Forum Thread: A scan lists programs that are not on my PC.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This thread has been marked as locked.
jeparham A scan lists programs that are not on my PC.
Member 5th Sep, 2009 19:36
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 5th Sep, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Windows 7 Ultimate RC 64 Bit.
Intel QuadCore CPU
Asus PK5 Deluxe WiFi AP motherboard
4GB Ballistix RAM
3 1TB Seagate drives, 1 500GB Western Digital drive.


I've just started using Secunia PSI, and a scan this morning lists:

iTunes 7.x
Apple QuickTime 7.x
Apple Bonjour for Windows 1.x
Apple Bonjour for Windows 1.x
Mozilla Firefox 3.0.x
Mozilla Thunderbird 2.x
PHP 5.2.x

(Yes, Bonjour is listed twice.)

The problem is, NONE of those programs are on my PC, with the exception of Firefox. However, I've got Firefox 3.5.2 installed, NOT 3.0.x

And can someone tell me why the Flash plugin is listed this many times?:
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 9.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 10.x (General Plug-in)
Adobe Flash Player 10.x (General Plug-in)

Anthony Wells RE: A scan lists programs that are not on my PC.
Expert Contributor 5th Sep, 2009 23:36
Score: 2468
Posts: 3,356
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

If you check out my post , #8 on this thread , & it may help you deal wit your problems :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/268...

Let us know how you get on & if you need more help .

(Please note that I use XP SP3)



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: A scan lists programs that are not on my PC.
Member 5th Sep, 2009 23:51
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 6th Sep, 2009 08:10
Hello jeparham,

I see you are running Win7

this link has the System requirements for Secunia PSI

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

I do not see Win7
Your results may reflect PSI not Win7 compatible...

Regards
bjm-

Updated as issue is resolved
see below...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jeparham RE: A scan lists programs that are not on my PC.
Member 6th Sep, 2009 00:10
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 5th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Sep, 2009 00:13
Well, it may not list it as being supported, but it certainly seems to work on Windows 7, and I believe now that may not be the cause.

I did some more poking around inside the program, including switching to Advanced Mode, and I wish I had done so before I made my original post.

All of the applications PSI listed are either:

1. Inside an application setup folders on one of my archive drives, or

2. Located on an old "C drive" disk I had inserted to copy some files off of and then forgotten about it and left it connected to the PC.

So the upshot is: Problem solved. There wasn't a problem, the software was doing exactly what it was supposed to do.

Sorry for bothering you all.


jp
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: A scan lists programs that are not on my PC.
Member 6th Sep, 2009 00:33
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 6th Sep, 2009 08:08
Hello

No bother at all
Sorry, if my info was outdated..
last I heard PSI was not...but you proved PSI is Win7 compatible

Thank you for posting back. This will help all.

Regards
bjm-

maybe Secunia will update PSI System Requirements per your post...
by jeparham on 6th Sep, 2009 00:10, last edited on 6th Sep, 2009 00

Well, it may not list it as being supported, but it certainly seems to work on Windows 7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.