Forum Thread: Doesn't recognise 64-bit

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Quitch Doesn't recognise 64-bit
Member 7th Apr, 2010 02:05
Ranking: 5
Posts: 53
User Since: 17th Apr, 2008
System Score: 99%
Location: UK
Secunia will offer 32-bit updates for 64-bit products. Case in point being the recent iTunes vulnerability. I was running iTunes 64-bit on Windows 7 64-bit, but the PSI download link pointed to the 32-bit version which downloaded but then refused to install because it was the wrong version.

This user no longer exists RE: Doesn't recognise 64-bit
Member 7th Apr, 2010 09:10
Hi,

The PSI does differentiate between 32 and 64 bit, and tries to deliver an appropriate download according to your architecture (and sometimes Locale).

The downloaded 64 bit file for iTunes should be called "iTunes64Setup.exe". Is this the file you get? If you get a file called "iTunesSetup.exe" your OS is being detected as 32 bit. If so, please post here again and we'll strive to help you solve that problem.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Doesn't recognise 64-bit
Dedicated Contributor 7th Apr, 2010 09:31
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
It seems the iTunes example used above, was a problem for many users who tried to update via PSI download solution. Judging by the posts on the forum, it did in fact offer 32 bit.

Update was achieved using a separate link (eg filehippo); within iTunes to find upgrade, or Apple update.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Quitch RE: Doesn't recognise 64-bit
Member 7th Apr, 2010 09:32
Score: 5
Posts: 53
User Since: 17th Apr 2008
System Score: 99%
Location: UK
I have since updated via the Apple Software Update tool, however the download link via PSI did lead to an executable which, on install, claimed it ws 32-bit and not 64-bit and therefore failed.

So I would assume it was indeed the iTunesSetup.exe file.

What information do you require?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Doesn't recognise 64-bit
Member 8th Apr, 2010 08:47
Hi,

After some investigation, this seems to be an issue with detection of architecture. All available information has been forwarded to our developers, but I would appriciate if you didn't lock this thread (and checked back every once in a while, as we may need additional information from you. Thank you for making us aware of this problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.