Forum Thread: PSI thinks FireFox is default browser??

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
raylsworth PSI thinks FireFox is default browser??
Member 12th Aug, 2009 20:17
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Why am I getting this message when I go to a PSI recommended download site?

“The link you are trying to open requires Internet Explorer to function correctly and will therefore not use your default browser.”
Press “OK” to continue,

FireFox is NOT my default Browser, IE 8 is my default.
Also, when I go to this Forum from my PSI Profile, FX is started.

But the stangest thing is that I can not independently start FX.
When I try, I get this message:
<<Close Firefox
“Firefox is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Firefox process, or restart your system.” OK>>

puget1 RE: PSI thinks FireFox is default browser??
Member 12th Aug, 2009 20:24
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Refer to this forum thread we are working on it

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/249...

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: PSI thinks FireFox is default browser??
Contributor 12th Aug, 2009 21:13
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 12th Aug, 2009 21:13
Hi raylsworth,

Here's another link that explores the browser problem. I would suggest that you read all the posts in this thread as there seems to be several areas of conflict with 2 responses from a Secunia Official.

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/219...

Hope this helps.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
raylsworth RE: PSI thinks FireFox is default browser??
Member 13th Aug, 2009 00:29
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have uninstalled PSI, but still can not use FireFox.
I have checked the FX Profile folder and there is no .lock file.
It is my Admin user with the problem.
My Non-admin user has no problem running FX, but never run PSI there.

PSI was giving false warnings, so I think I will just go back to OSI.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.