Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Security Threat

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
ckrb22 Security Threat
Member 13th Nov, 2009 11:05
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Nov, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have Vista and & Opera 10 and Secunia keeps telling me that Opera 10 needs to be updated. But I have latest version.

Any suggestions?

Maurice Joyce RE: Security Threat
Handling Contributor 13th Nov, 2009 11:47
Score: 11711
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Looks like U have a copy of an older version somewhere.

For best results I would advise that U install PSI & set it up in the Advanced Mode. It is easy to use & checks many more programmes than OSI.

To really help with this problem we need to know the installation path.

FINDING A VULNERABILITY FILE PATH
=================================

To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, use or switch to the ADVANCED interface, then :

1 Click on the + sign of the programme to "expand' it.
2 Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file. (Copy (CTRL+C) & paste (CTRL+V) the Installation Path of the file back to the Forum if U are unsure what to do next)).



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ckrb22 RE: Security Threat
Member 14th Nov, 2009 08:55
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I uninstalled Secunia and re-installed the latest version Still the same problem. Any other ideas would be welcome.

Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Security Threat
Handling Contributor 14th Nov, 2009 09:57
Score: 11711
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I think U have misread my post. Secunia PSI is not the problem.

U have an old copy of Opera or files from Opera installed that are vulnerable.

if U follow my previous post it will show U where they are.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ckrb22 RE: Security Threat
Member 15th Nov, 2009 07:53
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I downloaded the latest version of Opera from their website.
So that is not the problem.

What about WindowBlinds I was using that and now I cannot use Windows Update - so I unloaded that and now the Windows update works fine.

I have not done a Secunia scan since.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Security Threat
Handling Contributor 15th Nov, 2009 11:33
Score: 11711
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Until I know the path of the vulnerability I cannot help. Having the latest version of Opera means nothing really.

U may have an old copy of Opera or old files from a previous version which requires deletion.

Until U tell us where it is we cannot advise.

All U have to do to give this information is:

FINDING A VULNERABILITY FILE PATH
=================================

To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, use or switch to the ADVANCED interface, then :

1 Click on the + sign of the programme to "expand' it.
2 Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file. (Copy (CTRL+C) & paste (CTRL+V) the Installation Path of the file back to the Forum if U are unsure what to do next)).



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ckrb22 RE: Security Threat
Member 16th Nov, 2009 06:22
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I did as you suggested and also looked at my installed programs. There were 2 Operas 10 & 10.1. So un-installed 10 and problems solved.

Thank you for your help
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability