Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia detects Firefox 3.5.3

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 3.6.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
yuyu2222 Secunia detects Firefox 3.5.3
Member 5th Feb, 2010 00:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 4th Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I just rebuilt my laptop and have installed Firefox 3.6. When I run Secunia, it's detecting version 3.5.3 as a security threat. When I click the download link, it just takes me to the Mozilla homepage. I did import a profile I created from version 3.5.7 using Mozbackup. Could this be the reason why it's seeing this older version? If so, how fix this?

thedillpickl RE: Secunia detects Firefox 3.5.3
Contributor 5th Feb, 2010 06:19
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 5th Feb, 2010 06:20
Hi yuyu2222;

Are you running Secunia OSI or PSI? If OSI please go to the secunia.com site and download PSI.

Is PSI in Advanced mode? To run PSI in Advanced mode, open PSI, in the top right corner, is "Simple" blue in color and "Advanced" black? If not click on "Advanced". Click on the "Insecure Programs" tab, click on the [+] to the left of the program to open the Toolbox. Click on the "Technical details" icon. Please tell us the file path, etc. In the "Folder" icon you will find the folder that PSI has found the insecure file(s). One or more may have an old date stamp or version # (hover mouse over filename for most or right click properties for the rest).

Post back with your findings.


regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
yuyu2222 RE: Secunia detects Firefox 3.5.3
Member 6th Feb, 2010 03:38
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 4th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I figured it out. On the Advanced view I clicked on the location of the threat and discovered it was located on my external drive. I had made a copy of the Mozilla folder when I was having problems with Firefox a while back. Once I deleted the folder, I did another scan and no threats were discovered. Thank you for the response.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: Secunia detects Firefox 3.5.3
Contributor 6th Feb, 2010 21:38
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi yuyu2222;

Glad all is well, happy to help.


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer