Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
ray_parker PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't
Member 9th Apr, 2010 02:42
Ranking: -1
Posts: 4
User Since: 8th Apr, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have run the program several times, scanning each time, on different bootups, and even though it has applied the solution and said that it is now fixed, the next time I scan, it shows the same problem. It doesn't fix the problem, only says it has.

--
Ray

Post "RE: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't" has been selected as an answer.
puget1 RE: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't
Member 9th Apr, 2010 04:51
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 9th Apr, 2010 04:52
You need to be in Advance Mode. Somewhere within your system you have the old Adobe file. Here is how to find it per Maurice Joyce" To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, please follow there guidelines using the
ADVANCED interface:
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
* Click on the + sign of the program to “expand’ it.
* Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file.
* Remember the installation path and close down the menu.
* Click Open Folder and locate the detected file.

Have U changed the folder option to show all hidden files?

Have U tried Windows search asking it to search hidden files?

Delete it and PSI will clear to 100% Otherwise, uninstall Adobe,shut down wait 15 seconds and boot. Then re-scan with Secunia.

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
TiMow RE: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't
Dedicated Contributor 9th Apr, 2010 08:59
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi ray_parker

Try this.

I've cut and pasted from something I've given as a reply in the past to solve this issue. I haven't edited it, so some you may already know, and some you may not require.

Quote:

The latest versions are:

Adobe Flash Player 10.x ..... 10.0.45.2 (ActiveX), for IE, and 10.0.45.2 (NPAPI) for other browsers (eg Firefox).

It may be, that even if you have the latests version, there are still parts of the old version(s) remaining. You must uninstall Flash every time before you update, using an Adobe uninstall download.

It is probably best to start again. Download and run Adobe uninstall Flash from here:

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html

Re-boot and re-scan PSI to ensure nothing of flash remains.

Download and install latest version:

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

You have to install the latest version 2x. Once using IE, and once using another browser (if you use multiple browsers).

Re-boot and re-scan PSI one more time, and hopefully this will do it.

One further thing to add: close all programs that use flash, before starting - this includes PSI. Right click on the tray icon (bottom right of screen) and exit here. Even if you don't use IE - PSI does - and you need flash (ActiveX) to be installed on IE, if you want to see the graphics on the PSI page.

Unquote.

TiMow


--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't
Expert Contributor 9th Apr, 2010 10:52
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,324
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 9th Apr, 2010 10:55
@ray_parker ,

You have opened two threads , one for CSI and one for PSI and you do not say which Adobe product you are using and which is numbered version 9.x.

Full info re your Secunia and Adobe products will maybe get you more precise help .

There is a known bug with PSI scans of Adobe Reader 9.x which is similar to the problem you are describing .

Take care
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ray_parker RE: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't
Member 9th Apr, 2010 11:14
Score: -1
Posts: 4
User Since: 8th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
In both cases, it is the Reader that is the problem. Not the other. I ended up deleting the reader's application (not the rest) and the problem quit showing up in the PSI. I am using Windows XP Pro on this home system. I keep having other problems, too. I am working with Microsoft to try to overcome them. Obviously, I don't want to switch to WIndows 7 because there is no program that will do the change over. I quit programming over 25 years ago. Back then, it was in several versions of BASIC and FORTRAN. I'm getting older and can't seem to get interested in trying to do all the stuff that you younger people want to do.

--
Ray
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI Says it has corrected Adobe 9.x Threat but hasn't
Expert Contributor 9th Apr, 2010 11:28
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,324
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 9th Apr, 2010 11:30
Hello Ray ,

This is what Emil says about the problem :-


Hi,

This is a know bug, and is in the hands of our developers. The problem is caused by old versions of Acrobat/Reader on other drives, and the PSI using version info from files in their subdirs instead of the version that belongs to the detected instance. Thank you for reporting it, and sorry for the trouble. In the mean time, using the local rescan should produce accurate results.

hope this helps.

--

Kind regards,

Emil R. Petersen
Secunia PSI Support

The full thread is here :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/387...

Should you decide to reload Reader at least you can deal with the bug !!

Hope you get M$ sorted , I'm still with XP as well ; will likely keep it until I break it !! Works fine for all I need :)

Take care
Anthony

PS: I'm likely as young as you :)

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability