Forum Thread: Windows Vista updates

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Elderstin Windows Vista updates
Member 29th Sep, 2009 17:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Microsoft says I am updated. Secunia tells me I need a vista update when there are none. But they don't tell me what I am missing so I have no place to go from here.

mogs RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 29th Sep, 2009 22:51
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are you using Secunia with the Advanced interface ? If so, you should have access to more information than you are providing. Click on the + sign alongside any insecurity shown to expand.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Elderstin RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 29th Sep, 2009 23:56
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
No as I do not consider I fit the advanced category.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 30th Sep, 2009 02:03
You need to use the ADVANCED interface as it opens up more information.
Its not about being an advanced system user.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 30th Sep, 2009 04:23
Score:
Posts: 570
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 30th Sep, 2009 04:25
Not to be a smart ---the first step in the path to learning. I have been ever since belong to this forum. Take a chance they're right.

--
Windows 10 64bit














Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 30th Sep, 2009 09:06
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It is really not as difficult as it may seem to you at present. Lots of people have a few qualms before moving on to Advanced.You can always turn to the forum if you are uncertain of what to do next...however foolish/simple you think it might seem. You can only increase your knowledge.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Elderstin RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 30th Sep, 2009 18:51
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I tried advanced. I get this notifcation: Microsoft XML Core Services (MSXML) 6.x is insecure. PSI's remedy sends me to the Microsoft update page which tells me I have all updates. So I do a search which turns up nothing. Then I Google the MSXML and it tells me it has something to do with SP2. If I go to properties on My Computer it tells me I am running Vista SP2. Using Advanced got me nowhere.

The second problem is Real Player which I have had no problem updating before. This time when I get the screen where I have to accept their license I can never get a box that says "accept" only "cancel" and a greyed out "back." No scroll bars on sides or bottom and I don't know how to handle that.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 30th Sep, 2009 21:15
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 30th Sep, 2009 21:24
on 30th Sep, 2009 18:51, Elderstin wrote:
I tried advanced. I get this notifcation: Microsoft XML Core Services (MSXML) 6.x is insecure. PSI's remedy sends me to the Microsoft update page which tells me I have all updates. So I do a search which turns up nothing. Then I Google the MSXML and it tells me it has something to do with SP2. If I go to properties on My Computer it tells me I am running Vista SP2. Using Advanced got me nowhere.

The second problem is Real Player which I have had no problem updating before. This time when I get the screen where I have to accept their license I can never get a box that says "accept" only "cancel" and a greyed out "back." No scroll bars on sides or bottom and I don't know how to handle that.

When I expand MSXML 6.x in my patched progs I find extra info/known issues concerning:-
Under normal circumstances it is possible to update using MS Update.
However, if after applying updates the files still show up as insecure; take note of the installation path of inspected files.
If the installation path does not begin with:-
"(Drive letter):\WINDOWS\system32"
then it is possible that the detected files are in backup locations...such as....(C:\i386) or were installed by a third party prog. not Microsoft.
If the files are located in backup locations you can use Ignore Directories & Paths so Secunia doesn't look in these locations.
If you suspect that the files were installed by a third party prog. please contact the prog. vendor to get the secure version of these files.
I'm afraid I don't know enough to be able to give any help with your issue concerning Real Player.
Hope this info is helpful.


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows Vista updates
Handling Contributor 30th Sep, 2009 23:27
Score: 12056
Posts: 9,317
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Have U tried this link?

http://www.filehippo.com/download_realplayer/chang...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 1st Oct, 2009 15:19
Score:
Posts: 570
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 1st Oct, 2009 15:24


--
Windows 10 64bit














Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Elderstin RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 1st Oct, 2009 17:20
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I do show file extensions and hidden files. When I do a search on the path I am told there is no such file. Secunia is also telling me I do not have Vista SP@ installed but I do. Microsoft tells me I have everuythin. I ran my Belarc Advisor and it tells me windows is updated and that I am running Vista SP2.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Vista updates
Member 1st Oct, 2009 18:06
Score:
Posts: 570
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 1st Oct, 2009 18:14
Try filehippo@link provided by Maurice. It will check and make sure all 3rd party installs are up to date. When I was having problems with this I found out it was a install called Ad-Aware once it finally updated the problem was over. Otherwise, it sounds like you need to utilize your ignore rule.

--
Windows 10 64bit














Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.