Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secure Browsers

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Tudor Secure Browsers
Member 26th Aug, 2009 19:28
Ranking: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 17th Oct, 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Secunia advises that there are 2 browsers, IE8 and Firefox, used on my system.
Google Chrome is also installed and is the one I generally use although it is not it is not the default browser.
Is there any reason why Chrome is not shown on the browser page please.
Link c:\Users\Name\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Applicat ion\chrome.exe.
Thanks

Slamgeden RE: Secure Browsers
Member 27th Aug, 2009 09:47
Score: 0
Posts: 181
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Did you try a full system re-scan? Or a reboot?

--
Assorted Fnords.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tudor RE: Secure Browsers
Member 27th Aug, 2009 11:49
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 17th Oct 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Have been aware of this for a while. Secunia full scan has been run a number of times with the same result. Also a reboot has been done to no effect up to now.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secure Browsers
Expert Contributor 27th Aug, 2009 11:55
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,324
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Is your Chrome a Beta version ? PSI used to recognise them , but I'm not sure if it still does .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cyrichards RE: Secure Browsers
Member 27th Aug, 2009 20:13
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 2nd Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Add me to the list. I just had the same experience with Chrome disappearing from the Secure Browsers tab in PSI 1.5.0.0 a few minutes ago.

Chrome showed up on the Secure Browsers tab until this last scan. The notification bubble stated that Gears had been patched but that Chrome 2.x had a CAT4 threat (not sure whether that means there *is* a CAT4 threat or one was *removed*).

In any event, I have not observed this behavior before.

eMachines Athlon 3200+ 64-bit, WinXP Home
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secure Browsers
Expert Contributor 27th Aug, 2009 20:28
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,324
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 27th Aug, 2009 20:31
I notice that Google Chrome & Gears disappear from the "patched" & "secure browsing" tabs when you are updated automatically or manually update - Chrome has just (since yesterday) gone to v2.0.172.43 whilst Gears remains v0.5.25.0.
A full rescan should repair the "problem".

If you use a Beta version , I'm not sure if PSI still recognises them.

The meaning of the "CAT4 threat" depends on which tab it is in . Click on it and you should get further advice from Secunia.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cyrichards RE: Secure Browsers
Member 27th Aug, 2009 20:40
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 2nd Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 27th Aug, 2009 20:28, Anthony Wells wrote:
I notice that Google Chrome & Gears disappear from the "patched" & "secure browsing" tabs when you are updated automatically or manually update - Chrome has just (since yesterday) gone to v2.0.172.43 whilst Gears remains v0.5.25.0. A full rescan should repair the "problem".

The meaning of the "CAT4 threat" depends on which tab it is in . Click on it and you should get further advice from Secunia.


Confirmed re: the full scan. Chrome is back.

The CAT4 threat was in the notification bubble. It had just been removed from PSI so I could not determine which tab it was on.

All is well again. Thanks!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secure Browsers
Expert Contributor 27th Aug, 2009 21:00
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,324
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

If Chrome is back in your patched "tab" you will see a colour bar to the rihgt under "patched threat" ; mouse over and/or click on it for further advice on it's category 4 rating.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability