Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Updates to avast antivirus software

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
AVAST Software a.s. (formerly ALWIL Software a.s.)
And, this specific program:
avast! Home/Professional 4.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
dollypawed Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 13th Sep, 2009 18:41
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 8th Aug, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia keeps telling me that the avast antivirus software is insecure and needs to be updated. I have updated this software to the most current version and I still get a message from Secunia stating that this software is insecure and needs to be updated. How do I fix this problem?

This user no longer exists RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 13th Sep, 2009 20:17
on 13th Sep, 2009 18:41, dollypawed wrote:
Secunia keeps telling me that the avast antivirus software is insecure and needs to be updated. I have updated this software to the most current version and I still get a message from Secunia stating that this software is insecure and needs to be updated. How do I fix this problem?

Does avast! indicate that it is up to date?

Current is File version: 090912-0

Is your system date and time accurate?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dollypawed RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 15th Sep, 2009 05:07
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 8th Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Avast is up to date.
The file version is current.
The date and time of my system are accurate.

I'm still getting the message that the avast software is insecure and needs to be updated.

I'm running XP Pro SP3 and IE7 on my computer.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
poutnikl RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 15th Sep, 2009 08:00
Score: 0
Posts: 54
User Since: 8th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 15th Sep, 2009 05:07, dollypawed wrote:
Avast is up to date.
The file version is current.
The date and time of my system are accurate.

I'm still getting the message that the avast software is insecure and needs to be updated.

I'm running XP Pro SP3 and IE7 on my computer.


My Avast seems OK for PSI (Vista 64 SP2),
there is probably some trouble in your PC.
Maybe stupid question - did you restart PC after avast instalation,
before PSI rechecking ?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 15th Sep, 2009 11:26
Make PSI use ADVANCED mode then go to Insecure Programs then click on + then Open Folder to see the location of the avast! files.

What is that location?

Mine is:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
turbobent RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 2nd Oct, 2009 20:05
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 7th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi.
I have the same problem.
My avast is up to date.
But my version is the free one and not the pro one as Secunia claims.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
turbobent RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 2nd Oct, 2009 20:09
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 7th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi sorry.
I can see that secunia says home / proffesional.
I have just made a scan of my avast files.
Now i get the message : no threat
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dollypawed RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 2nd Oct, 2009 22:20
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 8th Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I finally realized that I had partitioned my hard drive into two drives being C drive and E drive. I have two operating systems which are XP Professional and Windows 7. When I updated both systems with avast, the insecure or outdated messages from secunia went away.

Thanks for your help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BwB RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 3rd Oct, 2009 20:28
Score: -4
Posts: 10
User Since: 24th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Ok mine says this location
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe


Thats the main exe i bleieve and its updated. so wth?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
1706ansgar RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 25th Nov, 2009 09:26
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 13th Sep, 2009 18:41, dollypawed wrote:
Secunia keeps telling me that the avast antivirus software is insecure and needs to be updated. I have updated this software to the most current version and I still get a message from Secunia stating that this software is insecure and needs to be updated. How do I fix this problem?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lassie Lamb Chop RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 28th Nov, 2009 06:49
Score: -5
Posts: 31
User Since: 28th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AM
Last edited on 28th Nov, 2009 06:50
My Avast 4 was secure until 1 hour ago when Secunia said got to be updated.

But Avast says is up to date.

What is the problem with this is it a false positive?


running XPHome SP3.

--
I run XP home SP3 Intel Pentium dual CPU E2160 @1.8hz 1GB RAM
Avast, SAS pro. Spyware Blaster WinPatrolPlus and Online Armour.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mhbmd RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 28th Nov, 2009 14:09
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 26th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
This worked for me: right click on the Avast icon in the system tray, click on Updating, then Program Update. After installation, reboot.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mommiecat RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 28th Nov, 2009 16:03
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 4th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Hampshire, UK
I am having this same problem, which only appeared this morning. I selected Repair, Update and Change when working through the Solution options, none of which sorted the problem. Rebooted each time. I then tried updating via Avast tray icon, chose Update and then Program and then rebooted, and am still getting the unsecured message from Secunia after rescanning. Avast has never failed to update to a level that Secunia finds acceptable. Any more options I can try? Running Windows Vista, Avast Free Edition, and using Secunia in Simple Mode.

