Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Adobe Updates Not Recognized

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Schochet Adobe Updates Not Recognized
Member 27th Nov, 2009 20:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 19th Jan, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have updated my Adobe Acrobat Professional 7..0.x to 7.1.4, but Secunia still insists that I am running 7.1.1.693 as well as 7.0.8.218, both of which are located in the same folder according to Secunia. When I go the the folder and click on Acrobat.exe, 7.1.4 comes up. This continues after a rescan. I am running the most recent version of Secunia Personal.

Suggestions would be most appreciated.

Gordon Schochet

Anthony Wells RE: Adobe Updates Not Recognized
Expert Contributor 27th Nov, 2009 22:18
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

This thread , after a while , is about your , or a very similar , problem ; it was resolved :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/298...

If it does not help/explain , then post there or back here .

Hope it helps
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Schochet RE: Adobe Updates Not Recognized
Member 28th Nov, 2009 17:03
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 19th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 28th Nov, 2009 17:04
Thanks for your response and for the links to other threads, where I certainly recognized "my" problem, but nothing suggested there worked, other than the implicit "not to worry" recommendation. Of course, I can make the problem go away by switching to the "Simple" mode.

And I am having comparable problems with Shockwave.

Sigh!

Gordon
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Adobe Updates Not Recognized
Expert Contributor 28th Nov, 2009 17:42
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 28th Nov, 2009 17:42
Hello Gordon ,
As a long time user you need to be up to speed with "advanced" mode .

here are some tips on using it :-


To help resolve your problem , here are some instructions to help you first of all get the best out of PSI :-

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

Posting these details will help the Forum help you , if/when you have a problem .

You should not "ignore" warnings from PSI until you know whether there is a danger ; depends on the file and it's location .

Please post the details for both Adobe Acrobat and Shockwave .


Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: Adobe Updates Not Recognized
Contributor 29th Nov, 2009 03:47
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi Gordon;

I'm suprised that Adobe's housekeeping is not better for their paid version. With no more detail than that given, I would say you simply have left over bits & pieces of the old version in your program folder.

The answer for those with the free version is to use the uninstaller on the Adobe web site and reinstall the new version. This may not be the appropriate solution for your problem. Anthony is correct to say that the advanced mode is much preferrd. I would think it best to create an ignore rule rather than to run in simple mode.

Please post with more information as Anthony requests. When in the program folder in question it's important to note the date created to find old stuff. If it's older than the correct .exe file, it's too old (almost always). Be careful manually editing files. Keep paper notes so as to remember what you've done. Don't delete files or even send to Recycle Bin. Change the file extension. Right click on the file in question. Select the rename option. Carefully edit the last three characters (after the .). As in this example:

something_file.dll

would be changed to,

something_file.old

The .old extention would be a clue because no files end .old


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability