Forum Thread: Adobe Reader 9.3.1

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Reader 9.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
smcreamerjr Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Member 28th Feb, 2010 22:38
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 28th Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Patched Adobe Reader to version 9.3.1. AcroRd32.exe is version 9.3.0.148. Secunia PSI says it is insecure. I am not aware of any other Adbode Reader patches required. Why can't Secunia PSI recognize Adobe Reader 9.3.1?

thedillpickl RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Contributor 1st Mar, 2010 04:05
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi smcreamerjr;

PSI is not looking to see the 'new' version. It looks for the 'old' version. Adobe is horrible about leaving behind junk files.

=======
If not already, please run PSI in Advanced Mode.

To do this click on the PSI icon, in the system tray, to open the interface. In the top right corner, is "SIMPLE" blue in color and "ADVANCED" black? If not, click on "ADVANCED".

Click on the "Insecure" tab, Click on the [+] to the left of the program in question.

In the "Toolbox" click on the "Technical details" icon. Listed under "Version Detected:" it shows the old version PSI is reporting. The "Installation Path" is where PSI is finding the old stuff.

To go there, click on the "Open Folder" icon. This will open the folder where the old file(s) is(are).
=======

Please post back with answers to the following questions.

=======

Does Reader show up in "Insecure Programs" or "End-of-Life"?

If in "Insecure Programs", what is the "Version Detected" & "Installation Path" given by PSI in "Technical details"? Also, what is you Operating System?

If in "End-of-Life", The vendor does not support the program any longer. You must upgrade to a newer version or live with any vulnerabilities.

=======


regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jpflepsen RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 05:43
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 2nd Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I'm having the same issue. OS is XPSP3. It shows up as "Insecure Program". Technical details show C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\AcroRd32.exe as the folder\filename. The version of AcroRd32.exe stated by Secunia PSI is 9.3.0.148. This is the most current update available from Adobe (downloaded today) & still shows as insecure in Secunia PSI.

Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Contributor 2nd Mar, 2010 05:56
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi jpflepsen;

Thank you for posting your info.

I was about to sign off (bed time). Will look into tomorrow. Wanted you to know I received it.


regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Hansen RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Secunia Official 2nd Mar, 2010 08:23
Score: 193
Posts: 416
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi
After downloading Adobe Reader 9.3.0.148, users will have to download a patch to get the 9.3.1.

Note that its the AcroForm.api file that has the correct version number. (located in the "Plug-ins" folder.
jpflepsen RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 15:52
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 2nd Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
My AcroForm.api file in C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\plug_ins\ is version 9.3.1.203, but Secunia PSI still says Adobe Reader "Insecure".
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 16:00
Hi,

Could you try rebooting and rescanning? With that version info, the PSI should show you as patched.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jpflepsen RE: Adobe Reader 9.3.1
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 16:09
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 2nd Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
A reboot & rescan shows Adobe is now secure.

Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.