Forum Thread: Port / Security questions

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This thread has been marked as locked.
russraine Port / Security questions
Member 22nd Jan, 2010 13:21
Ranking: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 30th Sep, 2008
System Score: 97%
Location: UK
I realise this is for the beta feedback but there isn't a section in the dropdown box for CSI in general.

Can someone help me with this question please?

If I install the CSI with a plan to use it across my network of 3 pc's I will need to open the ports on the firewall/router to allow access?

Is this not a security risk itself?

Does it make a difference if I forward the ports through my router to the IP of the CSI computer rather than just opening them?

Thanks for your time.



--
Windows 7 x64
Core 2 Quad
4 Gigs Ram
1 Mouse
1 Keyboard
etc

thedillpickl RE: Port / Security questions
Contributor 23rd Jan, 2010 02:32
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 23rd Jan, 2010 03:11
Hi russraine;

I'm not sure, but asking Secunia directly might be your best choice for assistance. Click on "Contact" at the bottom of this page, click on "support@secunia.com" under E-mail Addresses.

Most users on this forum are running PSI and are unfamiliar with CSI. Secunia Officials do monitor threads here and they do respond. One would think the CSI Beta thread, especially so.


regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
iivarsson RE: Port / Security questions
Secunia Official 26th Jan, 2010 10:13
Score: 11
Posts: 41
User Since: 6th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hello,
If you have concerns about opening ports, we recommend using the agent.
Have a look at the system requirements here:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/corporat...

For the agent, you need to allow SSL 443/tcp to csi.secunia.com (port 443 is used for https-connections by default).

Best regards
Isak
russraine RE: Port / Security questions
Member 26th Jan, 2010 11:54
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 30th Sep 2008
System Score: 97%
Location: UK
Hi,

Thanks for the replies.



--
Windows 7 x64
Core 2 Quad
4 Gigs Ram
1 Mouse
1 Keyboard
etc
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.