Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI won't install

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
ibted39 PSI won't install
Member 30th Apr, 2010 17:12
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 30th Apr, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I got an error from Secunia PSI this morning when booting my machine. When loading it fails security Certificate and says can no longer run and shuts down. I download a new version and upon installing it removes old version and at the end of installation I get the Security Certificate error again and it won't load.

I'm running an HP Desktop AMD 64 bit dual core, Vista Home premium SP2 with 6 gig of ram.

I have been running PSI forever and this is the first problem I've had.
Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Ted

Anthony Wells RE: PSI won't install
Expert Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 20:38
Score: 2384
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 30th Apr, 2010 20:40
@ibted39 ,

Hello Ted ,

Emil Petersen deals with your specific problem on 2nd March in this thread :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/364...

Hope this works for you .
Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ibted39 RE: PSI won't install
Member 30th Apr, 2010 22:45
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I tried to follow al of the directions and found that I couldn't add the urls as posted. had to enter them by hand with out the astrics. Went through and set the scripting as posted and did a cold reboot. Still doesn't work... I'm useing Norton Security Suite and haven't found anywhere to authorize Secuia. I recieved asome updates from Microsoft and that's about when it stopped working. The error That I'm getting is as follows:

"An error occured while verifyingthe Security Certificate.
The Scenunia PSI cannot continue execution. "

Does anyone know where to set the permissinons in Norton Security Suite?

I really hate to give up on Secunia , but if I can't resolve this I'll probably have to wait for the next round of MS updates to see if they fixed.
Ted
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI won't install
Expert Contributor 1st May, 2010 00:17
Score: 2384
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Ted ,

This is the info from Emil Petersen from the link I gave you . It is a specific setting for IE (which PSI uses to contact Secunia servers whatever browser you have set as your default) :-

QUOTE:

Hi,

Please open Internet Explorer and go to Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->Security->Check for server certificate revocation.

The Secunia SSL certificate is signed by Thawte. If the Thawte site is not accessible from the computer, and if this option is selected, then the PSI will fail to connect to our site. So please remove the check at “Check for server certificate revocation".

Hope this helps.

--

Kind regards,

Emil R. Petersen
Secunia PSI Support

UNQUOTE

If you are having problems with security settings in NORTON you might wish to open a new thread , if the above does not fix your problem ; that way someone who uses NORTON may be able to help you - I don't have it , so sorry cannot advise .

Let us know how you get on .

Anthony


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ibted39 RE: PSI won't install
Member 1st May, 2010 22:41
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have checked all of the prescribed settings and check for the Thwart certificate( Spelling maybe wrong here) but three are Listed. I have followed all of the suggested tweaks, settings and changes. Psi loads but fails to function..... So I guess I have to give up on PSI for now. something has gone wrong because I never had to jump through these hoops before and it ran so well.

Thanks for the help everyone,
Ted
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI won't install
Expert Contributor 2nd May, 2010 00:41
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Whenever in doubt....run CHKDSK is my motto. Maybe there's an orphaned or lost file somewhere ? I havn't had a freeze up for absolutely ages....not that it's relevant to the problem in hand. It maybe just something simple out of sync and harmony may be restored....sorry I can't be of more help.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI won't install
Expert Contributor 3rd May, 2010 15:47
Score: 2384
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Ted ,

On rereading your original post , I notice you say that you allowed the new installer to take care of the old version of PSI - nothing wrong with that , but for your problem maybe a clean un-install first then use the new installer might help .

If not Secunia are back at work and might comment or perhaps you need help to be sure your Norton lets PSI in and out to check with the Secunia servers .

Does this help ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI won't install
Handling Contributor 3rd May, 2010 16:00
Score: 11312
Posts: 8,726
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 3rd May, 2010 16:01
Norton should not be the problem unless there has been manual tinkering with the settings.

To check:

Open Norton>click on Computer Settings (top option)>click NETWORKsettings>look for PROGRAM CONTROL>click CONFIGURE> scroll down & U will see an entry

SECUNIA PSI
C:\Program Files(x86)\secunia psi\psi.exe
which is configured to AUTO.

If that entry is there discount Norton.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
ibted39 RE: PSI won't install
Member 3rd May, 2010 16:37
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Maurice,
Thanks for the info on where to find the info in Norton. I've just recently moved over to Norton from Zone Alarm and not to familiar with it as yet. There are two untries for PSI one to allow TCP and one to allow TCP and UDP. I'm going to do an un-install and try a clean new install of PSI to see if that works. I have already un-installed Internet Explorer 8, tried PSI without that installled, that didn't work so re-installed IE from scratch still didn't work. thank you all for your help an advice.
Ted
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
tador39 RE: PSI won't install
Member 6th May, 2010 16:20
Score: 1
Posts: 1
User Since: 11th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th May, 2010 16:23
Good Morning All,

After days of frustrating attempts to get PSI to load and run I finally succeeded. There were several problems some relating to Internet Explorer and some related to Norton But Mostly the root problem as Moggs suggest was damaged and missing files and such on my hard drive. After 12 hours and the time it took to run chkdsk on a 650 gig hard drive everything is again installed and functional except for Norton Ghost. My sincere thanks to all of your suggestions and especially Moggs. My copy of PSI is again help me stay up to date and clean.
Ted
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ruuuuu3 RE: PSI won't install
Member 6th May, 2010 19:19
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 6th May, 2010 19:27
Got same problem. Glad to have this site. thanks guys


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI won't install
Expert Contributor 9th May, 2010 17:29
Score: 2384
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Ted ,

Pleased to hear your perseverance paid off .

@ruuuu3 ,

Do you still have a problem with PSI ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Factsheets
Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability