Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Contributor 17th Jan, 2010 09:19
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,322
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I thought this update, just now, might be related to the IE8 issue but apparently not.
(I've mentioned UK version as that's what the update said. I've no idea if there are different versions for elsewhere.)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

puget1 RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Member 19th Jan, 2010 16:36
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 19th Jan, 2010 16:42
Unless you are using a beta program you are ahead of us in Washington U.S. I no longer beta test. and my platform is 3.5.5. I'll tell you one thing if you are worried about the I.E.8 issue. You are a whole lot safer with Firefox. Firefox often has stabilize updates and can be as simple as allowing add-ons to again function with platform.

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Expert Contributor 19th Jan, 2010 17:05
Score: 2434
Posts: 3,317
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 19th Jan, 2010 17:06
AFAIK , versions are available world wide and 3.5.6. and 3.5.7. are both listed at FileHippo .

3.5.6. includes security updates while 3.5.7. apparently does not (according to FH and Mozilla changelogs ; i would have thought PSI would show 3.5.5. as insecure !

The last SA for FF is 37699 Highly Critical dated 23/12/2009 and says patch is to update to 3.0.16 or 3.5.6 , so 3.5.5. is insecure/vulnerable :-

http://secunia.com/advisories/37699/2/

I update using the FF "help" dropdown menu select "check for updates" and it "does it for you" if there is any kind of update .

Take care
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Member 19th Jan, 2010 18:42
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 19th Jan, 2010 18:46
@ Anthony

Interesting catch: I use Filehippo and no I have not been advised to update and as you can see I have a 100% score. Maybe, Firefox is using different builds in various locations to keep hackers at bay and to test various platforms Maybe??????????? Like you said ,Secunia has not caught it either. Will work on it when I get a chance.

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Expert Contributor 19th Jan, 2010 18:51
Score: 2434
Posts: 3,317
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi puget1 ,

Not likely as the Secunia Advisory is public and shows 3.0.15. and 3.5.5. and earlier as having highly critical vulnerabilities .

I would say that if you have 3.5.5. showing as patched in PSI , you might want to check with support@secunia.com

I would suggest that you take lots of care if you continue to run 3.5.5.

FWIW FH is telling me to update to 3.6 RC2 .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Member 19th Jan, 2010 22:51
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
o.k. Anthony will do. I am currently on web mail and will proceed later in day

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Member 20th Jan, 2010 11:23
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Jan, 2010 11:26
To. All

http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/mozilla_drops...

Here is a link to what I found out. I actually am using 3.5.5 so,I guess the last of the true none beta updates is 3.6.. The question now is should I or just let Firefox do it at their interval. When I was beta testing i never really found any problems in the builds and if there were Firefox would correct them before I caught them. I did however, get tired of having my add-on disabled until they could get caught up with the new build. I put a lot faith in No-Scripts and it is constantly being up-dated.

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Expert Contributor 20th Jan, 2010 18:18
Score: 2434
Posts: 3,317
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 20th Jan, 2010 18:25
Hi puget1 ,

Interesting article , however , as 3.6 is still at release candidate (RC2) and is not yet public , it still concerns me that your version of 3.5.5. is showing as "patched" when the Advisory :-

http://secunia.com/advisories/37699/2/

seems clearly to show a highly critical vulnerability ; I think you need to let Secunia know of this ; especially if it may affect others.

Anthony

PS : Regarding the Advisory which dates to 16/12/2009 , I received my OSI email on that same day telling me that Mozilla Firefox rules had been updated ; I updated from 3.5.5. to 3.5.6. at that time.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Member 21st Jan, 2010 10:00
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
@Anthony

So according to Firefox 3.6 is a beta version. So if you are using it, how stable do you find it, and were your add-ons compatible for the build?

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Expert Contributor 21st Jan, 2010 12:19
Score: 2434
Posts: 3,317
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi puget1 ,

This is what Mozilla say about 3.6. :-

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/3.6/releaseno...

AS Firefox is my main browser , I don't have time to play with RC's or the developmen versions ; I only have the up to date stable version 3.5.7. loaded .

So , I'm afraid I can't help .

Have you checked with Secunia as to why your 3.5.5.is not showing in te "insecure tab of PSI ??

Take care
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Firefox - UK version - latest is v3.5.7
Expert Contributor 21st Jan, 2010 12:24
Score: 2434
Posts: 3,317
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi taffy ,

You connect by default to Mozilla-Europe and so the version of Firefox shows as English (UK) rather than English (US) if you go to Mozilla.org ; there/these are just langauge/spelling differences .

Take care
Antony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability