Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Acrobat 9.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Daffie Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 12th Jun, 2009 21:06
Ranking: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Hi people

Upgrading above mentioned seems to be quite the hassle.
According to Secunia I have version 9.1.0.163 installed; which is correct if I look at the exe file it points to.
Original version of Acrobat I had installed was "Adobe Acrobat Lite 9.1.0.29" (latest version).
I then updated this with the "AdbeRdrUpd912_all_incr.msp" which Secunia suggested. I hoped this would update Acrobat (since the update function in acrobat itself is not present in the lite version). And by my surprise it did the update just fine and when I go in the about screen it says 9.1.2, so all seems fine.
BUT Secunia still says its the old version and I think I know the reason. There is a new AcroRd32.dll file since I did the update. This dll file has the correct version, but my exe did not change and still has the old version number.

Now the question: is my Acrobat secure now and updated to the latest version correctly and should I just ignore Secunia?
And if so; shouldn't Secunia look at the dll file also and not just at the .exe file?

Thanks for any help and feedback.

Greetz
David

gingem2 RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 13th Jun, 2009 00:46
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm having the same problem. I have tried 2-3 times. No solution yet
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 13th Jun, 2009 20:39
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Jun, 2009 20:46
You could retry the download link and/or repair link in the Adobe Reader help menu & then ReScan.
You "seem" to have the correct RD files , it's a question of getting PSI to read them.
If your version does not have these links in the Help menu ; you may need a clean reinstall to satisfy PSI.
Limit of my knowledge I'm afraid.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Daffie RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 13th Jun, 2009 22:52
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Last edited on 13th Jun, 2009 22:53
The repair function in the help menu is available but did not help either. It asks for a .msi file I do not have on my computer and the repair can not continue.

But the question remains; am I secure or not?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 14th Jun, 2009 00:49
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I don't know what an .msi file is.

Adobe seems happy you have updated and you have the right files ; but you can't run repair and Secunia is not happy.
So the question is whether the update/patch has "applied" & I have no idea how you test or determine that. Maybe Adobe tech support can help you.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Daffie RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 14th Jun, 2009 01:34
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Last edited on 14th Jun, 2009 01:34
Well, like I said in my opening post: according to the "About" screen, which you can access in the Adobe reader Help menu, I have version 9.1.2.

And a msi file is an installation file.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gingem2 RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 14th Jun, 2009 01:42
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have 2 systems with Acrobat on them and I compared the files on them and I can't see any difference. One passes the test and the other doesn't. Really crazy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 14th Jun, 2009 09:59
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 14th Jun, 2009 10:00
Totally mad.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Hansen RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Secunia Official 15th Jun, 2009 14:56
Score: 188
Posts: 410
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

We use the file called "Annot.api" to determine the version of Adobe Reader at the moment.
(It's located in the plugins folder)



--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2009 15:18
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Many thanks for the info , Morten ; my version checks out OK , only to be expected as PSI gives me the green light.

Is this file check process why the Adobe/Help menu/update and/or repair links seem to give "better" PSI results ?? Do you have any other suggestions ??

Great software. Thanks to you all at Secunia. Denmark brings home the bacon , once again.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Daffie RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 15th Jun, 2009 20:52
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
on 15th Jun, 2009 14:56, M.Hansen wrote:

We use the file called "Annot.api" to determine the version of Adobe Reader at the moment.
(It's located in the plugins folder)


Installation Path
c:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\AcroRd32.exe

Well; it doesn't here I'm afraid, still checks the .exe file...
Or do we need to use the latest beta release? I'm still using 1.0.0.4 version.
Thanks for answering.

Greetz
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2009 21:02
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2009 21:07
My PSI shows the same installation "pathway".
If you use the "open folder" link lower down , inside the opened folder you should see the plug in folder , as well as the RD32 files etc. , and the .api file Morten has mentioned is in there & that seems to be what Secunia checks.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Daffie RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 15th Jun, 2009 21:49
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2009 21:49
I don't have this file!

Maybe something to do with the installation of the Lite version?
No wonder my PSI looks at the exe file; its because it can not find this Annot.api file.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2009 22:10
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2009 22:11
This may help explain or not , as the case may be ; 2nd line & 7th line .


Lite version characteristics:

Removed autorun/desktop shortcuts and converted start menu shortcut to non-advertised
Removed several features and plugins that the average user has no need for (see the tutorial for details)
Removed Beyond Adobe and Lic. Agreement popups, the dialog asking to help make Adobe Reader better and "Create PDF using Acrobat.com" from the toolbar and from the embedded reader in browser
Removed all (auto)updateŽ features and AcroRd32Info.exe with no errors in the event log
Form filling allowed and removed the "No Save" warning when filling forms
Removed more unneeded stuff (v9.1)
Some cosmetic changes (v9.1)

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Daffie RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 15th Jun, 2009 22:49
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2009 22:49
Yeah that is probably the reason Anthony; the plugin is not present in the Lite version.

This makes me conclude that since the .dll file is up to date; I should be secured. Also having in mind that the About screen shows I have the correct (= secure) version.

Maybe Secunia should check the .dll file instead of the .exe file in case it cant find the plugin file. This would at least cancel out the false positive for people who have the Lite version installed.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2009 23:25
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2009 23:28
Nice try Daffie ; unfortunately , earlier threads on updating 9.1.0 to 9.1.1 would show you that Adobe did not appear to update any of the RD32 files without a "clean" reinstall (if memory serves me) & is maybe why Secunia uses the .api file .
As you say , & for what it's worth , I would agree , you are probably OK - unless Morten or Adobe think otherwise .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gingem2 RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 15th Jun, 2009 23:27
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have 2 systems that are identical and I have checked all of the files in the plug-in folder and the Acrobat folder they are identical in size and revisions. One passes the test and the other doesn't. I think this is a Secinia problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Daffie RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 15th Jun, 2009 23:32
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
on 15th Jun, 2009 23:25, Anthony Wells wrote:
Adobe did not appear to update any of the RD32 files without a "clean" reinstall


Well that's not totally true since my AcroRd32.dll file is updated and I didn't do a reinstall :)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2009 23:32
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2009 23:50
For gingem :
But is the "Annots.api" numbered the same or differently when you open it .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2009 23:36
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
For Daffie :
So is my .dll for 9.1.2.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gingem2 RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 16th Jun, 2009 00:06
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
The Annots.api file says it is version 9.1.2.82!

Here is the kicker, It was created June 12, 2009 but modified on MAY 21, 2009!!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 17th Jun, 2009 22:33
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Is that the "good" or the "bad" version ??

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gingem2 RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 17th Jun, 2009 23:05
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
That's the bad one!!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Expert Contributor 18th Jun, 2009 11:20
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 18th Jun, 2009 11:21
What you do depends on your paranoia level.
I would recheck the .api file with my security software & then run it past virustotal & jotti.
If it does not appear to be infected , then you may wish to try to "repair" it , you could rerun the update & the repair links in the Reader help menu ; a reboot as well as a rescan may help.
You could do a "clean" uninstall of the Reader folder (including the plug_in folder) & install a freshly minted 9.1.2
Set a Secunia rule to ignore Reader & remember to update both systems when the "good" one tells you to ,
Or just chill out and bask in your uniqueness.
Take care


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gingem2 RE: Upgrade from 9.1.1 to 9.1.2
Member 20th Jun, 2009 00:34
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I don't know which solved the problem for me, I found another Adobe download that was earlier than the one chosen by Secunia and I downloaded it and installed it. I also loaded the new Secunia release and now the problem with Acrobat is solved.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability