Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Sandboxie and Secunia PSI

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This thread has been marked as resolved.
yaksecuniadet Sandboxie and Secunia PSI
Member 7th Apr, 2010 17:44
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 27th Jun, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I've been successfully running Secunia PSI for probably a couple of years or so.
I recently installed the Trial version of Sandboxie: I now find that Secunia is waiting for its first scan to complete. If I scan it tells me the scan was completed successfully and everything is patched, but, on opening the PSI window I'm back to the 'waiting for first scan message'.
I'm also informed that the last scan was 1 Jan. 70, 00:00.
Is this linked to the introduction of Sandboxie? Does anyone know of this problem and, if so, where the answer lies - in Sandboxie settings or in Secunia ?
I was not running Secunia Sandboxed.

Post "RE: Sandboxie and Secunia PSI" has been selected as an answer.
TiMow RE: Sandboxie and Secunia PSI
Dedicated Contributor 7th Apr, 2010 18:04
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Just a quick thought.

PSI uses IE - if that was sandboxed, that may have caused the irregularity.

As I don't use IE, apart from updates and PSI requirements, it has never been sandboxed for me, and PSI has functioned normally when other programs have been sandboxed (also Sandboxie)

I must admit, that as my browsers are (relatively) secure at the moment, I haven't used sandboxie for a while.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
yaksecuniadet RE: Sandboxie and Secunia PSI
Member 7th Apr, 2010 18:21
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 27th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks TiMow,
I usually use Firefox - your mention of PSI using IE led me to check and I found I had left IE on work offline. BINGO!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer