navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
rgsmile09 PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 20th Dec, 2009 16:08
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 4th Jun, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have Vista Home Premium and when I bootup psi does not start. I have to start it from the start\programs.

I noticed in the advanced settings that the start-up box is checked.

I added secunia to the trusted sites as I had seen this in another post here.

I'm showing 100% in simple mode and have 2 insecure in advanced. Scans run OK.

Please advise as to a fix.

Thanking you in advance for any help.

mogs RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Expert Contributor 20th Dec, 2009 19:38
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 20th Dec, 2009 19:39
on 20th Dec, 2009 16:08, rgsmile09 wrote:
I have Vista Home Premium and when I bootup psi does not start. I have to start it from the start\programs.

I noticed in the advanced settings that the start-up box is checked.

I added secunia to the trusted sites as I had seen this in another post here.

I'm showing 100% in simple mode and have 2 insecure in advanced. Scans run OK.

Please advise as to a fix.

Thanking you in advance for any help.

Have you checked that Secunia is enabled in Defender Start-up progs? Control Panel (Classic Veiw)/Defender/Software Explorer/Tools.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rgsmile09 RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 20th Dec, 2009 21:11
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 4th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks for the reply.

It is not even listed in either Defender (which was not on, but I turned it on. It is also not in the startup of WinPatrol.

I do not see an option in either app, so that it can be added to them.

Will await further aid.

Thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 20th Dec, 2009 21:56
Create a shortcut to psi.exe on the Desktop by right clicking on it then select Send to Desktop.

Then put the shortcut in the "C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windo ws\Start Menu\Programs\Startup" directory, where username is your user logon.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rgsmile09 RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 21st Dec, 2009 16:33
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 4th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 21st Dec, 2009 16:37
Thanks for the response, but didn't notice it until I entered this info.

I entered psi as a startup item in winpatrol and now get a popup when I boot-up, stating that windows blocked a startup ite, It was Secunia. I just have to click it to allow. I can live with that. Windows Defenderis onthe taskbar startup area, but has a blot on the icon stating it needs to be turned on. It is checked as a startup item in its options, and is also listed as a startuyp in winpatrol.

But being a microsoft product I don't always expect them to work right.
Good ole greed.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 21st Dec, 2009 18:46
on 21st Dec, 2009 16:33, rgsmile09 wrote:

But being a microsoft product I don't always expect them to work right.
Good ole greed.

Its not so much Microsoft greed as the PEBKAC problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rgsmile09 RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 21st Dec, 2009 18:54
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 4th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Ok I'll bite! What is the PEBKAC problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Expert Contributor 21st Dec, 2009 21:38
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
on 21st Dec, 2009 18:54, rgsmile09 wrote:
Ok I'll bite! What is the PEBKAC problem?

I'm sure Yokenny won't mind me replying!
Am I right ( having Googled it)? Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair. Apparently a term used in certain circles.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rgsmile09 RE: PSI does not start-up at boot-up.
Member 21st Dec, 2009 22:31
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 4th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 21st Dec, 2009 22:38
Sounds like a real a**!

I came to this site for assistance, not to waste time with some a-h--- that thinks he is too smart to help, but just shows his stupidity by typing what enters his empty mind!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+