Forum Thread: installing secunia

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
patch49 installing secunia
Member 11th Nov, 2009 23:47
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 11th Nov, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
i cannot install secunia on my pc i get this popup box saying unable to retrieve psi user id from secunia please verify that you are connected to the internet and able to connect to psi.secunia.com which i can any suggestions thank you..... i have windows vista premium 32 bit

MaritimeRider RE: installing secunia
Member 12th Nov, 2009 00:30
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: CA
There are two different sign in sites; one is for sales and the other for the forum. Check to see if that is your problem. It is easy to mistake. After signing in, check the box so that you don't have to sign in each time you access the site.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: installing secunia
Contributor 12th Nov, 2009 02:14
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Download & install the PSI from this link: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
patch49 RE: installing secunia
Member 12th Nov, 2009 04:22
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 11th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
thanks for your reply tried everything but still no luck
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: installing secunia
Contributor 12th Nov, 2009 04:46
Score: 308
Posts: 739
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
1.Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have not configured
the security settings of Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive
your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.
To do this:
a. Open Internet Explorer.
b. Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
c. Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
d. In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
e. Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
f. Press OK then Yes.
g. Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
h. Look at the bottom of the page and take the tick from the box marked"Require server verification(HTTPS)for all site zones" then type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Zone Sites list:
http://*.secunia.com
https://*.secunia.com
i. Press Close
j. Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results
If using a browser other than IE open Control Panel>Internet Options then follow c. thru

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 31.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.