Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Security threats

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
droceandevil Security threats
Member 19th Mar, 2010 18:43
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 2nd Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Every time I start my computer I get a message from Secunia PSI that says that two of my programs are security threats and that I need to update them. However, when I go to the updates Secunia recommends, I get a message that these programs are up to date.

What to do?

Thank you.

TiMow RE: Security threats
Dedicated Contributor 19th Mar, 2010 19:22
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi droceandevil

There`s probably a simple solution to your problem, but a bit more info is required.

1) You should use PSI in Advanced mode (top right of page) - if you`re not and do change - don`t be put off by the box that appears, and check OK.

2) You should say which programs (including version numbers) are being reported as insecure and under which tab heading (in advanced mode), they`re being shown.

3) There`s a good chance that although you`ve updated to the solution / latest versions, that some or all of the old versions are still left behind, which is what PSI is finding and reporting - but without providing the info in point 2) above, it`s hard to say exactly - i`m guessing that one could be Chrome, though.

Come back with more info.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Security threats
Dedicated Contributor 19th Mar, 2010 19:59
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi, again, droceandevil

I have to shut down and go out now.

In the absence of any further info, I will draw your attention to the following thread, that has just reached a satisfactory conclusion, relating to a similar problem as you have described, but with Chrome.

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/380...

Just check out my first reply which explains the normal procedure - but still follow the thread down to the end, as this may answer any other queries you may have.

It`s a little vague (without precise info), but I hope this helps.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer