navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Thunderbird 2.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
GJSGJS Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 14th Apr, 2010 03:53
Ranking: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi,

I have Secunia PSI 1.5.0.0 installed on my Windows XP Pro system.

Installed Thunderbird 3.0.4 twice now and ran Secunia after each installation - but it keeps informing me that I need to install this latest software.

Any helps appreciated

Post "RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia" has been selected as an answer.
TiMow RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Dedicated Contributor 14th Apr, 2010 07:51
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Often PSI will only recognise the change after you have rebooted.
If you haven't already, then do this, then re-scan PSI.

Normally, there are seldom problems with Mozilla updates.

If this doesn't work, then post back here.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
GJSGJS RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 14th Apr, 2010 11:50
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Tried what you suggested - to no avail.

So I tried uninstalling, rebooting, installing anew, rebooting and also to no avail.

Further it found Adobe Reader needed to be updated which I carefully performed and now there are two updated files that are being booked as not having been updated.

HELP!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 14th Apr, 2010 12:09
Last edited on 14th Apr, 2010 12:09 Hi,

Does Thunderbird's internal updater show you as fully patched? If so, could I ask you to submit a Software Suggestion for the thunderbird.exe file, and put "Att: Emil" in the comment field?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GJSGJS Att: Emil
Member 14th Apr, 2010 17:48
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Not sure I follow your comments - rather too technical for me.

I check the About in the Help menu and see that the version number is the latest.

Beyond this I have no suggestions for a fix.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Handling Contributor 14th Apr, 2010 18:08
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Emil requires this information:

Open the Patched Tab in PSI.
Scroll to the bottom and U will see "Program Missing Suggest it here!"

Click it.

U will now see a box with a browse button - click it

Now navigate to C:\Program Files\Thunderbird> look for the Thunderbird file with EXE on the end.

Click it & it will populate the box.

Do not worry about the other boxes - just send it for Emil.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
GJSGJS RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 15th Apr, 2010 04:25
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks,

It has been sent.

Emil - did you receive it?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 15th Apr, 2010 09:02
Hi,

Yes, I got it. Does a rescan now still show you as insecure?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GJSGJS RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 15th Apr, 2010 11:00
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi,

A rescan still shows me as insecure. Further it has Adobe Reader 9.x also showing insecure even though it was updated.

??

Did I need to download PSI again?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 15th Apr, 2010 11:09
Hi,
Downloading the PSI doesn't make any difference. The rules are loaded (along with the interface) over the network.

If you were the one who suggested the Thunderbird.exe file, you should be shown as secure. The information in your file matches our rule, and comparing them, you shouldn't be flagged as insecure.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GJSGJS RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 16th Apr, 2010 21:56
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Emil,

Sorry, but what you say does not help. Whenever I scan I keep getting Adobe & Thunderbird as unsecure. Seems to me there is a problem with the software.

Please advise.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 19th Apr, 2010 09:33
Hi,

Are you doing a full rescan? Does a local rescan give different results?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GJSGJS RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 19th Apr, 2010 19:28
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Doing full rescans.

Local scan (I assume you mean using the free scan on your website) gives different results - it does not find Thunderbird insecure. However, it now finds Adobe Flash Player insecure and even though I update it - it continues to show being insecure. I uninstalled, reinstalled and rebooted but still showing insecure using a local scan.

When I scan using the installed PSI on my computer it continues to show Thunderbird and Adobe Flash Player as insecure.

???

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Handling Contributor 19th Apr, 2010 20:51
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 19th Apr, 2010 20:51
This will clear Flash.

UPDATING ADOBE FLASH
====================
Works with Windows XP,Vista & Windows 7 - 32 & 64 Bit systems.

Adobe have not fully mastered(unlike many other vendors) the art of stopping elements of Flash from working prior to the updating of a new version. The result is that an "in use" flash ocx file will not be uninstalled. Nor, have they widely publicised the fact that they do not support removal of older versions by using Control Panel>Add/Remove or other 3rd party uninstallers.

Advanced users just need to install the new version(s),then find the old OCX file(s) & zap it/them having closed down anything using Flash which includes PSI

The default file locations for deletions are:
32 Bit Systems - C:\Windows\system32\Macromedia\Flash
64 Bit Systems - C:\Windows\sysWOW64\Macromedia\Flash

In these locations U may well find these entries:
FLASH10D.OCX - Right click & delete it.
FLASH10E.OCX - The latest version which should be retained.
If U are using Beta/RC the latest version is H.


Others may wish to take a longer route to successfully remove a vulnerability from Adobe Flash you should:

1. Download & use the Flash Uninstaller from here:

#####Before actually running the uninstaller it is a good idea to close all browsers,PSI and any other programme U think may be using Flash #####

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html

2. Reboot to clear out any left over ocx files.

3. Rescan using PSI - if there are any insecure Flash elements left what is the path to them? U should not proceed to stage 4 until all U clear any problems found.(The PSI overview page may look a little odd because it uses Flash for the pictorials)

Note: At this stage,if PSI finds any elements of Flash in the C:\i386 folder or on any drive other than C that is an OEM reinstallation partition (normally D drive) or a drive U use solely to backup your work U can safely create an ignore rule. It may also be in the Recycle Bin.


4. Reinstall the latest Internet Explorer Flash Player from here:

http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie/ (I strongly advise U not to select the Beta version unless an advanced user). The latest stable & secure version is: 10.0.45.2

4A.If U are also using Firefox, Opera and other Gecko-based browsers U need this link as well:

http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_fire... (Again, I strongly advise U select the stable & secure version: 10.0.45.2)

Security.
Adobe also have a very bad habit of changing your Flash settings each time they plug vulnerabilities. To change the security settings to your liking & regain control of your PC click here:

http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en...

Bloat ware.
If you used the Adobe site, rather than FileHippo to update you will also find they try or have installed an unnecessary Download Manager.

It is bloat ware by a third party Company called NOS. If found I would uninstall it via Add/Remove.


Revision 5.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
GJSGJS RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Member 24th Apr, 2010 04:59
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Maurice,

Thanks.

Doing the first two steps and still the software is present. That's when I noticed what the problem is - I have two hard drives on my system. When I "carefully" checked the path to the file I see it was for the D: drive not the C: drive.

Thus, how do I scan only the C drive?

Greg
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Thunderbird Install Not Recognized By Secunia
Handling Contributor 24th Apr, 2010 07:42
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 24th Apr, 2010 08:44
U cannot. By default PSI scans all hard drives.

If your D drive is a back up it has NO exposure therefore is safe. Create an ignore rule for it.

CREATING A GLOBAL IGNORE RULE
=============================

1.Click on the SETTINGS tab>scroll to the bottom & click on CREATE IGNORE RULE

2.In the RULE NAME BOX insert something like MY BACKUP DRIVE

3.In the RULE BOX type D:\

4.Click SAVE IGNORE RULE>CLOSE

Rescan & the vulnerabilities should not show.

All drives will continue to be scanned by default but the result from the drives ignored will not be published.

If this post has solved your problem could you please select the ACCEPT option. This will lock the thread and stop you & I from receiving unnecessary update emails.

Revision 2



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+