Forum Thread: how do I get back to being secure

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
AVAST Software a.s. (formerly ALWIL Software a.s.)
And, this specific program:
avast! Home/Professional 4.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Gerry Bernoski how do I get back to being secure
Member 29th Nov, 2009 02:59
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 19th Dec, 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I would like to get things back to being secure and fully patched . get bar graph to all green bars again . my friend rick who helped me with all security is in hospital and cant help.I am only a green horn on p.c. could use all the help I can get ,thank you Gerry

Gerry Bernoski RE: how do I get back to being secure
Member 29th Nov, 2009 03:00
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 29th Nov, 2009 02:59, Gerry Bernoski wrote:
I would like to get things back to being secure and fully patched . get bar graph to all green bars again . my friend rick who helped me with all security is in hospital and cant help.I am only a green horn on p.c. could use all the help I can get ,thank you Gerry

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: how do I get back to being secure
Contributor 29th Nov, 2009 03:20
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi Gerry Bernoski;

Is Avast the only program showing as insecure? You can check this by opening PSI and clicking on the insecure programs tab at the top.

If running PSI in advanced mode (top right corner; Simple is blue, Advanced is black, if not, click on Advanced, they will change color), in the insecure programs list find Avast & click on the [+] to the left. This opens the tool box for that program. Try the suggested update icon to fix your problem. If that dosn't work, in the tool box, click on the file path icon and post the path here. Also any information you have on why the update didn't work.


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
undelay RE: how do I get back to being secure
Member 29th Nov, 2009 05:01
Score: 0
Posts: 25
User Since: 26th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
In your system tray, next to the clock, you have icons for various programs. There should be two round blue icons there, and one of them has a lowercase letter 'a' within the blue circle. If you do not see all of your icons, click the chevron next to the icons that do appear and all of your icons will become visible.

With the right mouse button, click that specific icon (round blue icon with the letter 'a'), then move your mouse to the word 'Updating', then move your mouse to the words "Program Update" on the menu that slides out. This will download an update for the program to solve the vulnerability in the ashweb service for Avast.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
undelay RE: how do I get back to being secure
Member 29th Nov, 2009 05:02
Score: 0
Posts: 25
User Since: 26th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Also, make sure you restart your computer after the update is finished.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.