Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Strange after an image restore?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
eDOC786 Strange after an image restore?
Member 2nd Aug, 2009 21:41
Ranking: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Hi there,

I created an image of my OS & the created image had a 100% Secunia score.

When I had to restore that image it showed 4 vulnerabilities which were already rectified before the image was created.....why?

Hoping to hear from you smart people,

Regards!

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/eDOC/Secunia...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/eDOC/Secunia...

--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.

eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 3rd Aug, 2009 04:53
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Ok I used the Flash uninstaller to remove the Flash 10 General plugin & the Active X Control. i.e 2 & 3 of the Insecure programs.

Rebooted, scanned & 3 insecure programs disappeared.

Installed Flash for IE 8 from Adobe site.

Coincedently I saw a message of an upadte for Adobe Air from 1.5.XXX to a newer version.

Removed Adobe DM using Add/Remove.

But now Secunia displays Install Flash Player for IE ......how do I do that......when I click on the link it displays not to use my default browser which btw is IE ....where from can I download, save & run flash for IE.....Secunia & Adobe are now giving head aches....using this technique all 4 insecure programs disappear but have no flash for Secunia?

Regards!

--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 3rd Aug, 2009 05:01
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/eDOC/Secunia...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/eDOC/Secunia...

--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 4th Aug, 2009 05:26
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Hi there,

Could any of the smart, genius member care to assist, to resolve this Adobe issues?

Thanks,

Hoping to hear from you,

Regards!

--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 4th Aug, 2009 10:13
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 4th Aug, 2009 10:15
Hi eDOC786

I've noticed that there seems to be a distinct lack of help on this forum. Although it isn't short on people viewing the threads. I can only guess that they too are looking for answers.

Any how if it's 'Adobe Flash Player' that you want use the link. But before you do read the following...
When the page opens, it will have scanned your PC to see what OS you are using. So it can offer you the correct free flash player. It's findings will be at the top of the page under 'Install Adobe Flash Player'
If for some reason it isn't correct, click on 'Different operating system or browser?' Here you can select your OS manually.
Before you click the install button - unless you want it - make sure you un-tick the 'Free Google Toolbar (optional)'
Do what it says above the yellow button. Then click to install.
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/?promoid=DXLUJ

Regarding your question...

"I created an image of my OS & the created image had a 100% Secunia score.
When I had to restore that image it showed 4 vulnerabilities which were already rectified before the image was created.....why?"

The only explanation I can come up with - at the moment - is yes, your system may have been 100% at the time of making a snapshot. But when you came to reinstall that snapshot, things had moved on and although when you made the snapshot it was 100%. In real time it wasn't any longer. In the meantime newer versions had taken their place.

How does that stack up, does it sound feasible? It would seem - from the replies you've received so far - that this explanation may be as close as you're going to get!
In the meantime, if I come up with a better reason I'll let you know.

If there is a question you need answering ask it. I can't say I'll definitely know the answer, but I'll give it my best shot.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 4th Aug, 2009 11:59
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Thanks magicool1 for your reply.
I agree with you that things have changhed in 2 weeks.
My query is is that despite uninstalling the older flash player & installing the newer version, my Secunia PSI shows a 100% score but does not show the bars cause it displays that Flash player for IE needs to be installed......why.....I already did install the newer version for IE 8......any thoughts firing in your neurones?
Regards,
Doc.


--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 4th Aug, 2009 12:19
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi DOC

Go to the following link, it will tell you what version Flash you have currently installed. If you then scroll down it will tell you what versions are available...

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

This is just so you can check if you have the latest or not?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 4th Aug, 2009 19:06
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Hi magicool1,

Thanks for sending the link......I have version 10,0,32,18 installed.

But Secunia PSI is with out any bars & displays the message as shown in the gif. attachment posted above.

Regards,

Doc.

--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 4th Aug, 2009 20:19
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 4th Aug, 2009 20:21
Hi DOC

I have to say I've never come across this before? But, being as it is saying that your score is a 100%, I personally would uninstall 'PSI' then download, reinstall and run it again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Strange after an image restore?
Expert Contributor 4th Aug, 2009 20:49
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 4th Aug, 2009 20:51
If it helps , in the Flash folder are two files ;-

FlashUtil10c and NPSWF32_FlashUtil (assuming you have the ActiveX & GeneralPlugin both installed)

In the past I have found that double click on the first file does nothing , but on the second file a window opens & tells you that there is an update available !! Clicking on install now has in the past helped me to reset Flash - even when I appear to have all the up to date files !!

Maybe worth a quick try??


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 08:41
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Hi magi,

I did all what you suggested & fixed some issues.

But now I have 1 insecure program i.e Adobe Reader 9, how can I make it secure.

As per PSI it recommends to update it to 9.1.2 & apply the patch.

When I try updating Adobe Reader 9.1.0 it updates directly to 9.1.3 & despite applying the 9.1.3 patch shows insecure & recommending it to update to 9.1.2 isnt that weird?

Hoping to hear your thougts,

Regards,

Doc.



--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 09:15
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 5th Aug, 2009 09:28
Hi DOC

Yes it is a little peculiar, but then I don't know why they release insecure software. It would seem that all software producers are guilty of this procedure in some way, even - dare I say it - 'Secunia'! We the loyal believers, always seem to have to pay the guinea pig price! That's life, it would seem. I guess it's the price we pay for getting it for free.

Still, moving on...

The following link is for 'Adobe Reader 9.1.2'
However it will only allow you to update it to '9.1' or 9.1.1'
I'll have a look at it and get back to you.
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?...


PS
Hi Anthony Wells, I don't like ignoring people, especially those trying to help. Nice of you to join us and add your suggestion. Momentarily however, we seem to have moved on a little. But thanks anyway for your input, it sounds like a wrinkle worth remembering to try at some stage.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 09:55
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Thanks magi & Anthony Wells,

No luck........

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/eDOC/8-5-200...

I installed AR 9.1.0 & updated using your sent link to 9.1.2.82 but it's still insecure.

I appreciate your help.

Regards,

Doc.

--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pengwyn RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 10:09
Score: 5
Posts: 24
User Since: 6th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Sacramento, N/A
Last edited on 5th Aug, 2009 10:25
Not sure if this will help you with your Adobe Air...
After going to adobe and removing and installing my flash thinking I was all good to go.

PSI detected all these as exploitable. ;o)

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Bridge CS3\browser\plugins\NPSWF32.dll
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Contribute CS3\Configuration\Plugins\NPSWF32.dll
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Dreamweaver CS3\configuration\Plugins\NPSWF32.dll
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Flash CS3\AIK\runtimes\air\win\Adobe AIR\Versions\1.0\NPSWF32.dll
C:\WINDOWS\system32\NPSWF32.dll

I noticed PSI detected this one as fixed after the Adobe uninstall/install instructions.
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\NPSWF32.DLL
^^^^
So I fire up ztree and copied this file to all the above locations.

PSI | Rescan - Op's check good.

WARNING (You might want to back these files up to an archive first, and I would archive them not just rename them, so they don't run accidentally--in other words back em up but get them out of those directories, so nothing can rename or execute them.)


PS: On the Acrobat Update, I ran into the same problem after updating. What I did was update again, reboot, flush usr/tmp update again, reboot flush out all the user/tmp files, update again, update again flush files. You get the idea, I forget how many times I repeated. I think it had something to do with updating one version point at a time before going to the next. Clearing the /tmp files might not be important.

PSI | Rescan Op's Check good o;)

If this doesn't help, I don't know what will. It worked for me though.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 10:21
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
UPDATE

Hi DOC

Here y'go...
Uninstall whatever version of 'Adobe Reader' you have.
>Click this link...
http://www.oldapps.com/adobe_reader.php?old_reader...
Here you can download 'Adobe Reader 9.1.0' Full Programme (25.50 MB)
Install and run 'PSI' (patch if needed) then >Click this link...
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?...
Here you can update the '9.1.0' to '9.1.2'
Then again run 'PSI' and patch if necessary.

I tried this on my PC and it worked for me. My PC is WinXP SP3 and I know your's is Vista. What I don't know is, wether it makes any difference in this instance? You can only try it and see.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 10:41
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi pengwyn

Nice to have you on board. Let's hope between the 4 of us and anyone else who might like to contribute, we can nail this little problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pengwyn RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 11:22
Score: 5
Posts: 24
User Since: 6th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Sacramento, N/A
on 5th Aug, 2009 10:41, magicool1 wrote:
Hi pengwyn

Nice to have you on board. Let's hope between the 4 of us and anyone else who might like to contribute, we can nail this little problem.


I notice Adobe likes to set things to be renamed / deleted and it doesn't take effect until after a reboot. If something goes wrong, we don't get adobe's scripts to run and well frankly things don't get renamed / deleted.

I had another box 2007/2008?? (Way before this version of Acrobat)
I had to use some special uninstall tools for flash and acrobat. Sadly I don't remember where these tools are located (specific URL'S) now , but I am sure they can be tracked down again.

One of the tools was from Microsoft which cleans the registry at different levels. (I hate automated tools like this)

Another one removes flash. (I highly recommend that one for all flash updates) I think PSI points to this tool..

IIRC this was due to not being able to install something by adobe.

Once it was so bad, I just got into the registry, search for everything Adobe Acrobat Acroread Flash etc. and delete.
It's very time consuming, I have had success with this method in conjunction with physically deleting files and removing adobe directories manually. Such a drastic method isn't for for everybody though. And I don't really suggest it, but I only mention it for the fact that it did work for me once, when everything else completely failed. o;)

When I build a box from scratch now, the first thing that goes on after microsoft updates is adobe. Then I update adobe, then I clone the drive for backup. Adobe can really be so annoying the only solution is a reformat. Of course this is my opinion only. Like I said, I have manually torn it out before. An utter pain.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 11:52
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi DOC this is by way of a heads up!

"I notice Adobe likes to set things to be renamed / deleted and it doesn't take effect until after a reboot. If something goes wrong, we don't get adobe's scripts to run and well frankly things don't get renamed / deleted."

Thanks for the nudge 'pengwyn' I should have added that to my last post to you DOC. Make sure that everytime you do an 'Adobe' uninstall you also do a 'CCleaner Reg Clean' then reboot. Before you move on to the next installation stage.

Cheers pengwyn

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Strange after an image restore?
Expert Contributor 5th Aug, 2009 18:09
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

The update to Adobe Reader 9.1.3 is important , but PSI is "likely" to still show v9.1.2 & "insecure" .

In this tread all the relevant info has been posted :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/240...

You need to check the Reader Help menu "about" link & check that the "authplay.dll" patch shows in "Add/Remove" ; best read the thread to fully understand.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 5th Aug, 2009 20:01
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi Anthony

Thanks for that, I'll have to have a read.

I just ran PSI and it told me my 3 browsers were insecure and there was nothing I could do about it. However I onlt have two browsers IE7 & Firefox. On looking closer it said I had IE7 twice. I opened the first link so I could their locations. Went to open the second and PSI said 'You have two insecure browsers'?! At least it was right the second time.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Strange after an image restore?
Expert Contributor 5th Aug, 2009 20:28
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 5th Aug, 2009 20:32
To save some time , if you have Adobe Reaser v9.1.3 correctly in stalled , then PSI now shows you as "patched" v9.0.246.0 which is the N of the up to date/patched "authplay.dll" file ; it also shows as secure for browsing - at least for the moment PSI & Adobe agree in their fashion !!

Still work in progress as Java now shows secure for browsing when it is "apparently" not patched .

Lucky you having two lots of IE7 , hope M$$ don't send you a bill :))

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eDOC786 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 6th Aug, 2009 08:46
Score: 0
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Islamabad/ Orlando., PK
Hi there Magi, Anthony Wells & pengywn,

Installed AR 9.0, PSI showed it as insecure, rebooted installed the 9.1.2; 6.1 MB patch again did a reboot still insecure.

Did a check for updates & it updated it to version 9.1.3, update size 1.3 MB.

It does not show as insecure any more.

Under patched programs it shows as AR version 9.0.246.0?

Earlier I was thinking of uninstalling PSI 1.5 till a more stable version is released or quitting AR.

Thanks for all your help.

Regards,

Doc.



--
Dell XPS 1710 Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2 with Logitech Comfy Laser KB & mouse.

Sony Vaio VGC-LS1 Desktop XP MCE 2005 SP3, Logitech Quick cam Pro 9000.

Both with IE 8 & FF 3.5.1, Avast4.8, MBAM, Spywareblaster & Secunia PSI 1.5.

Doc.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
magicool1 RE: Strange after an image restore?
Member 6th Aug, 2009 09:43
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 8th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Aug, 2009 09:51
Hi DOC

Glad to hear it's been sorted and thanks for the feedback.

PS
Incidentaly if you ever have any PC problems that you can't find answers to here. You can always find answers at...
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk
It's where I,- under a different name - along with many others, do our best to help find solutions to PC problems. To the best of my knowledge, we as a collective, haven't been beaten yet!

Further to that, if any any of you guys/gals like trying to solve PC problems and helping others, we'd be pleased to have you on board.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Strange after an image restore?
Expert Contributor 6th Aug, 2009 16:04
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Aug, 2009 16:22


Hello there ,

Adobe looks better for now ; just Java to get in line !!

Thanks for the link Magicool , I have it bookmarked for when my "experts" are not around/not answering the 'phone ; as a total & resolute "non-techie" am unlikely to help (unless airborne swine are in your vicinity);:-o)))

Take care

Anthony.

PS: Re my suggestion a couple of days ago of clicking on the Flash folder "Util" files is to ensure all the files (including the "uninstall" files are reset) ; I have just seen on another thread that the PSI overview page was asking for Flash - as per Doc's earlier problem - and that an uninstall file was missing & resetting it solved the problem .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability