Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
CSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
J.Balle Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 1st Oct, 2009 12:45
Ranking: 10
Posts: 31
User Since: 25th Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

Secunia would like to invite you to try out the new version of the Secunia Corporate Software Inspector (CSI) by participating in the Secunia CSI 3.0 Public Beta test.

The Secunia CSI is the corporate solution for businesses that want an internal vulnerability scanner with an unprecedented level of accuracy and program coverage. This makes the identification of unpatched and vulnerable programs faster and more reliable than ever before.

The Public Beta will run for 4 weeks, starting on October 1st and ending October 29th. You can download and register for the beta during the first 3 weeks. The last week will only be accessible if you have already signed up. During the beta period, you will receive a License Key which will give you access to 3 Host Licenses until the 29th October.

Download the Secunia CSI 3.0 Public Beta:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/corporat...

We are looking forward to receive your feedback.

Stay Secure!

ComputerJy RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 15:07
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 18th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Can't wait to try it. I love this application.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Earthfree RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 16:20
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 3rd Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have downloaded the prog BUT it wont let me type in my information so I can register it? want accept name-email-tel number so unable to use program HELP !!!!!

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 5th Oct, 2009 16:29
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

Please send a print screen of the problem to cscbeta@secunia.com.
Thank you.

Rickard
CSC

--
Rickard
Secunia Support
Earthfree RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 17:03
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 3rd Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have rebooted my system and now I am able to input the data into the first 4 fields.so it's ok now thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Roving_Geek RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 18:40
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have PSI 2.0 installed on the computers in my network. Do I need to remove PSI 2.0 before I install the CSI Agent on the host computers?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
aqk RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 20:25
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 2nd Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 5th Oct, 2009 20:28
see this question elsewhere- "corporate and home users"
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
csvac RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 21:35
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 18th Dec 2007
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Upon downloading the CSI - Public Beta.exe, I cannot install it. I get an error message saying it is an incomplete file. Anyone else having trouble getting it to install? (I tried it on 2 seperate computers and I do have admin. rights.)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Roving_Geek RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 21:39
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Try clearing your browser cache, then delete any copy of the Beta CSI that you already downloaded. Then, try re-downloading the Beta CWI executable file.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
csvac RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 21:47
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 18th Dec 2007
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Thanks! That seems to have done the trick. I now have the option to proceed with the install.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
tekmicBeta RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 5th Oct, 2009 22:28
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Windows Home Server will be reconed as Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition.

Best regards,
Michael Christensen
www.mathx.dk
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 6th Oct, 2009 08:16
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
on 5th Oct, 2009 18:40, Roving_Geek wrote:
I have PSI 2.0 installed on the computers in my network. Do I need to remove PSI 2.0 before I install the CSI Agent on the host computers?


Hi

You don't need to uninstall your PSI version because the CSI and PSI works separately and there will not be a conflict in having the two softwares (or the agent) on the same machine.

Rickard
Secunia Support

--
Rickard
Secunia Support
Roving_Geek RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 6th Oct, 2009 17:49
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
renman RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 6th Oct, 2009 19:48
Score: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 6th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 7th Oct, 2009 02:28
I'm not a corporate user. I downloaded CSI beta thinking it was a PSI beta.

But it solved a problem that PSI couldn't. See
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/137...

However, if I were a corporate user, I would balk at the interface. It's not clear, it's not intuitive, it's not user friendly, it's not pleasant to look at, and the font is so small. It almost seems as if this was deliberately designed for geeks only and to discourage non-IT professionals.

Take a lesson from the US auto industry: even if you get the bits and pieces to work right and be reliable, it also has to be ergonomic and packaged in a decent wrapper. Who wants ugly? CSI is the Pontiac Aztek of software. See
http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000321.h...

Make a good product also nice to look at and easy to use. That is not to say that it has to be sexed up and garish.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eSKzHvZreJxktYLUd4jN1oy... RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 8th Oct, 2009 10:00
Score: -1
Posts: 82
User Since: 7th Dec 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 6th Oct, 2009 19:48, renman wrote:

It almost seems as if this was deliberately designed for geeks only and to discourage non-IT professionals.


The interface of the CSI may be unclear to you and me because we are not IT-professionals. After all, the CSI is for corporate use.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
daanota RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 8th Oct, 2009 12:12
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 8th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Interface

The features are the same with the personal edition but the interface is horrible. Maybe am still not used to its interface, but side-menu is still not a good idea.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bmlawr RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 9th Oct, 2009 05:05
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Waldo, US
Last edited on 9th Oct, 2009 05:10
Good Day,

Not really an IT professional but received
an email to test this beta version. I found
it as easy to use as the PSI version that I
have been using. Results are here below:

I am using Windows XP Home Edition.
My system has two internal hard drives:
Master = 160Gb
Slave = 80Gb
One external drive = 320Gb

I previous was using Secunia PSI 1.5.0.1,
which did not uninstall as it said it would,
when I installed Secunia CSI Beta.

I have registered and done my first scan.

Patched Items = 53

Insecure Items = 4

I selected Patches/Download Patches
located on left side of Secunia CSI Beta.

When you click on the SA ID for
each problem, it gives you a very
complete detail list (Advisory).


(1) Adobe Flash Player 9.x 1 1
and than ran:
Adobe Flash Player 9.x
(ActiveX Control)
1 host SA35948
Highly Critical
Export

This opened IE to the Adobe flash
download and ran the install for
the latest Flash program.
http://www.adobe.com/go/getflash/

Installing Adobe® Flash® Player ActiveX 10.0.32.18
did not fix this problem it still comes up in InSecure.


(1) Apple Bonjour for Windows 1.x 1 1
Next, I ran the direcct download:
Apple Bonjour for Windows 1.x
Direct Download
1 host
SA31822
Less critical
Export

This started the direct download in IE,
selected run and install. Had to close
browser and Secunia CSI Beta to
complete the install.

Secunia CSI Beta fixed problem.

(2) Sun Java JRE 1.6.x / 6.x

Secunia CSI Beta fixed problem.


Brian Lawrence
bmlawr
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 9th Oct, 2009 08:55
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

Please make sure you have updated the flash for the correct web browser.
You can do so by selecting the Flash vulnerability in the CSI and see where it's located on the host. It should give you an idea if it's affecting another browser.

Thank you.
Rickard
Secunia Support

--
Rickard
Secunia Support
Anthony Wells RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Expert Contributor 9th Oct, 2009 16:28
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Brian Lawrence ,

Updating Adobe Flash ActiveX is a problem if you do not close & exit all browsers , PSI (you need to exit with the tray icon) , presumably the same with CSI & any other programme which may be using flash (messenger software , etc .)

Full instructions are given in Maurice Joyce's post in this thread :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/278...

Hope this is of help.

Take care Anthony.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pengwyn RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 10th Oct, 2009 11:21
Score: 5
Posts: 24
User Since: 6th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Sacramento, N/A
I am a one of the grateful and thankful users of Secunia PSI.

I downloaded and tested CSI mostly cause I was curious if there were anything being scanned deeper beyond the PSI. Silly me.

The CSI tool absolutely rocks, I love how you can scan multiple machines, for a bunch of workstations that can be immensely helpful.

I too, am going to have to say, something about the interface... Maybe because I don't have 400 boxes with an old snagit 7 in there to make the column's light up with a "end of life red flag", but anyway.

Perhaps this is a failure on my part to have enough dirty boxes to make CSI glow for the test? ;o)

It's a functional interface, and indeed you do need to know what your doing, but really anyone that can track down files on a system and knows the ip's of their network, has patience, and can search is going to have no problem.

I cross paths with folks I contract with on network installs, so I will definitely promote Secunia to everyone. I already do on the web. anyway.. I'm not just sucking up here, I think CSI is the best patching/scanning program there is out there on planet Earth. At least as far as I have seen. It follows my old school logic of paying attention to what is physically in the files (ala ztree / midnight commander.) Which I think is why I naturally was always drawn to Secunia from the first time I learned of them. I've used some scanners which just didn't instill confidence in me (pop up errors and all kind of nonsense.)

One example of having a zillion freaking flash dll's floating in directories and each not touched by adobe's update. (e.g. exploitable) Brings a smile to me when I am able to clear it up with CSI, ztree and a few minutes of logical thinking. Finding the files in the first place is half the battle. With known locations you can script a solution, But if you can't even find the files...argh..

If I had to really suggest anything about CSI is to try not to tie it to ie8's backend, cause i've seen systems where ie8 was forcefully removed (there were reasons for it) and couldn't ever be put back properly cause the files were messed with (manually overwritten) in a desperate attempt at trying to force an ie7 install. And CSI wouldn't start anymore in this unstable state. (neither would ie8, ie7 work properly or anything that uses the ie backend, many programs broken) Anyway, that's my only suggestion, don't tie it to internet explorer. If there's a way to cut if free from internet explorer I think that would be a good idea. It may not be possible and so be it. but at least I told you how I feel about it..and why ;o)

I think in the overall big picture the CSI 3 Beta is a success, it installed and uninstalled cleanly, (mine was side by side with PSI) it printed a PDF, which could be a big benefit to some, how it cleanly does it all, and spits down the result.

My total test time about two days only. I cut it short cause I do got to get some work done this month.



Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bmlawr RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 12th Oct, 2009 01:49
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Waldo, US
Hello,

I have updated all the flash items that were
available that the link brought me to.

Flash for IE, other that IE, my CS3 flash and a
couple that were not even anything that I had.

You cannot install these without first closing
your browser or anything that is running
using flash. It gives you a list of what to close
first.

After installing it shows that it completed successfully
if you click to open the details and view it.

I went through the list and updated anything
that was associated to Windows. Skipped only
the ones that were for MAC.


Brian
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bmlawr RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 12th Oct, 2009 01:50
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Waldo, US
Hello,

You cannot install these without first closing
your browser or anything that is running
using flash. It gives you a list of what to
close first.

After installing it shows that it completed successfully
if you click to open the details and view it.


Brian
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MaritimeRider RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 12th Oct, 2009 23:19
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Just wondering> this is beta. If and when itcomes out of beta, would in fact then be the corporate version which is user pay.Need clarification on this point.
Thks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MaritimeRider RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 12th Oct, 2009 23:24
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
Last edited on 12th Oct, 2009 23:25
Edited the above to delete reply but was unsuccessful.
Please ignore
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Vater is Life? RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 13th Oct, 2009 15:48
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 16th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank You,for Inviting me to try out the new
"Secunia CSI 3.0-Public Beta",But I dont think
I can handle more than my Currentversion (PSI)
Thank you again for letting me use PSI!
Best of Regards.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 15th Oct, 2009 17:28
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm beta-testing CSI, and I'm a bit surprised because it gives results (slightly) different from PSI: For PSI, all is OK, but for CSI, there is "ImageMagik 6.3.0.0" that's "moderately critical".

In fact, I think it's a false alarm, because it refers to PixVue.Com\PixVue\bin\CORE_RL_magick_.dll which doesn't seem to have much relation to ImageMagik...
I've screen dumps if you want.

Regards,
Malbec

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 15th Oct, 2009 17:36
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Oct, 2009 10:45
Hi,
I'm beta testing CSI and I do appreciate it. But, even after reading the manual, I couldn't find what the "export" link is used for: It appears at the end of each line in the "download patches" panel, and links to a text file containing the name of the concerned machines and the path of the SW in each of them.

I think it's designed to help updating concerned machines, but I couldn't understand how. And it's a pity, because some automatisation would be really welcome in the updating process!

Best regards.

Malbec
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 16th Oct, 2009 10:02
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

That specific dll file is actually a part of ImageMagick main .
Why it's not in the ImageMagic folder I really don't know.

But I advice you to upgrade to the latest ImageMagick version:
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/binary-releases....

We have added detection for that just as we speak.

Thank you.
Rickard
Secunia Beta Support



--
Rickard
Secunia Support
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 16th Oct, 2009 10:08
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
on 15th Oct, 2009 17:36, malbec wrote:
Hi,
I'm beta testing CSI and I do appreciate it. But, even after reading the manual, I couldn't find what the "export" link is used for: It appears at the end of each line in the "download patches" panel, and links to a text file containing the name of the concerned machines and the path of the SW in each of them.

I think it's designed to help updating concerned machines, but I couldn't understand how. And it's a pity, because some automatisation would be really welcome in the updating process!

Best regards.

J-M J


Hi

The export file consists of practically all the info you need to pinpoint what hosts that should be updated and the link to the update. The filed is designed to automate the patching when working with a comprehensive deployment solution. Then you can customize what type of information you what to extract from the export file into you deployment tool.

This require some adaption of the export file since there are no standards out there and almost every deployment tools has it's own way of doing things.

Hope my answer helped.

Rickard
Secunia Beta Support

--
Rickard
Secunia Support
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 16th Oct, 2009 10:18
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Oct, 2009 10:46
on 16th Oct, 2009 10:02, rjohansson wrote:
Hi

That specific dll file is actually a part of ImageMagick main .
Why it's not in the ImageMagic folder I really don't know.


I do! It's because I don't use ImageMagick, but PixVue, which is a quite different application! So, downloading ImageMagick wouldn't help much...

Best regards.

Malbec
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 16th Oct, 2009 10:42
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Oct, 2009 11:12
on 16th Oct, 2009 10:08, rjohansson wrote:
[...]The filed is designed to automate the patching when working with a comprehensive deployment solution.


Yes. That's clear. But I think it would be handy to be able to download a unique file gathering all the contents of the "export" buttons, instead of having to click each one in turn.

As you said, postprocessing must be done, and while we are at it, I'd prefer to process all the machines together, and making necessary sorting or extracting at this moment.

Best regards.

Malbec
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 16th Oct, 2009 10:45
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
on 16th Oct, 2009 10:18, malbec wrote:
I do! It's because I don't use ImageMagick, but PixVue, which is a quite different application! So, downloading ImageMagick wouldn't help much...

Best regards.

J-M J


Hi

Then PixVue is using some of ImageMagick design and files since this file is a part of ImageMagicks application. Because if you right click that dll file and select properties it clearly states under Version that it's from ImageMagick.

We are currently looking into this matter so we detect it correctly on you system an PixVue and not ImageMagick.

Rickard
Secunia Beta Support



--
Rickard
Secunia Support
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 16th Oct, 2009 10:59
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Oct, 2009 11:01
on 16th Oct, 2009 10:45, rjohansson wrote:

Then PixVue is using some of ImageMagick design and files since this file is a part of ImageMagicks application. Because if you right click that dll file and select properties it clearly states under Version that it's from ImageMagick.


Yes. That's right!

on 16th Oct, 2009 10:45, rjohansson wrote:

We are currently looking into this matter so we detect it correctly on you system an PixVue and not ImageMagick.


OK, fine!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 16th Oct, 2009 11:09
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi,
I'm beta testing CSI and I do appreciate it. But I have a little problem with reports: After having chosen all the options, the "generate" button is no more greyed. I click on it and... nothing happens!
I see the csi process becoming busy: It might produce a report, but I don't know where it goes :-)

The problem is the same for all types of reports.

Regards

Malbec
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rjohansson RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Secunia Official 16th Oct, 2009 11:12
Score: 15
Posts: 61
User Since: 5th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
on 16th Oct, 2009 11:09, malbec wrote:
Hi,
I'm beta testing CSI and I do appreciate it. But I have a little problem with reports: After having chosen all the options, the "generate" button is no more greyed. I click on it and... nothing happens!
I see the csi process becoming busy: It might produce a report, but I don't know where it goes :-)

The problem is the same for all types of reports.

Regards

Malbec


Hi

It may take some time to generate the report. We are looking into speeding things up. Could you please try one more time and wait a couple of minutes just to be sure it's working?

If everything is working you will be prompted to download a PDF document with the requested information.

Thank you

Rickard
Secunia Beta Support

--
Rickard
Secunia Support
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 16th Oct, 2009 11:30
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 16th Oct, 2009 11:12, rjohansson wrote:
[...]Could you please try one more time and wait a couple of minutes just to be sure it's working?

If everything is working you will be prompted to download a PDF document with the requested information.


No. Nothing happens. No prompt after 5 minutes!

Anyway, if it's lengthy, it'd be great to have some visual feedback of what's going on or, at least, a "wait" message, just to show something is happening... (or should happen :-)

Malbec
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
malbec RE: Secunia CSI 3.0 - Public Beta
Member 19th Oct, 2009 11:49
Score: 5
Posts: 12
User Since: 12th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Still no report available... Did I miss something ?

Malbec
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability