Forum Thread: Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Cheryl Fontaine Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been
Member 14th Jul, 2009 05:21
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 31st May, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
PSI says that both Adobe Reader and Irfanview need to be updated. Well, I updated them several days ago when it said the same thing. Both programs are the latest version. I have rescanned and my computer has been off and on several times since then, yet I can't get rid of those warnings. Thank you.

Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been
Handling Contributor 14th Jul, 2009 11:34
Score: 12056
Posts: 9,317
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
geraldofonseca RE: Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been
Member 16th Jul, 2009 03:50
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 16th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Jul, 2009 03:52
Post removed by author (who figured out his own question was dumb... =)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Cheryl Fontaine RE: Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been
Member 16th Jul, 2009 03:59
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 31st May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes, thank you, that worked perfectly! I didn't realize I needed to remove the old programs myself.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Arbyritt RE: Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been
Member 17th Jul, 2009 04:03
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Can anyone explain why so many of the 'insecure' programs are found by Secunia in the recycle bin on external drives? They certainly can't be executed from there, and have already been deleted.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Secunia says programs need to be updated that already have been
Contributor 17th Jul, 2009 05:35
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
I'm not a "techie" but I understand that items can be restored from the Recycle bin until they are deleted from there. It stands to reason if YOU can restore from the recycle bin, so can the "bad guys". Better safe than sorry. I personally use a 3rd party program to "shred" data from the recycle bin-but be forewarned that you need to be absolutely sure you want rid of said data as you may not be able to recover it.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.