Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Scan again runs several times a day.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 21st Apr, 2010 12:51
Ranking: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 21st Apr, 2010 12:54

My first thread on this subject was closed this morning because the problem seems
to be solved after Anthony Wells advised to re-install PSI.
I uninstalled and reinstalled PSI early this morning ande the first scan ran normally at 7.49hrs local time and setting next scan for April 28th same time. Then it ran at 11.02hrs and 12.04hrs. Emil (Secunia official) suggested to check system clock, but that's not the problem. What might be the cause?

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

taffy078 RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 21st Apr, 2010 13:21
Score: 408
Posts: 1,320
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 21st Apr, 2010 13:29
Mine ran a scan this morning but I'm sure I set my Secunia to run a scan every Friday at 5 pm.
I've just looked in "Settings" & elsewhere and can't find any way to pre-set a scan time. Can someone point me to it please? Thanks.
Time on my system clock is 12.27 so this is correct GMT

I'll uninstall and re-install after I've checked the pre-set scan info..


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 21st Apr, 2010 13:37
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Taffy. It seems that you have the same problem as me. There is no setting
for scheduling the scan. Normally it runs once a week on the same day/time as the last scan. This morning I uninstalled/reinstalled PSI but the problem still exists. I'll wait for a reply from a more experienced member of the forum or a Secunia official.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 21st Apr, 2010 13:39
Hi,

If you did check your system clock, this is a very unusual problem.
Did you reboot your computer? Does rebooting help?
Did you reinstall the PSI?
How often does it rescan?
Are you set to the correct timezone and date? Even if the hour matches, check the date - this has to be accurate as well.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 21st Apr, 2010 13:51
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 21st Apr, 2010 14:26
Hi Emil. I performed a uninstall and a fresh install with a new setup file downloaded from the site. I didn't reboot after uninstalling and also not after
reinstallation. The scan first ran after new installation at 7.49hrs local. setting the next scan for one week later. After that it ran at 11.02hrs, 12.04hrs and
13.42hrs. I just rebooted my system and wait for result. I'll let you know as
soon as possible.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 21st Apr, 2010 17:13
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Emil. It seems that it's not possible to solve the problem. After you asked
me to reboot, I tried that. In vain. I did the following: uninstalled PSI, rebtoot,
checked program files-program data: no remains of PSI. Installed PSI again, after that initial scan started at 15.20hrs local time, reboot, recovered profile.
To my surprise the scan started again at 16.56hrs local. Any ides?

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 21st Apr, 2010 22:59
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi all

Here are some suggestions that may help solve the problem(s) beginning
with the simple standard steps Secunia needs to connect to its servers:

Hello all,
If the PSI is in a continuous loop of scanning here are some suggestions.
1.Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have not configured
the security settings of Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive
your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.
To do this:
a. Open Internet Explorer.
b. Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
c. Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
d. In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
e. Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
f. Press OK then Yes.
g. Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
h. Look at the bottom of the page and take the tick from the box marked"Require server verification(HTTPS)for all site zones" then type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Zone Sites list:
http://*.secunia.com
https://*.secunia.com
i. Press Close
j. Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results
If using a browser other than IE open Control Panel>Internet Options then follow c. thru j.
2. Make sure your computers clock date & time are correct.
3. Make sure your firewall settings allow Secunia access both outbound & inbound.
4. Make sure no add-ons such as pop-up blockers, etc. are blocking access.
Please make sure you follow the steps in (h.) EXACTLY if not
you cannot add the http: address.

2. Click Start.Control Panel.Administrative Tools.Services--open Services &
look for Background Intelligence Transfer Service (BITS) This should be running Automatic. If not highlight it>right click> in the window that appears select
Automatic> Close all windows REBOOT

3. Last but not least--make sure that you have a Default Browser set.
Although the Secunia PSI uses IE which is embedded in Windoze for its connection/scanning purposes you should have a Default Browser chosen
& it doesn't have to be IE though the settings for IE DO affect how Secunia
connects.

These are some of the things that can & do cause problems. It will be
interesting to find out what the problem/solution turns out to be.

Good luck. Please keep us informed as to how you do get on.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 22nd Apr, 2010 09:25
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Wr, thanks for your info. From the list only http://*.secunia was missing from
the site list but could not be added becauae of a warning that only https:// is accepted. https://*.secunia.com is in the list. And BITS was not automatic, so I successfully corrected that according your instructions. I'll now wat and see if this helps. Let you know later.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 10:39
Score: 408
Posts: 1,320
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I used to have the problem that http sites couldn't be added to the Trusted sites list. A forum told me to uncheck "Require server verification" and so I did. You can then add http sites.
I hope someone isn't going to tell me now that I shouldn't have done that!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 22nd Apr, 2010 11:22
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Taffy, I prefer not to do that before I know what the consequences are.
Don't like to take a risk to mess-up things.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 22nd Apr, 2010 11:28
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Wr, the actions I performed according your instructions were in vain.
After setting BITS to automatic and rebooting I started a scan at 9.32hrs local.
Now the scan started again 11.18hrs. I really don't know what to do!

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 11:47
Score: 408
Posts: 1,320
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
re 'safe to uncheck', you're quite right Leendert. So I've started a new thread to try to find out.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 22nd Apr, 2010 14:37
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Wr, I have corrected everything you mentioned in your instructions.
The last one was adding http://*.secunia.com to the sites list. about 13.00hrs
local. After that I stared a scan which ran OK. But again, the scan 14.18hrs
again!! It seems that there is a pattern that the scan starts about ever hour.
But, after each scan the schedule for the next is correctly set for 29/4.
I'll wait for comment from experienced forum members and/or a Secunia official.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Expert Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 15:04
Score: 2427
Posts: 3,316
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Apr, 2010 15:24
Hi LK ,

If you have done all wr's set tasks (hopefully you had your fingers crossed and were smiling nicely all the time :)) then we are down to guessing and blind inspiration .

If you are sure that the PSI scans are "accurate" and the rescans do not reset the weekly "auto" rescan date/time then server connection and related potential problems would seem to be under control .

Have you tried deselecting the "Start on boot" and "program monitoring" in the PSI "settings" tab and then exit and reload PSI manually . Recheck that "program monitoring" has not reselected itself - that was a known bug and I do not know if it was/is fixed*** - and then see how the system runs ??

Let us know how you go .

Anthony

PS : this thread comes to an interesting conclusion :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/403...

*** just followed my own advice and the "program monitoring" was reset in the PSI "settings" tab , so I still have this bug on my system :(

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
wr RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 15:58
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi all

Please make sure you follow the steps in (h.) EXACTLY if not
you cannot add the http: address. I thought that this was ABUNDANTLY CLEAR. These steps are from the PSI FAQ with the addition of taking the tic from the box after Maurice Joyce pointed out this mistake many months ago.
I also had pointed out this omission in one of Emil Petersens posts & he answered that he would add this step of un-ticking the box to the FAQ-which he has done.

As a workaround Leendert Kip you might take Secunia out of the
System Configuration Startup list & reboot.
Secunia will now only run by clicking on it in the ALL PROGRAMS list.

This isn't a 'fix' but hopefully stops the constant scanning as the PSI won't be open
& therefore not constantly scanning.

Hope this helps & good luck.

Regards, wr



--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 22nd Apr, 2010 16:24
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Wr and Anthony. The last steps I performed according the instructions you both wrote down. First I tried to deselect start on boot and program monito-
ring. It seems impossible to deselect the last because every time it select itself
again. So I only deselected start on boot, rebooted and started PSI from the programs list. Now I'll wait to see what happens with the scan.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Expert Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 16:41
Score: 2427
Posts: 3,316
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Apr, 2010 16:51
Just to clarify , LK ,

You can deselect the "program monitoring" at each start and it should stay
"deselected" until you exit PSI ; the bug means that you have to deselect after any type of start of PSI .

"Program monitoring" might be part of the problem . If stopping the "boot" starts works , great ; if not try deselecting the monitoring after a restart .EDIT : PLEASE NOTE : if you use the "reload interface" link from the PSI tray icon , this is like a "restart" and you will find that the "program monitoring" has been reselected ; closing PSI to the tray icon and using the "Open Secunia PSI" link from the tray icon is OK and leaves the deselection in place .

That's me out of ideas . Maybe wr or Secunia have something else .

Take care
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
wr RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 17:33
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
I'm with you on this one Anthony-fresh out of ideas. The most
common problem I found in my research was the clock time & date.

It seems as though someone is sitting @ LKs comp & clicking the mouse
to start a scan. LK didn't mention anyone doing this so I presume the
problem is "what's causing this phenomenon?" My technical ability already being
stretched to the limit I can only guess it's something corrupted in the comp.
Having said that I don't know where else to look for the problem. Maybe Emil
or Maurice is lurking & have a answer.

Sorry LK that I couldn't solve your problem or be of further help-I am however
going to stay Subscribed to this thread in hopes that someone will
solve this problem.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 23rd Apr, 2010 09:36
Hi,

Please close the PSI (by right-clicking the tray icon and choosing "exit"), and follow this procedure:
Press Start > Run, and enter "cmd".
Press enter.
Type - exactly - "cd C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI" in the cmd vindow. Please adjust for local variations of "Program files". Press enter.
Type "psi.exe --verbose --debug secunia.txt" and leave it running until it does an automatic scan.

When this is done, please email us the file "C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\secunia.txt" at support@secunia.com
Please don't post this file here, it contains information specific to you. With this debug log, it becomes easier to find the root cause of the problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Contributor 23rd Apr, 2010 10:14
Score: 408
Posts: 1,320
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I've been following this with interest. Way over my head technically of course but I had similar problems.
I removed Secunia and re-installed it, as you suggested. No problems now, so good luck Leendert Kip. I hope you resolve it. I'm sure you will.
PS I've just scanned - the next scheduled scan is shown as 7 days and 1 hour later. I've not noticed the +1 hour bit before. Was it always that?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 23rd Apr, 2010 10:17
on 23rd Apr, 2010 10:14, taffy078 wrote:
PS I've just scanned - the next scheduled scan is shown as 7 days and 1 hour later. I've not noticed the +1 hour bit before. Was it always that?


You have to adjust for the Danish time zone, as our headquarters are located in Copenhagen.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Scan again runs several times a day.
Member 25th Apr, 2010 07:47
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Emi, I sent you the report last friday. Up to now I didn't find a solution to
the problem. So I'll wait until you can investigate the report.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability