Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI running too often!

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
OldBigfoot25 PSI running too often!
Member 30th Apr, 2010 14:52
Ranking: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I've been running PSI for a long time, but in the past couple of weeks it has starting running a scan (or at least it reports it has) two or three times a day instead of the usual once a week. I don't know why this is happening; I guess it's OK, but it seems unnecessay, and I don't know how to get back to once a week. The program always shows that the scan is scheduled for a week later, but then I'll check later in the day and it says it scanned two hours ago or whatever and will scan in one week...this may repeat two to three times a day. Weird! :)

Any ideas will be appreciated.

OldBigfoot25 (Richard)

TiMow RE: PSI running too often!
Dedicated Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 15:01
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi OldBigfoot25

Within the same time period Secunia have carried out some major maintenance on PSI.

What has been a cure for a multitude of problems, is to un- and re- install PSI.

If, as an established user, you still have v.1.5.0.0. installed, then by removing this from add/remove and re-installing v.1.5.0.1. (not a required update, but just language additions), could well solve your problem.

If not, then post back for more assistance.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
OldBigfoot25 RE: PSI running too often!
Member 30th Apr, 2010 16:02
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks, TiMow...it turns out that I am already running v.5.0.1, so unless uninstalling and then re-installing the same version would help (I sort of doubt it?), I guess maybe I'm still stuck. :) Thanks for the suggestion though.

Best regards,

OldBigfoot25 (Richard)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: PSI running too often!
Dedicated Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 16:44
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi again Richard

This has also been suggested as a possible fix (even by Secunia) - something about re-setting the scanner.

If you think a minimum of hassle is worth a try, I would still give it a go - you'll only loose a few minutes.

If it doesn't work, you'll probably have to wait until Mon. for an answer from Secunia - unless anyone else may be able to help, in the meantime.

Regards

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Leendert Kip PSI running too often!
Member 30th Apr, 2010 17:40
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 30th Apr, 2010 17:43
Hi Timow & Richard. It seems to be the same problem I have since more than a week. I also de-installed and re-installed PSI in vain. Currently Emil Petersen,
PSI Support, is investigating a debug report I sent him last week.
Two days ago he confirmed that he's still investigating the case and told me to wait a few days longer. I think it's useless to de-install and re-install again and again. Just wait untill Emil is ready.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
TiMow RE: PSI running too often!
Dedicated Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 18:10
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi L.K.

I had been following your ongoing problems, for a while, but as it's slipped down the list, I'd kind of lost track as to whether it had been resolved or not.

Thanks for the info. - I'll leave Richard to decide whether he follows this course of action, in light of your input - for me, it's still worth a go, as sometimes similar problems have different roots dependent on a variety of factors.

But for now, I'll leave it in the hands of the Gods (and hopefully Emil, on Monday).

Regards

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
OldBigfoot25 RE: PSI running too often!
Member 30th Apr, 2010 22:01
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi TiMow,

In light of L.K.'s pending answer from Emil, I think I'll wait and see what the man says. :) As I indicated before, I just found this problem puzzling, but not harmful. I certainly appreciate your and L.K.'s efforts trying to help me.

Best regards,
Richard
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
OldBigfoot25 RE: PSI running too often!
Member 30th Apr, 2010 22:04
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi L.K.,

As I just replied to TiMow, I think I'll wait for Emil's response before doing anything more. Thank you very much for your input. :)

Best regards,
Richard
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip PSI running too often!
Member 4th May, 2010 13:36
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi to all interested in this issue. This morning Morten Hansen, PSI Support,
informed me that some changes were made in PSI. He advised to start a scan and wait to see if a new scan starts in short time again.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0

Leendert Kip

PSI running too often!
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
This user no longer exists RE: PSI running too often!
Member 4th May, 2010 14:00
Hi,

As Leendert Kip says, we've made some internal adjustments. Could I ask anyone who's still affected by this problem to rescan, and see if the problem persists?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Leendert Kip

PSI running too often!
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
OldBigfoot25 RE: PSI running too often!
Member 4th May, 2010 16:31
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi Emil,

I started this particular thread, so I'm grateful for the information. :)

I just finished a PSI scan (it said it had just scanned two minutes ago when I opened the program), and I have now run a manual scan. If I get another scan before the one week from now scheduled one, I'll post that information here. Thanks much!

Best regards,

OldBigfoot25 (Richard)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
OldBigfoot25 RE: PSI running too often!
Member 4th May, 2010 20:13
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi Emil,

I just got back in the house and checked PSI...it says it ran two hours ago. That would be about three hours after my manual scan. It would appear that, at least on my machine, the problem still exists. Just FYI.

Best regards,
OldBigfoot25 (Richard)
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip PSI running too often!
Member 4th May, 2010 20:33
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Emil, the problem isn't solved. As I informed you I started my scan at 13.23hrs local and it ran again at 20.12hrs. I am curious what you found in
my bug report and what you changed in PSI.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

hardygp

RE: PSI running too often!
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
Leendert Kip PSI running too often!
Member 4th May, 2010 21:04
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Hartmut. I don't agree that you say that Secunia isn't interested in this problem. I can assure you that they are working on the case. As far as I can remember I was one of the first who informed Secunia about the problem.
Emil Petersen reacted quicky on my e-mail and gave me a procedure to run a bug report that I sent to him. He worked for more than a week on the case and today informed me that changes were made to PSI and asked me (and
others) to run a scan and wait was happened. Of course it's a pity that the real cause isn't found yet because in my system the scan ran again after some 7 hours. I informed Emil and I'm sure he investigate again tomorrow.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI running too often!
Member 5th May, 2010 08:38
Last edited on 5th May, 2010 08:41
on 4th May, 2010 16:26, Leendert Kip wrote:
Hi Emil, I really do noth understand why my message of 13.36hrs has been
entered twice.

Don't worry. We "minimize" the posts in question, and make sure it has no negative impact on yoru score.
About this post: the votes you received were given by accident (buttons grouped too close). Don't worry, it'll be corrected, with no impact on your score.

--

Could I ask everyone to try reloading the interface? You do this by right-clicking the PSI icon in the tray and selecting "Reload interface". After doing this, does the scan still run too often?
I trust everyone reporting this problem has checked their system clocks are accurate, including both dates and time?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip PSI running too often!
Member 5th May, 2010 12:53
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 5th May, 2010 13:27
Hi Emil, I reloaded interface at 09.00hrs local. Scans ran after that:
11.13hrs
13.16hrs

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI running too often!
Member 5th May, 2010 13:47
Hi,

I'm sorry this is drawing out, but we need a new debug log.
Please follow this exact procedure:
1) Close the PSI. Right-click the icon, select exit, etc. After this, please press "Ctrl + Alt + Del" and ensure that there is no "psi.exe" process running
2) Press start - run a and enter "cmd"
3) Enter these 2 commands in the cmd window
cd "C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI"
psi.exe --verbose --debug secunia.txt

4) do a full rescan, noting the time
5) Wait until it automatically starts a new scan, noting the time if possible (if not, no biggie - I don't expect you to watch it for hours on end)
6) Close the PSI
7) Send us the secunia.txt file at support@secunia.com

Hopefully, we can get to the cause of this issue as soon as possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip PSI running too often!
Member 5th May, 2010 14:54
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Emil, the procudure just started and considered the pattern during last days
I expect that the next scan will start in about two hours. I'll send you the file as soon as possible.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI running too often!
Member 6th May, 2010 09:16
Hi,

Thank's for your cooperation on this. I'll make sure to keep you updated as our developers track the problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
silvatek RE: PSI running too often!
Member 6th May, 2010 10:46
Score: 11
Posts: 51
User Since: 31st Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I'm trying out your debug procedure too. Hopefully have something later today (Thursday 6 May, UK).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI running too often!
Member 6th May, 2010 12:31
Hi,

Anyone still having this problem could help us reach a speedy resolution by following these steps, and sending me the files at support@secunia.com

1)
Enable debug mode, by following the instructions in my prior post
2)
Run a manual scan and let it finish
3)
Exit the PSI and run it again, without debug
4)
Take a screenshot of the Scan tab, and send us said screenshot along with the debug log.

Thank you all for your invaluable help!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
hardygp RE: PSI running too often!
Member 7th May, 2010 20:43
Score: -2
Posts: 11
User Since: 9th Nov 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: DE
Hi Emil,

yesterday I made a full scan with debug mode and sent you the results. Since that time no newer scan happened :-)

Did you correct something or or could it be that the scan in debug-mode is already the solution


Kind regards

Hartmut

--
Greetings from Germany

Hartmut
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
silvatek RE: PSI running too often!
Member 8th May, 2010 00:34
Score: 11
Posts: 51
User Since: 31st Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
on 7th May, 2010 20:43, hardygp wrote:
Hi Emil,

yesterday I made a full scan with debug mode and sent you the results. Since that time no newer scan happened :-)



Same here. No unexpected scans since I emailed the debug file. This is now over 24 hours.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
OldBigfoot25 RE: PSI running too often!
Member 8th May, 2010 14:29
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I did the interface reload but have not done the debug run, but still I have had NO "spontaneous" runs of PSI since 20:48 on the 4th. Have no idea why, but I like it! :-)

OldBigfoot25 (Richard)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI running too often!
Member 10th May, 2010 08:58
Hi,

We did do some small internal changes, and it's great it's solved the problem.
Are anyone here still having this problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
silvatek RE: PSI running too often!
Member 10th May, 2010 12:01
Score: 11
Posts: 51
User Since: 31st Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It seems to have settled down now. No more unexpected scans, thank goodness.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability