Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: How do I schedule scans?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
braxx20 How do I schedule scans?
Member 16th Oct, 2009 19:55
Ranking: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 25th May, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
It seem that Secunia automatically scans once a week. I would prefer to run scans on my own schedule. I cannot find any options to do so.

mogs RE: How do I schedule scans?
Expert Contributor 16th Oct, 2009 22:43
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
on 16th Oct, 2009 19:55, braxx20 wrote:
It seem that Secunia automatically scans once a week. I would prefer to run scans on my own schedule. I cannot find any options to do so.

If you run the scan on the day of the week you wish: Secunia will automatically repeat every seven days. Any more than that has to be done manually.....as much as I'm aware. That seems perfectly adequate to me.
A free program......praise where it's due....it's flippin' marvellous !!!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
braxx20 RE: How do I schedule scans?
Member 17th Oct, 2009 17:27
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 25th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks. so I cannot eliminate the weekly scan and do it only when I wish??
The reason is that when the scan is on, my computer's resources are consumed and I can't use it. That would be OK IF I KNEW THE SCAN WAS HAPPENING but there is no notification of such.
There are several other periodic scans from Microsoft, Ad- aware, Antivirus, etc etc,that can occur periodically so I have to patiently wait until the scans conclude (I don't leave the computer on all the time)

It would be much nicer if I could schedule the scans to happen when I wish.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: How do I schedule scans?
Contributor 17th Oct, 2009 20:53
Score: 308
Posts: 735
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Actually there is a way to know when the next scheduled scan will be performed.
On the Overview page open the Scan option & on the right side of that page the last & next scheduled scan will be displayed. By default the scheduled scans are 7 days plus the hours away from Secunias servers-in my case-I live in eastern USA-so my scans takes place 7 days plus 6 hours.
If you want to change your scan time just run a full system scan so that the next scheduled scan takes place when it's convenient for you.

Hope this helps.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
braxx20 RE: How do I schedule scans?
Member 19th Oct, 2009 18:34
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 25th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks. I wish a window would open when the scan starts so that I know the reason my computer has slowed down.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability