navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: java applet

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
dlpierm java applet
Member 31st Mar, 2010 15:09
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 23rd Mar, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I receive an error message when I open the scanner: there may be a problem loading java applet. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Java with no change.

taffy078 RE: java applet
Contributor 31st Mar, 2010 15:22
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I've just had that too. But an hour or so later, Secunia reported that my Java JRE 1.6 x was insecure. I've followed the instructions and downloaded the new version but the old one is still there. I'm just about to check if this software is one of those which needs you to remove the old version via the manufacturers site.
I may need to post a new thread - I'll let you know.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: java applet
Contributor 31st Mar, 2010 15:35
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
This appears to be the link which I need:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/236...

Maurice Joyce's post 27th July 2009 says what's needed.
I suggest you follow those instructions *** and then download from the Java site the latest version. I'll post that link later.
*** PS I suggest you open Secunia twice so you have Maurice's instructions in front of you.

I'm just about to follow his instructions.


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
taffy078 RE: java applet
Contributor 31st Mar, 2010 15:50
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
it worked perfectly, dlpierm. Just one thing to remember - you need to close all IE applications including Secunia before getting JavaRa running.
I hope it works for you too.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+