Forum Thread: Firefox 3.5.4

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
This user no longer exists Firefox 3.5.4
Member 28th Oct, 2009 15:55
Ranking: 9
Posts: 45
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
After installing Firefox 3.5.4, I no longer have Firefox listed as 'insecure'.

Anyone using previous versions of Firefox should probably update to version 3.5.4.

Pegleg41 RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 28th Oct, 2009 16:37
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 17th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have installed 3.5.4 and still get an unsecure listing even after several re-scans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 28th Oct, 2009 17:53
Possibly an insecure plug-in?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Expert Contributor 28th Oct, 2009 18:51
Score: 2471
Posts: 3,361
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A


Firefox v3.5.3 was in the "patched" tab and showed in the "secure browsing" tab as no solution to the security threat.

V3.5.4 hes fixed the "secure browsing" problem and shows in the "patched" tab .

If anything Firefox is showing in the "insecure" tab , then which version & what is the installation path ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
detz25 RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 29th Oct, 2009 09:01
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 22nd Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 28th Oct, 2009 15:55, wrote:
After installing Firefox 3.5.4, I no longer have Firefox listed as 'insecure'.

Anyone using previous versions of Firefox should probably update to version 3.5.4.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
detz25 RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 29th Oct, 2009 09:03
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 22nd Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 28th Oct, 2009 15:55, wrote:
After installing Firefox 3.5.4, I no longer have Firefox listed as 'insecure'.

Anyone using previous versions of Firefox should probably update to version 3.5.4.


How do you close Firefox so that you can download the latest update?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Expert Contributor 29th Oct, 2009 11:02
Score: 2471
Posts: 3,361
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Detz ,

You can update easily from within "open" Firefox by going to the "Help" tab at the top (left) of your open Firefox page ; click on it & in the drop down menu click on "check for updates" and a window will tell you if there is an update or not ; if there is one you can agree to download it there and then and it will do so and then offer/tell you to restart.

This method also checks/confirms your original settings , add-ons, etc.

If there is no update just close the window.

Hope this answers your query .

Take care
Anthony

PS:clicking on the X (white on red) top right of the page normally "closes" Firefox , you can check if it has done so using "Task Manager".

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
detz252 RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 29th Oct, 2009 12:48
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 29th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 29th Oct, 2009 20:18
Anthony,

Thank you for the information. It works exactly as you stated.

Alan
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pahlrs RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 29th Oct, 2009 15:22
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 29th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Installed 3.5.4 'three times' and still its listed as insecure. Anyone know why?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Expert Contributor 29th Oct, 2009 21:01
Score: 2471
Posts: 3,361
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

@pahlrs


If you arenew to PSI , here are some tips for using PSI "advanced" mode :-

To help resolve your problem , here are some instructions to help you first of all get the best out of PSI :-

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

If you are unable to resolve the problem yourself , all this info should allow someone on the forum to help/advise you .

Take care
Anthony


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Andrzej1952 RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 9th Nov, 2009 16:06
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 21st Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 29th Oct, 2009 21:01, Anthony Wells wrote:
@pahlrs


If you arenew to PSI , here are some tips for using PSI "advanced" mode :-

To help resolve your problem , here are some instructions to help you first of all get the best out of PSI :-

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

If you are unable to resolve the problem yourself , all this info should allow someone on the forum to help/advise you .

Take care
Anthony

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jwaka RE: Firefox 3.5.4
Member 11th Nov, 2009 03:49
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 11th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Not sure, as I didn't have the same issue. But you might want to try updating to 3.5.5 anyway, as Mozilla deployed that update shortly after the 3.5.4 update to fix some critical stability issues.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.