Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
gsmart Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Member 10th Oct, 2009 12:23
Ranking: 7
Posts: 59
User Since: 30th May, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Because of this problem I uninstalled then downloaded the latest Secunia PSI ( I hope)

Then I ran the scan again same thing happened this time it told me the scan was completed.

My question is what is going on and how can it be complete when it has 7% to go.

I just completed the test after about 15+min this is way to slow again what is going on.

please help

Maurice Joyce RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Handling Contributor 10th Oct, 2009 12:49
Score: 11558
Posts: 8,882
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
This may help:


Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have configured the security settings of your Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.
To do this:
a. Open Internet Explorer.
b. Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
c. Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
d. In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
e. Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
f. Press OK then Yes.
g. Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
h. Look at the bottom of the page and take the tick from the box marked"Require server verification(HTTPS)for all site zones" then type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Zone Sites list:
http://*.secunia.com/
https://*.secunia.com/
i. Press Close
j. Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results

If using a browser other than IE the settings can be accessed by clicking Start-Control Panel-Internet Options-then follow C. to J.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Agapanthus RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Member 10th Oct, 2009 17:43
Score: 0
Posts: 11
User Since: 11th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I've just had the same problem. I've been using PSI for a year now and this problem has never occured before, which makes me think that either the method of accessing the server has changed (seems unlikely since the version number has not changed), or the servers are down. Could the latter be the case? (If so, shouldn't PSI stop much earlier?)

I thought of ping-ing the server, but don't know what what URL to use (ping secunia.com gives me a timeout).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Handling Contributor 10th Oct, 2009 18:09
Score: 11558
Posts: 8,882
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 10th Oct, 2009 22:32
Just ran a scan at 1715 hours BST - I got a result but I think U are correct. The server was sluggish & is not its "normal self".


Ran another scan at 2130 hours BST. Confirmed as "hanging" at 93% but I got a result after approx 1 minute waiting time.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Contributor 10th Oct, 2009 19:16
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 11th Oct, 2009 03:03
Hi Maurice, must be a server problem-I couldn't connect from desktop by clicking the Secunia icon-was getting 'verifying connectivity' barber pole endlessly. Had to connect to Forum by using Secunia home page. Hope they get it fixed soon.
Hope you have a enjoyable weekend.

Regards, wr

EDIT: Maybe Secunia has server 'problem' repaired now. Was able to join Forum @ 21:00 EDST.

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
LMP67 RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Member 10th Oct, 2009 21:58
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 2nd Oct 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: DE
Last edited on 10th Oct, 2009 22:59
I have the same problem!
By clicking Secunia on my desktop happens nothing for a while. After about 2 minutes Secunia begins to scan. After the scan I get the result and click on it. Also then, does nothing for a while. At some point I get showed the collection to be displayed clearly at the wrong version information.

Already fixed updates will still displayed in the old versions.
Also the date of the "last & next scan" is wrong. I've scanned 4 times today but it shows me 8.Oct.2009

What's happens?

--
Sorry for my bad english!
I'm still learning.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
-Mal- RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Member 10th Oct, 2009 22:44
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 10th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yeah, same issue here - although I'm suffering it worse.

My weekly scan is set for early Saturday morning, and without it connecting to the server it won't update it's "last scan" field. So it keeps thinking that a new scan is due - and runs it.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gsmart RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Member 11th Oct, 2009 07:59
Score: 7
Posts: 59
User Since: 30th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
It looks like I am not alone with this one has Secunia done a patch for the problem yet? If not when will it be ready?

gsmart
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Expert Contributor 11th Oct, 2009 19:08
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 11th Oct, 2009 19:21
PSI scan ran OK just now , but shows time as 2 hours behind CET (my time) :IE: GMT.

CSI ran OK yesterday , but at the moment is saying "Good Morning" to me :))

Hah !! The "overview" module tells me the scan ran two hours ago - I know who I believe .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gsmart RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Member 12th Oct, 2009 09:39
Score: 7
Posts: 59
User Since: 30th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
For some reason mine is working properly now

Gsmart
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Scan will not go past 93% PLEASE HELP
Contributor 12th Oct, 2009 19:14
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Same here-my default weekly scan ran as usual with correct time of scan & new schedule of 1 week from now.

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability