your problem , here are some instructions to help you first of all get the best out of PSI :-

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

If you are unable to resolve the problem yourself , all this info should allow someone on the forum to help/advise you .

Let us know what you find .

Take care
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability