navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI Scan hangs

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
bjm__ PSI Scan hangs
Member 5th Jul, 2009 00:49
Ranking: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 5th Jul, 2009 00:51

Good day PSI Community,
Just started having scan issue. Worked great until today. PSI 1.5 Scan hangs on 'Matching data with Secunia File Signatures engine' Step7 of 8. and after approx. 10min Scan Completes or times out. Last Full System Scan info does not change. Think it just times out.
Anyone know if Secunia has server issue? Anyone had similar experience?
All comments appreciated
Respectfully
bjm-

bjm__ RE: PSI Scan hangs
Member 5th Jul, 2009 06:46
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Community,
Apparently I'm not alone in this Scan issue. Hopefully just a temporary glitch with Secunia server.
Holiday weekend I guess?
Respectfully
bjm-
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Arbyritt RE: PSI Scan hangs
Member 17th Jul, 2009 04:08
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
It's not just the scan that hangs up. When I delete an 'unsecure' item from an external drive, the entire system goes inert for minutes on end. It takes me 30 minutes to remove 2 or 3 items.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: PSI Scan hangs
Contributor 17th Jul, 2009 05:21
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
The following thread may provide the answer(s) to your problem(s). I suggest you read the whole thread as several solutions are provided there.

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/139...

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.3.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Arbyritt RE: PSI Scan hangs
Member 17th Jul, 2009 08:28
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 17th Jul, 2009 08:29
WR: Thanks.
OK. I tried all of those things. No help. PSI just falls asleep after every task, and takes minutes to wake back up. It just sits there with a totally blank white box on the screen. (If I don't minimize it, my computer won't respond to anything I click on.)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: PSI Scan hangs
Contributor 19th Jul, 2009 08:04
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Arbyritt; I'm having similar problems, with the addition that sometimes PSI will not start. It sits there on my screen proclaiming that it should be done "in less than 10 seconds". An hour later it has done nothing. Then when I reload it the <scan> screen informs me it did a full scan an hour ago. How can the program do a scan when it acts like it's not even loaded?

Another twist to the tale is this: My Acer just ran PSI fine, but my HP took 5 tries to get it to work. One time it'll be the other way around. The next both won't work.

I hope somebody figures this out. PSI is a wonderful program, smooth in operation and the layout is well thought out. When you can get it to load!!! I have a sneeky idea it dosn't like my dial-up connection.

regards & good luck;
Fred

PS; WR, thanks for the thread.

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI Scan hangs
Member 20th Jul, 2009 05:05
Last edited on 20th Jul, 2009 05:06
on 19th Jul, 2009 08:04, thedillpickl wrote:
I have a sneeky idea it dosn't like my dial-up connection.

regards & good luck;
Fred

PS; WR, thanks for the thread.

Fred, I replied to this concern in the main PSI 1.5 topic and your assumption about the problem lies with the dial-up connection is probably true but you should look at what other people are using for their system security and I don't see many people using Webroot Internet Security Essentials.

Webroot's first foray into security suites needs some work--and better malware detection--before it becomes worthy of consideration
http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/product/44059/revie...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Arbyritt RE: PSI Scan hangs
Member 20th Jul, 2009 05:29
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 20th Jul, 2009 05:33
I have gone back to using OSI. PSI is just too unready for prime time. I love the concept, hate the performance. PSI worked very well until this last "upgrade".
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+