Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Doesn't startup on boot

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Biscuit Doesn't startup on boot
Member 22nd Jul, 2009 13:28
Ranking: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Jul, 2009
System Score: 99%
Location: IM
Hi

I've been using PSI manually for sometime & have recently tried to get it to start on boot. However although the option is checked, PSI does not start on boot. Does anyone have any ideas please?

Anthony Wells RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Expert Contributor 22nd Jul, 2009 21:44
Score: 2375
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi Biscuit,

It may help to know which OS you are using ; if you have Admin rights ; whether you have software which checks/lists your "startup" items :eg: CCleaner &/or if you have checked your allowed start items using "msconfig".

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Biscuit RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 23rd Jul, 2009 10:53
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Jul 2009
System Score: 99%
Location: IM
Last edited on 23rd Jul, 2009 10:54
Sorry

Vista32, Admin rights, UAC disabled, WinPatrol Plus running. Msconfig in normal mode.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Expert Contributor 23rd Jul, 2009 11:35
Score: 2375
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi biscuit

Absolutely no need to say sorry , just basic questions which came to my mind .

I don't know Vista , so if winpatrol & msconfig show PSI set to run at boot/start , maybe someone else has an idea.

While your waiting , if its not too messy for you , an uninstall->reinstall->settings-> tick "boot start" right away might do the trick -it's windows , so remember to smile while you do it .

Let us know your progress(?!)

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Biscuit RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 23rd Jul, 2009 13:28
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Jul 2009
System Score: 99%
Location: IM
I have deinstalled, rebooted, reg clean (JV16), downloaded a new PSI & installed & still have the same issue. PSI is not remembering to run on boot & also is not appearing either in msconfig or Winpatrol as a startup program.

Possibly related is that PSI is still not remembering my location (Isle of Man).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Expert Contributor 23rd Jul, 2009 14:07
Score: 2375
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 23rd Jul, 2009 14:08
If PSI is not showing in the start menu , then logic says that it's not going run automatically .

This would indicate faulty message/contact between PSI & Vista or something else blocking the contact .

I have no idea how you would resolve this .

IF no one else pops up here , Secunia monitor the Forum but you may want to ask them direct on "support@secunia.com" & ask whether they have any light to shed.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Expert Contributor 23rd Jul, 2009 14:58
Score: 2375
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 23rd Jul, 2009 15:04
I "googled" "how to add an item to start up in Vista"

This is one result I came across , it might work ??

Knowing me , you may need a 2nd opinion & to check the search responses yourself !!


[]From the Help and Support link on the Vista Start Menu:

Quote:
Run a program automatically when Windows starts

If you always open the same programs after starting your computer, such as a web browser or e‑mail program, you might find it convenient to have them start automatically when you start Windows. Programs or shortcuts placed in the Startup folder will run whenever Windows starts.

Click the Start button , click All Programs, right-click the Startup folder, and then click Open.

Open the location that contains the item to which you want to create a shortcut.

Right-click the item, and then click Create Shortcut. The new shortcut appears in the same location as the original item.

Drag the shortcut into the Startup folder.

The next time you start Windows, the program will run automatically.

Note

You can also make an individual file, such as a word-processing document, open automatically by dragging a shortcut of the file into the Startup folder.[]

FWIW Secunia shortcut is in my startup folder on XP.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Biscuit RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 23rd Jul, 2009 15:05
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Jul 2009
System Score: 99%
Location: IM
Thanks for your reply.

I know how to manually add a program to the startup group, but I was concerned why PSI was unable to do this itself. Adding manually to the startup menu may not be the correct way to run PSI, I would want to check this first with Secunia. However I think that this is just a symptom of a slightly flakey UI, at least on Vista/my config. :(
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Biscuit RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 23rd Jul, 2009 15:06
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Jul 2009
System Score: 99%
Location: IM
on 23rd Jul, 2009 14:58, Anthony Wells wrote:
FWIW Secunia shortcut is in my startup folder on XP.