--
mommiecat
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lassie Lamb Chop RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 29th Nov, 2009 03:50
Score: -5
Posts: 31
User Since: 28th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AM
Last edited on 29th Nov, 2009 03:52
I ignored it yesterday as had to work. But today on booting up and after Avast had updated - I right clicked onto the Avast icon and then Program settings then to Update basic and did the program and got a new version. Opened Secunia and clicked onto insecure and then Avast to open the lower window and did a rescan of Avast and yippee -

Avast is now secure - so it must have been the program that needed to be updated and usually it tells me when there is a new version so maybe this time it slipped up on telling a few of us!

PPS noted that spell check does not work on this forum and neither does FF remember the password etc which is unusual.



--
I run XP home SP3 Intel Pentium dual CPU E2160 @1.8hz 1GB RAM
Avast, SAS pro. Spyware Blaster WinPatrolPlus and Online Armour.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mommiecat RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 29th Nov, 2009 09:49
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 4th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Hampshire, UK
Thanks, Lassie Lamb Chop. I went through your routine and have just been given the all clear from Secunia! One pc down, two to go...thanks again for your help!

--
mommiecat
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Expert Contributor 29th Nov, 2009 21:53
Score: 2371
Posts: 3,277
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 29th Nov, 2009 21:56
@ Lassie Lamb Chop ,

For spellcheck with Firefox , it needs to be loaded in the the browser and run "manually" to check a page .

For Chrome it is set in Options and runs "automatically".

No idea about IE , but I heard it didn't (some time ago).

Anthony

PS ; Password memory maybe affected by your "privacy" and/or "security" settings in Ff.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lassie Lamb Chop RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 30th Nov, 2009 02:10
Score: -5
Posts: 31
User Since: 28th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AM
@ Anthony Wells - thanks for that.

Firefox works automatically on every other site and has for the many years I have used it. Dont often need it as it knows how to spell these days correctly. English not american spellings.

Stil not working on this site - tested it with a bad spelling and nothing.

Not to worry just have to be more careful.





--
I run XP home SP3 Intel Pentium dual CPU E2160 @1.8hz 1GB RAM
Avast, SAS pro. Spyware Blaster WinPatrolPlus and Online Armour.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
metteve RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 2nd Dec, 2009 17:20
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 15th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
[quote = p13219] @ Anthony Wells - tak for det.

Firefox virker automatisk på alle andre hjemmesider, og har for mange år jeg har brugt det. Dont ofte brug for det, som det veed at stave disse dage korrekt. Engelsk ikke american artikler.

Stil ikke arbejder på dette site - testet det med en dårlig stavning og ingenting.

Ikke at bekymre sig bare nødt til at være mere forsigtige. [/ Quote]
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
metteve RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 2nd Dec, 2009 17:21
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 15th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
[quote = t2741] Secunia holder fortæller mig, at avast antivirusprogram er usikre og skal opdateres. Jeg har opdateret softwaren til den nyeste version, og jeg stadig få en besked fra Secunia om, at denne software er usikre og skal opdateres. Hvordan kan jeg løse dette problem? [/ Quote]
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Expert Contributor 2nd Dec, 2009 18:27
Score: 2371
Posts: 3,277
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello metteve ,

The Forum is English speaking , so if you want a (quick) reply you need to post a question in English ; "quoting" a post , with or without a translation , is going nowhere , fast !! And triggers useless Emails from Secunia to people on this thread !!

Anthony





--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Niels Flemming RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 19th Feb, 2010 13:44
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 19th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Had the same problem. Right click your mouse and click updatend choose "program update". Restart your computer - and there you go - it works!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lassie Lamb Chop RE: Updates to avast antivirus software
Member 20th Feb, 2010 07:30
Score: -5
Posts: 31
User Since: 28th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AM
Last edited on 20th Feb, 2010 07:33
I have just updated to a new program for Avast.

It is 5.0.418 and latest updates are 100219-1 today.

Different skin and the update voice is female and colours are orange ball on task bar etc instead of blue.

Seems to be a very more user friendly format - have used Avast for a few years now but it was never really that user friendly - this new version seems to be.

Still free version. Still gives one confidence that you are protected.

--
I run XP home SP3 Intel Pentium dual CPU E2160 @1.8hz 1GB RAM
Avast, SAS pro. Spyware Blaster WinPatrolPlus and Online Armour.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Factsheets
Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability