Forum Thread: PSI says .NET 3.x insecure - Microsoft says no

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft .NET Framework 3.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
alexanm PSI says .NET 3.x insecure - Microsoft says no
Member 31st Dec, 2009 02:11
Ranking: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 23rd Oct, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Running Vista x64 with SP2 installed. .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 installed.

Prior to the install of SP2 PSI did not detect any issues with .NET Framework 3.5. Now having installed SP2 PSI is now stating that "Microsoft .NET Framework 3.x" is a Category 4 threat and should be patched.

The Secunia site does not list a patch for .NET 3.x on Vista x64. Reading the MS advisory MS09-061 (http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin...) the specific combination of .NET 3.5 SP1 on Vista x64 SP2 is listed under "Non-affected Software".

Is this a false-positive by PSI? Can someone from Secunia offer advice on how I can resolve this?

TIA.

mogs RE: PSI says .NET 3.x insecure - Microsoft says no
Expert Contributor 1st Jan, 2010 00:40
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/323...
Maurice's post may be helpful.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
alexanm RE: PSI says .NET 3.x insecure - Microsoft says no
Member 1st Jan, 2010 01:25
Score: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 23rd Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks for the reply MOGS. I had read Maurice's post(s) regarding .NET Framework, but since I already have .NET 3.5 SP1 installed I couldn't see how his posts would help.

In the end I resorted to running the 3.5 SP1 install again, and then running Windows Update, this seems to have cured the problem. Pity, I don't see why I should have to re-install something in order to patch it! :(
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.