Forum Thread: Secunia hanging up - Norton is the cause?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 Secunia hanging up - Norton is the cause?
Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 09:30
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,460
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
There have been several threads since Secunia was updated on the subject that Secunia was hanging up - slow to respond etc.
I uninstalled Secunia then reinstalled it and it hung up.
But I then found it wasn't a problem with Secunia.

I have Norton Internet Security 2000 v17.6.0.32 and when I checked the History, it showed multiple entries as below*** every second for up to thirty seconds. These caused CPU 100% useage which I presume in turn caused the hang-up.

So if you are having Secunia hand-ups, may I suggest that you check your NIS, if that's what you have. Hoping this helps someone.

*** Unauthorized access logged (Access Process Data). The 'actor' is Adaware targetting NIS. It was only logged not blocked.

I've asked Norton why this is happening and they suggested removing Ad-Aware, Malwarebytes and Spywareblaster. I'll just have to see if it happens again and come back here.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC 1511 Build 10586.71 and Compaq Presario CQ71 Win10 Upgraded 1511 build 10586.71

Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia hanging up - Norton is the cause?
Handling Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 10:15
Score: 12069
Posts: 9,327
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK

Taffy,
Not surprised. Norton DOES NOT like Lavasoft. They fell out of love in 2009 when Lavasoft introduced the Avira Anti Virus engine into their product.

It only impacts if U are running Ad Watch (Plus & Pro version only) & have ticked the boxes to allow the anti viral engine to run.

The symptoms are excessive use of CPU & cooling fans constantly starting particularly on budget priced CPU's & limited RAM.

U say U are using NIS 2000 - the engine number U have looks like NIS 2010?

U have not posted to Open Discussion to expand on the subject so the short sharp answer is switch off the Avira Engine.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
taffy078 RE: Secunia hanging up - Norton is the cause?
Contributor 22nd Apr, 2010 10:35
Score: 408
Posts: 1,460
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
You're right, Maurice - it's NIS 2010! I'll switch off the Avira engine.
I posted here because that's where the other "blaming Secuina" posts were.
Emil: Can this be moved to Open Discussion please - Maurice appears to have solved a problem for many others!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC 1511 Build 10586.71 and Compaq Presario CQ71 Win10 Upgraded 1511 build 10586.71
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.