Forum Thread: OSI takes forever

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
nailbender OSI takes forever
Member 18th Feb, 2010 20:57
Ranking: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Scan used to take 2-3 minutes, now 18-30. I've made no changes, but have updated Java. What's going on?

--
OhioUser

This user no longer exists RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 09:35
Hi,
Did you check throughout scan? If you have, the OSI will scan your entire disk instead of only the selected folders it usually scans. As a result, the scan takes a bit longer.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nailbender RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 13:20
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
The quick scan takes 18 to 30 minutes, the full scan is over an hour,...

--
OhioUser
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 13:43
Hi,

Could I ask you to post your version of Java here?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nailbender RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 14:16
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello, yes here is the info:

Java Version 6 Update 18 (Build 1.6.0_18-b07)

Thanks, Tom

--
OhioUser
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 14:20
Hi,
Having tested this with the same version as you, I am unable to reproduce.
Could I ask you to try clearing your Java cache?
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/plugin_cache....

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nailbender RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 15:06
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Cleared Java cache, ran a quick scan, 13 minutes 42 seconds. Like I have said, this scan always (for the past year) has taken 2-3 minutes.

--
OhioUser
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: OSI takes forever
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 15:25
Hi,

Which browser are you running, and which version? Have you tried clearing your Browser's cache as well?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.