Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Error

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Lyle Gray Error
Member 9th Aug, 2009 06:44
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 24th Mar, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: White Rock, CA
I keep receiving the following error...............

An error occured while verifying the Security Certificate.
The Secunia PSI cannot continue the execution.

wr RE: Error
Contributor 10th Aug, 2009 00:59
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 6th Oct, 2009 21:31
If you're having trouble getting Secunia to connect try this:

The following steps are the latest version I know of to ensure connectivity to Secunias servers:

Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have configured
the security settings of your Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive
your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.
To do this:
a. Open Internet Explorer.
b. Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
c. Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
d. In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
e. Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
f. Press OK then Yes.
g. Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
h. Look at the bottom of the page and take the tick from the box marked"Require server verification(HTTPS)for all site zones" then type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Zone Sites list:
http://*.secunia.com
https://*.secunia.com
i. Press Close
j. Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results

If using a browser other than IE the settings can be accessed by clicking Start-Control Panel-Internet Options-then follow c thru j

I know the directions start by saying for scanning but I believe these directions are valid to insure connectivity to the Secunia servers.

Regards, wr

EDIT: While all the steps are important, I believe step h. is your 'hangup.'

EDIT 2 : Be sure you're using the latest version of the PSI which is v. 1.5.0.0-the Secunia does not automatically update itself.

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
edrub RE: Error
Member 6th Oct, 2009 21:01
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Oct, 2009 21:03
I had the same error despite my IE settings being unchanged for years and Secunia working perfectly until I updated my ZoneAlarm firewall. The above solution worked but the form of the wild card URLs are incorrect. When I entered them, a flag came up warning that the forms were invalid. They should be: http://*.secunia.com and https://*.secunia.com. These worked.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Error
Contributor 6th Oct, 2009 21:23
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Thanks for heads-up on the form(s).

wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GoneToPlaid RE: Error
Member 14th Oct, 2009 17:03
Score: 5
Posts: 71
User Since: 1st Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: Atlanta, US
I haven't had this particular issue. But then again every few months I check Windows Update to see if MS has released updated security certificates which of course replace any outdated ones on my computer. I dunno why MS has the security certificates under their "recommended updates" rather than under their "critical updates".
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability