navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Thunderbird 3.0.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Jiraffe Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Member 28th Jan, 2010 19:12
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Cupertino, US
Secunia PSI flags Thunderbird as being insecure, and claims it is version 3.0. I updated Thunderbird to 3.0.1, but PSI doesn't seem to detect the update. So, I tried forcing a rescan of Thunderbird. Each time I try this, PSI crashes. So, instead, next time I restarted PSI, I tried a full scan. PSI didn't crash this time, but still thinks Thunderbird is 3.0, not recognizing that it is 3.0.1. I've double checked the actual file that PSI flags, and the Properties of thunderbird.exe shows a Program Version of 3.0.1.

Anthony Wells RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Expert Contributor 28th Jan, 2010 21:07
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Jiraffe ,

As this is your first post , I will give you some basic advice (sorry if you already know) , which may help you explain any problems to us more specifically :-


To help resolve any problem , here are some instructions to help you first of all get the best out of PSI :-

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

Posting these details will help the Forum help you , if/when you have a problem .

Where is the old Thunderbird lurking ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Alan_Baxter RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Member 29th Jan, 2010 18:24
Score: 0
Posts: 61
User Since: 1st Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 29th Jan, 2010 18:26
on 28th Jan, 2010 19:12, Jiraffe wrote:
Secunia PSI flags Thunderbird as being insecure, and claims it is version 3.0. I updated Thunderbird to 3.0.1, but PSI doesn't seem to detect the update. So, I tried forcing a rescan of Thunderbird. Each time I try this, PSI crashes. So, instead, next time I restarted PSI, I tried a full scan. PSI didn't crash this time, but still thinks Thunderbird is 3.0, not recognizing that it is 3.0.1. I've double checked the actual file that PSI flags, and the Properties of thunderbird.exe shows a Program Version of 3.0.1.

Confirmed, although my PSI v1.5.0.0 does not crash. I have not tried completely stopping PSI and restarting it before doing another complete scan. I'll do that too and report back here if the results are any different.

on 28th Jan, 2010 21:07, Anthony Wells wrote:

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;

The Insecure tab, same as Jiraffe reported.

(unknown source)
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;

Installation Path
D:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe

(unknown source)
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;

Technical details

Technical details about this installation of Mozilla Thunderbird 3.x, you can use this information to determine why the Secunia PSI detected the program and the security state of it.

Version Detected:
3.0

Installation Path:
D:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe

Last Inspection of Program:
29th Jan. 2010, 17:31 CET

(unknown source)
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem".

Where is the old Thunderbird lurking ??

There does not appear to be any old version lurking anywhere. PSI is erroneously identifying thunderbird.exe 3.0.1 as version 3.0.
Double-clicking on thunderbird.exe starts Thunderbird, which identifies itself as Thunderbird 3.0.1 (Help > About Thunderbird)
Right-clicking on thunderbird.exe > Properties > Version > Product version shows 3.0.1.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Handling Contributor 29th Jan, 2010 21:09
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What are using yopur D drive for? Is it an OEM partition?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Expert Contributor 29th Jan, 2010 21:10
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

@Alan_Baxter ,

What do you use your "D" drive for ??

Do you have Thunderbird 3.0.1. in your"patched" tab , if so what are the installation details from 1 to 7 ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Alan_Baxter RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Member 30th Jan, 2010 07:25
Score: 0
Posts: 61
User Since: 1st Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 30th Jan, 2010 07:27
Thank you for your replies, Maurice and Anthony. My system is installed on drive "D", and that's where the Program Files folder resides. There was no Thunderbird (TB) in my Patched tab. BTW, I should have mentioned earlier that my platform is Windows XP Pro SP3.

The TB 3.0.1 installation that PSI erroneously identified as 3.0 was made by updating TB 3.0 to TB 3.0.1 with Help > Check for Updates. It sounds like that's what Jiraffe did too. Since then, I've uninstalled TB, verified the D:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird folder was empty, downloaded the TB 3.0.1 install package from www.mozillamessaging.com, installed it, and did a full scan with PSI.

The good news is that PSI now recognizes D:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe correctly as version 3.0.1 and that it is patched. It appears that either the PSI folks fixed their end so TB 3.0.1 is now identified correctly, or replacing the installation with a fresh download rather than an update did the trick.

Jiraffe, if you're following all this, I recommend you try doing a full PSI scan again. If TB 3.0.1 is still identified as TB 3.0 and Insecure, then use Add or Remove Programs to uninstall TB and download TB 3.0.1 from www.mozillamessaging.com. Your personal TB setup info and preferences won't be affected by uninstalling and reinstalling TB. That information is stored elsewhere, in your TB profile folder.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Expert Contributor 30th Jan, 2010 12:57
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

@Alan_Baxter ,

Thank you for posting such a clear update , even I could understand :))

I updated to TB 3.0.1. using the (latest) Mozilla installer , no problems ; so , as you suggest , the internal updater may have left old files within TB that PSI has picked up . A similar problem was a long source of pain in updating the Adobe Reader version 9 series .

If you or Jiraffe can confirm this as a problem , it would be worth advising Secunia by mail at support@secunia.com on Monday (they do't work on PSI at weekends) - this could help other users .

Take care
Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jiraffe RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Member 1st Feb, 2010 20:40
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Cupertino, US
on 28th Jan, 2010 21:07, Anthony Wells wrote:

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;

I always run PSI in advanced mode.

on 28th Jan, 2010 21:07, Anthony Wells wrote:

3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;

It was located on the Insecure tab.

on 28th Jan, 2010 21:07, Anthony Wells wrote:

4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

It was referring to the standard location of Thunderbird, C:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe. Both from checking it's About Thunderbird dialog, and by doing a Properties on the executable, I verified that the executable was version 3.0.1, the version PSI was suggesting I install.

Today, I tried again rescanning just the file in question. PSI then told me that the insecurity was now patched, just before once again crashing. Upon restarting PSI, it now states that there are 0 insecure programs. So, I guess whatever was causing the misreporting was fixed over the weekend.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secunia doesn't recognize Thunderbird 3.0.1
Expert Contributor 2nd Feb, 2010 11:02
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Jiraffe ,

Thank you for your news .

The rescan crash sounds a bit weird ; if that or a miss detect of TB 3.0.1 reoccurs you might want to let Secunia support know about it .

Take care
Anthony


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+