Forum Thread: Wrong Operating System

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
nailbender Wrong Operating System
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 14:03
Ranking: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Good morning, well first, a quick scan today took over 15 minutes, been having this problem for a couple weeks. I looked over the results and the OS is wrong, I have XP Home SP3, Secunia shows in the scan that I have XP Pro SP3. I'm getting a little disappointed,...Tom

--
OhioUser

This user no longer exists RE: Wrong Operating System
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 14:15
Hi,

Could you post the contents of the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion registry key?
We need these values: ProductName, CSDVersion, CurrentBuildNumber, BuildLab, CurrentType, CurrentVersion

These can be found by running regedit from Start > Run, and navigating to the proper entries. Please be careful when using regedit, as changes here can effectively destroy your system: We just need the current value, so we can adjust our rules.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nailbender RE: Wrong Operating System
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 15:03
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\WindowsNT\Cu rrentVersion registry key


Product Name- REG_SZ Microsoft Windows XP

CSDVersion- REG_SZ Service Pack 3

CurrentBuilderNumber- REG_SZ 2600

BuildLab- REG_SZ 2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.091208-2036

CurrentType- REG_SZ Uniprocessor Free

CurrentVersion- REG_SZ 5.1


--
OhioUser
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Wrong Operating System
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 15:18
Hi,

Could I ask you to rescan? Has the issue been resolved?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nailbender RE: Wrong Operating System
Member 2nd Mar, 2010 16:59
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 18th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US


--
OhioUser
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Wrong Operating System
Member 3rd Mar, 2010 08:48
Hi,

If the OSI is slow, it often helps to clear your Java cache. You can find instructions on how to do this here: http://www.java.com/en/download/help/plugin_cache....

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.