Thanks. Please could any Vista users confirm whether PSI is in their Vista startup folder?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 8th Oct, 2009 21:35
Hello,
I'm running Vista Ultimate x64 and have placed a link to PSI in my All Users startup folder because the setting to "Start on boot" doesn't work. This is still only a partial solution because User Account Control blocks the startup program, presumably because it needs to start as Administrator.
However, it does display a message that the program was blocked and I can then run it by right-clicking the blocked program icon in the taskbar and selecting "Run blocked program/PSI". UAC then asks for the Administrator password and PSI runs as it should.
I really wish the developers would address this issue. Vista has been around for over two years and Windows 7 will also have UAC.
Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 9th Oct, 2009 14:25
Hi,
The PSI doesn't use links in the startup folder on Vista, only on XP. In Vista it uses the (Setting), accessible from Start >> All Programs >> Accessories >> System Tools >> Task Scheduler >> Active Tasks >> Secunia PSI Startup Task >> Triggers.
This should be "at log on of any user"

The default setting in Vista is to not launch this kind of services when running on battery power, so the PSI wouldn't launch if you're running on the battery, according with the defaults Vista.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Doesn't startup on boot
Member 9th Oct, 2009 19:32
Last edited on 9th Oct, 2009 19:43
on 9th Oct, 2009 14:25, wrote:
Hi,
The PSI doesn't use links in the startup folder on Vista, only on XP. In Vista it uses the (Setting), accessible from Start >> All Programs >> Accessories >> System Tools >> Task Scheduler >> Active Tasks >> Secunia PSI Startup Task >> Triggers.
This should be "at log on of any user"

The default setting in Vista is to not launch this kind of services when running on battery power, so the PSI wouldn't launch if you're running on the battery, according with the defaults Vista.


Hi, Thanks for this, I wouldn't have thought of the Task Scheduler as a way to run a program at Startup, though a number of things do seem to be set up this way on my Vista system.

I checked Task Scheduler and found the task you describe. It works as expected when I log in as administrator, but fails silently when logging in as a standard user. I never run my computer as administrator unless I absolutely have to.

The following is the exact text of the Task Scheduler History entries that appear for every standard user login:

(unknown source)
Log Name: Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler/Operational
Source: Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler
Date: 10/9/2009 11:18:27 AM
Event ID: 119
Task Category: Task triggered on logon
Level: Information
Keywords:
User: SYSTEM
Computer: Aslan
Description:
Task Scheduler launched "{966b6923-7710-4b74-8154-d52785c04018}" instance of task "\Secunia PSI Logon Task" due to user "Aslan\Gerry" logon.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/ev...">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler" Guid="{de7b24ea-73c8-4a09-985d-5bdadcfa9017}" />
<EventID>119</EventID>
<Version>0</Version>
<Level>4</Level>
<Task>119</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x8000000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-10-09T15:18:27.073Z" />
<EventRecordID>150418</EventRecordID>
<Correlation ActivityID="{966B6923-7710-4B74-8154-D52785C04018} " />
<Execution ProcessID="712" ThreadID="772" />
<Channel>Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler/Operation al</Channel>
<Computer>Aslan</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
</System>
<EventData Name="LogonTrigger">
<Data Name="TaskName">\Secunia PSI Logon Task</Data>
<Data Name="UserName">Aslan\Gerry</Data>
<Data Name="InstanceId">{966B6923-7710-4B74-8154-D52785C 04018}</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

Log Name: Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler/Operational
Source: Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler
Date: 10/9/2009 11:18:47 AM
Event ID: 101
Task Category: Task Start Failed
Level: Error
Keywords:
User: SYSTEM
Computer: Aslan
Description:
Task Scheduler failed to start "\Secunia PSI Logon Task" task for user "Aslan\Boss". Additional Data: Error Value: 2147943645.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/ev...">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler" Guid="{de7b24ea-73c8-4a09-985d-5bdadcfa9017}" />
<EventID>101</EventID>
<Version>0</Version>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>101</Task>
<Opcode>101</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x8000000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-10-09T15:18:47.204Z" />
<EventRecordID>150448</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="712" ThreadID="1376" />
<Channel>Microsoft-Windows-TaskScheduler/Operation al</Channel>
<Computer>Aslan</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
</System>
<EventData Name="TaskStartFailedEvent">
<Data Name="TaskName">\Secunia PSI Logon Task</Data>
<Data Name="UserContext">Aslan\Boss</Data>
<Data Name="ResultCode">2147943645</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

"Boss" = administrator account, "Gerry" = user account. These are the only two accounts I have, except possibly a hidden, built-in Administrator account. The failure happens every time, plugged in or not. If the task requires the Administrator password, shouldn't the UAC interface pop up so I can enter it? This happens when I use the shortcut in the startup menu. At least this way I get a reminder every time.

Thanks, Gerry
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Factsheets
Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability