Forum Thread: Notification that scan is starting

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
silvatek Notification that scan is starting
Member 23rd Dec, 2009 17:12
Ranking: 11
Posts: 51
User Since: 31st Aug, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I'm surprised I couldn't find this requested elsewhere.

It would be really nice if Secunia PSI was polite enough to warn me when it wants to run a scan. Either request permission to do so, or just tell me that it's starting.

I often find my machine running slow when I'm trying to do something intensive, like running a backup, and I'll eventually discover that Secunia PSI has decided to run its weekly scan at the same time.

Please add this to your Wish List, guys. :-)

thedillpickl RE: Notification that scan is starting
Contributor 28th Dec, 2009 04:04
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi silvatek;

I do not remember how to shut off automatic scans for sure. PSI dosn't like my dial-up connection and won't start so that I might look. I believe there is a "Settings" or "Preferance" tab that will allow this.

Just remember to manually do a scan once a week.


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
silvatek RE: Notification that scan is starting
Member 28th Dec, 2009 19:19
Score: 11
Posts: 51
User Since: 31st Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
on 28th Dec, 2009 04:04, thedillpickl wrote:
Hi silvatek;

I do not remember how to shut off automatic scans for sure. PSI dosn't like my dial-up connection and won't start so that I might look. I believe there is a "Settings" or "Preferance" tab that will allow this.

Just remember to manually do a scan once a week.


Fred


I haven't been able to find any way of turning automatic scans off, Fred. I'm happy that they happen, but I just want PSI to notify me with a pop-up when it starts so that I can make allowances for poor system performance for the duration - or cancel it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Notification that scan is starting
Handling Contributor 28th Dec, 2009 20:50
Score: 11925
Posts: 9,147
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
on 28th Dec, 2009 19:19, silvatek wrote:
I haven't been able to find any way of turning automatic scans off, Fred. I'm happy that they happen, but I just want PSI to notify me with a pop-up when it starts so that I can make allowances for poor system performance for the duration - or cancel it.


There is no way to turn it off - Secunia do notify U of the date & exact time of the next scan. It is in the scan tab. PSI will scan at that time or immediate U boot up ater that time if U miss the schedule.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: Notification that scan is starting
Contributor 1st Jan, 2010 22:08
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi all;

Maurice is correct, as usual, thanks. Under the "settings" tab, the only action aplicable is to uncheck the "Start the Secunia PSI on boot" option. This is not the proper way to make use of PSI. Unfortunately, I have problems with PSI loading on dial-up. I only start PSI when doing maintenance or have access to Wi-Fi.


Happy New Year!

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.