Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: No graphics after virus

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

This thread has been marked as locked.
OBryan No graphics after virus
Member 31st Jan, 2010 17:58
Ranking: 0
User Since: 31st Jan, 2010
System Score: N/A
Last edited on 31st Jan, 2010 18:21

Complete noob here and first post. I'll try to keep it short...

Suffered first debilitating virus in 10 years recently. The apparent fix (done by IT friend) has me surfing again but with the side affect of not being able to see graphics on some pages or to access same-page links on others. For example: running PSI opens a window that shows nothing more than something that indicates that something is running (horrible explanation, but the otherwise blank window shows no resemblance to the tutorial-like pictures on one of the Secunia pages). Or trying to access the Sony (USA) page returns a blank black page. An example of a linking issue: trying to 'click' on a 'specifications' link while researching computers at bhphoto.com gets zero response. These examples only scratch the surface of occurences.

My use of those specific examples is intended to find out if there is a common denominator among them. Perhaps that my Adobe flash has somehow been compromised. The natural question would be: why don't I ask my IT friend? I sort of feel that I've reached that threshold of not wanting to be a burden - again.

The reason I'm asking here is because, having been scared straight regarding security, I found this Secunia site and tried running the inspection software. It appeared to run, I just couldn't really see it or the results.

Any thought's? Should I be asking this elsewhere? Many thanks in advance.

system: